Help pls Lagg killin me :( - Virgin Media Gateway Issue

Forum for discussion on the UKCS:CSS Servers

Help pls Lagg killin me :( - Virgin Media Gateway Issue

Postby Silent BoB on Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:44 pm

Help me please , ive just got off the phone with tech support about an hour a go and they are telling me that this is not a virgin media issue that it is an issue with something ukcs side :( tbh i dont believe a word that comes out of there mouths .He had me do allsorts of the usual checks which showed i was gettin the 10 mg connection .

When playing on ukcs over the last week or so i get stupid pings sometimes its unplayable but i seem to be fine on other servers i get my normal 25 - 35 ping .Is there something i can do someone i can ring anything to get my ping back to normal ? check out the screenies :( for some prO ping .

Image

the pic above has the time on it about 19:30 the one below was from earlier this afternoon

Image


If this is a dupe post please lock it and post me the link .

A very LAGGY SILENTBOB :(
Image
User avatar
Silent BoB
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: SILENTBOB
STEAM_0:0:9289236
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:10 am
Location: Manchester |UK



Image

Postby LuckyNV on Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:51 pm

if you have Day of Defeat Source, can you add this server IP to your server favourites please

UKCS:DoD#Donner Only - Tic 100 - Mega Game Server - 83.142.230.110:27015

tell me if it has much lower latency than the CSS servers
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby DeanX on Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:13 pm

im also on Virgin Media, And im ALSO getting lag on ukcs servers.

it is something todo with them.

my latency on ukcs css servers is usually between 5-30, but now its 70-100

on 1.6 its usually 10-30 but now its 90+.

ive not tried DoDs but im assuming its going to be the same see'in as its high in the favs list.

Also its only been since last week thats been effecting me.
*UKCS Old School*
DeanX
UKCS Admin
 
Player: DeanX
STEAM_0:0:4858412
 
Posts: 9866
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:17 am
Location: Manchester

Postby Nelsaidi on Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:15 pm

Do a tracert to the ukcs servers and then u can identify where the problem is.
User avatar
Nelsaidi
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: batman
STEAM_0:1:11977681
 
Posts: 8066
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby TC on Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:17 pm

This IS an NTL problem, we have checked it out our end by people who know what they are talking about - unlike the help desk's in india for Virgin Media.

Below show's a ping FROM a UKS server to another VM client having the same problems. It shows clearly the NTL gateway having the problem. Report that IP to them and get them to fix it. Basically its totally overloaded and they need to rebalance their gateways.

1 87.117.202.1 (87.117.202.1) 0.423 ms 0.874 ms 1.089 ms
2 87.117.211.33 (87.117.211.33) 3.195 ms 3.314 ms 3.389 ms
3 10ge-1-4.tiger.thn.lon.rapidswitch.com (87.117.211.13) 2.022 ms 2.124 ms 2.205 ms
4 tele-ic-1-ge-200-222.inet.ntl.com (212.250.14.85) 1.257 ms 1.336 ms 1.377 ms
5 nth-bb-b-as0-0.inet.ntl.com (62.253.184.1) 3.343 ms 3.394 ms 3.405 ms
6 pop-bb-a-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.172.14) 5.421 ms 5.414 ms 5.451 ms

7 lee-bb-b-so-220-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.129) 57.304 ms 57.327 ms 57.387 ms
8 nth-bb-a-so-600-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.133) 57.082 ms 57.180 ms 57.144 ms
9 gfd-bb-b-so-010-0.inet.ntl.com (62.253.185.98) 60.710 ms 60.798 ms 60.705 ms
10 sot3-t2core-b-pos71.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.122) 62.043 ms 62.087 ms 62.139 ms
11 pool-t2cam1-b-ge-wan32.inet.ntl.com (80.4.225.166) 63.010 ms 63.049 ms 63.276 ms
12 ubr02pool-ge02.inet.ntl.com (80.5.168.134) 64.202 ms 63.558 ms 63.562 ms


You can see the problem occuring here which is inside the NTL network (ie, NTL gateways either side of it). Up to that point the ping was 5ms.

lee-bb-b-so-220-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.129) 57.304 ms 57.327 ms 57.387 ms

Its not just the ping that jumps up, its also totally congested only allowing about 150kb/s through it during peek times (6pm-midnight for example). Our hosting site has a 1gbit internet link to NTL which peeks at only 20% use. However, thats irrelevent when NTL can't even hold up the connection through their own network.

As many of you as possible should report this to NTL and then they might even do something about it.
Image
User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:29 pm

I was on Virgin Media , I quit due to poor service

I have a dedicated server in Telehouse and i was getting bad routing to it...rang VM They said it was a transit link..so i rang the transit provider and they said its VM Fault

So i rang VM to Cancal it.Now im with a different host.. having a good ping around 25MS (with VM 50MS)

VM say there is nothing wrong with there network..but there is :D

with VM connection i get 20 hops to TC Servers , with New connection i get 6 hops :D

VM will not fix it

I surgest a new provider


Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby Dancing Hippo on Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:33 pm

Do I win? :o

Tracing route to 83.142.230.110:27015 [212.68.205.66]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 3 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 34 ms 32 ms 34 ms 89.241.160.1
3 540 ms 34 ms 32 ms rtr001.bre.opaltelecom.net [62.24.252.201]
4 335 ms 35 ms 35 ms gig-9-1-rtr001.hex.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.10
]
5 305 ms 34 ms 34 ms 213.161.93.185
6 1005 ms 34 ms 36 ms globalcrossing-mfn.mfnx.net [208.185.188.66]
7 797 ms 43 ms 46 ms pos0-0-2488M.ar1.BRU1.gblx.net [67.17.79.242]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 1053 ms 87 ms 62 ms host-213-213-254-130.brutele.be [213.213.254.130
]
10 1074 ms 93 ms 91 ms host-212-68-215-114.brutele.be [212.68.215.114]

11 1011 ms 47 ms 55 ms 212.68.205.58
12 212.68.205.58 reports: Destination host unreachable.

Do I win? :o

The gateway that died is; BRUTELE-S-C.g3-1.ar1.BRU1.gblx.net [208.48.13.42] How do I know this? It's been routing my traffic, from Cambridge to London, via Belgium, and via the dodgy Belgian gateway just mentioned. And my Dad isn't doing anything about it. D= Am on TalkTalk btw.
Image
User avatar
Dancing Hippo
Old Timer
 
Player: Dysphonia
STEAM_0:1:8445438
 
Posts: 4113
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:10 pm

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:34 pm

Silent BoB

Can you post a trace route to 213.228.232.27 please so we can spot your problem..........


Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:35 pm

Dancing Hippo wrote:Do I win? :o

Tracing route to 83.142.230.110:27015 [212.68.205.66]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 3 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 34 ms 32 ms 34 ms 89.241.160.1
3 540 ms 34 ms 32 ms rtr001.bre.opaltelecom.net [62.24.252.201]
4 335 ms 35 ms 35 ms gig-9-1-rtr001.hex.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.10
]
5 305 ms 34 ms 34 ms 213.161.93.185
6 1005 ms 34 ms 36 ms globalcrossing-mfn.mfnx.net [208.185.188.66]
7 797 ms 43 ms 46 ms pos0-0-2488M.ar1.BRU1.gblx.net [67.17.79.242]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 1053 ms 87 ms 62 ms host-213-213-254-130.brutele.be [213.213.254.130
]
10 1074 ms 93 ms 91 ms host-212-68-215-114.brutele.be [212.68.215.114]

11 1011 ms 47 ms 55 ms 212.68.205.58
12 212.68.205.58 reports: Destination host unreachable.

Do I win? :o

The gateway that died is; BRUTELE-S-C.g3-1.ar1.BRU1.gblx.net [208.48.13.42] How do I know this? It's been routing my traffic, from Cambridge to London, via Belgium, and via the dodgy Belgian gateway just mentioned. And my Dad isn't doing anything about it. D= Am on TalkTalk btw.


Talk Talk is Dire mate :(

Anyways that trace route is bad to......Get TT to have a look mate.... there network could be overloaded


Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby sarah on Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:09 pm

DeanX wrote:im also on Virgin Media, And im ALSO getting lag on ukcs servers.

it is something todo with them.

my latency on ukcs css servers is usually between 5-30, but now its 70-100

on 1.6 its usually 10-30 but now its 90+.

ive not tried DoDs but im assuming its going to be the same see'in as its high in the favs list.

Also its only been since last week thats been effecting me.


Ditto, had this problems for nearly a week now, exactly the same as above. Pinging around 80+ to UKCS servers and around 30 to other UK servers. Sometimes dies down later evenings ish. I know as well that we are not the only ones affected by this, you can spot the VM users on ukcs at the moment just by looking at the scoreboard latencys.
Retired Tf2 Admin
Image
Image
User avatar
sarah
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: SrH tiggles
STEAM_0:0:11200016
 
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Canada



Image

Postby Mike on Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:16 pm

On VM, same problem as everyone else.

Though, checking my favs list has me getting high pings all over the place, and has been like that for days. Another little note, I was downloading a large file earlier today (still is going, and you'll see why), started at 200kb/s, I went out to do work in the garden, came back to find it not only unfinished, but going at 15kb/s.

VM's site also lists a bunch of faults all over the place.


User avatar
Mike
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Atellion
STEAM_0:1:10107506
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 2:44 pm
Location: Reading

Postby DeanX on Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:33 pm

so when i ring VM up tomoz, do i just say "there is a problem with one of ur gateways, then tell them 'lee-bb-b-so-220-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.129) 57.304 ms 57.327 ms 57.387 ms' or just the ip"

abit of advice plz..
*UKCS Old School*
DeanX
UKCS Admin
 
Player: DeanX
STEAM_0:0:4858412
 
Posts: 9866
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:17 am
Location: Manchester

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:49 pm

DeanX wrote:so when i ring VM up tomoz, do i just say "there is a problem with one of ur gateways, then tell them 'lee-bb-b-so-220-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.129) 57.304 ms 57.327 ms 57.387 ms' or just the ip"

abit of advice plz..


They will probably get you to do a trace route if they say something wrong.. they will say its not there network . they will ask you to ring the transit provider.. Transit provider will say its VM ( Its VM they Don't want to admit it )

So Transit prople say its VM...Vm say its transit provider

Best advise is to leave VM Mate and get a new isp

NOTE : IF you say ur cancelling they will try and keep you to still by offering deals at you :D

Do some trace routes and post them here..BTW you have to Pay to ring VM Technical support ( 25P per minute , 10p connection charge )


Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby DeanX on Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:53 pm

im not leaving them, ive been with them for 5 years, this is the 1st major problem.

can i have some proper advise please.
*UKCS Old School*
DeanX
UKCS Admin
 
Player: DeanX
STEAM_0:0:4858412
 
Posts: 9866
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:17 am
Location: Manchester

Postby Rieda on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:12 pm

I suppose the best thing to do is keep bugging them about it and wait it out untill the flood damage is sorted

I too have noticed a slight increase in ping
Over and out.

Image
User avatar
Rieda
Home Member
 
Player: bbrks
STEAM_0:0:14453839
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:10 am
Location: England

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:16 pm

DeanX wrote:im not leaving them, ive been with them for 5 years, this is the 1st major problem.

can i have some proper advise please.


Good Luck :D

Let me know the outcome of the call via this thread.... as There network is "perfect" according to them


Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby TC on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:29 pm

DeanX wrote:so when i ring VM up tomoz, do i just say "there is a problem with one of ur gateways, then tell them 'lee-bb-b-so-220-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.129) 57.304 ms 57.327 ms 57.387 ms' or just the ip"

abit of advice plz..


Try providing them with the traceroute i provided below. I know its extremely frustrating trying to deal with service providers where if the technical people dont talk to each other to diagnostically agree the location of the problem then nothing gets progressed.

As end clients on ISPs, or end users on server hostings, we have practically no tools at our disposal to help diagnose problems, yet it often seems to come down to a clients own responsibility to have to do a full network diagnosis of a service provider's network and present the results & solution before anything will get done at all. This seems the wrong way round to me.

Good luck - you will need to push them hard. You can try to get them to talk directly with RapidSwitch (UKCS's network provider) if they are still pointing the fingers. As VM and RapidSwitch are peered (ie, they have a mutual agreement and pipe between their networks), then they should be able to talk.

As VM clients, there's many of you and if as many of you can report the problem then they might listen.


This is the traceroute to DeanX. It can be seen he's caught with the same laggy NTL gateway on hop 7.

1 ge-edge.kit.sov.lon.rapidswitch.com (213.228.232.1) 29.953 ms 4.419 ms 49.460 ms
2 87.117.211.33 (87.117.211.33) 1.219 ms 0.705 ms 0.741 ms
3 10ge-1-4.tiger.thn.lon.rapidswitch.com (87.117.211.13) 1.743 ms 1.457 ms 1.489 ms
4 * * *
5 nth-bb-b-as0-0.inet.ntl.com (62.253.184.1) 17.011 ms 16.944 ms 16.965 ms
6 pop-bb-a-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.172.14) 3.987 ms 3.720 ms 3.749 ms

7 lee-bb-b-so-220-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.129) 58.451 ms 58.716 ms 58.925 ms
8 man-bb-a-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com (62.253.185.193) 61.203 ms 61.168 ms 60.427 ms
9 manc-t3core-1a-so-000-0.inet.ntl.com (213.105.175.2) 60.207 ms 61.201 ms 60.202 ms
10 oldh-t2cam1-a-ge-wan34.inet.ntl.com (195.182.178.34) 59.957 ms 61.201 ms 62.469 ms
11 ubr02asht-ge01.inet.ntl.com (80.5.164.86) 64.929 ms 63.164 ms 63.446 ms
<last line removed>
Last edited by TC on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby JCEE on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:34 pm

Virgin/Telewest are perfect... I've never had a problem with them... and my ping has always been fine..

I'd like to know, those having problems with Virgin Media, are you on VM through a BT line or VM cable? I'm guessing this makes a big difference?

I really don't think it's a good idea leaving VM.


User avatar
JCEE
Home Member
 
Player: JCEE
3545335345
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:14 pm

Postby TC on Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:37 pm

"Virgin/Telewest are perfect... " Erm, i wouldn't say that. It sounds like you're a lucky one.

The traceroute above shows the congestion on the VM (NTL) gateway.
Image
User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby JCEE on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:02 pm

about time i had some luck.. :D

I know how it feels to have connection troubles tho..

I'd say just keep pushing them and if they mess about with you, ask to speak with someone higher etc...

although with VM they never let you know when something is up with your net... we almost left them when our net was down for almost a day lol

just keep at it.. you're losing money over this!


User avatar
JCEE
Home Member
 
Player: JCEE
3545335345
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:14 pm

Next

Return to UKCS : CSS Server Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests