Help pls Lagg killin me :( - Virgin Media Gateway Issue

Forum for discussion on the UKCS:CSS Servers

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:13 pm

JCEE wrote:Virgin/Telewest are perfect... I've never had a problem with them... and my ping has always been fine..

I'd like to know, those having problems with Virgin Media, are you on VM through a BT line or VM cable? I'm guessing this makes a big difference?

I really don't think it's a good idea leaving VM.


Not when you have to pay them to fix a fault with your broadband...

25P per minute , 10p Connection Charge.....As TC says.. Count your self Lucky...I Left as i got rubbush service and DeanX will get told theres nothing wrong with there network :D like i did :D


Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:23 pm

DeanX ,


Don't take this the wrong way Vm will say ,


"Have u unplugged your modem and repluged it back in"

"Do you Have a router" DeaX says no.... If you say Yes they put it down to ur router"

"Its your PC...you have spyware..thats your problem"

This is what ive got off them....


Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:46 pm

Should you VM Guys need advise before you ring them


http://www.cableforum.co.uk/


VM Staff are reged on that forum any may be able to help you

And VM Techs

Last edited by Spitfire on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Spitfire
Recruit Member
 
Player: Shrek
STEAM_0:0:6098524
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:58 am

Postby Ross(Frightened Creature) on Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:48 pm

I have a ping of around 80, and generally slow internet. Fortunately My gameplay's not affected too much, but it is a bloomin' nuisance. I don't think I'm as badly affected as most VM customers, though.
Image

“ If you want to know me, see Glen or Glenda. That's me, that's my story, no question. But Plan 9 is my pride and joy. We used Cadillac hubcaps for flying saucers in that.”

—Ed Wood
User avatar
Ross(Frightened Creature)
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Ross
STEAM_0:0:6855915
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

Postby Azzy on Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:04 pm

TC wrote:"Virgin/Telewest are perfect... " Erm, i wouldn't say that. It sounds like you're a lucky one.

The traceroute above shows the congestion on the VM (NTL) gateway.


Yeah I rarely have any internet problems either, wierd coz when downloading files from college *large project* or freeware I download at speeds I didnt know my net could achieve :P

They could put an armour casing around the green box at the bottom of my street and then they would get an A* rather than an A.

Good luck everyone shame too see you have problems.
Forum Moderator
CSS Admin
Use the UKCS Uploader to upload images/files.
User avatar
Azzy
UKCS Admin
Moderator
 
Player: Azzy
STEAM_0:1:7114108
 
Posts: 7665
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:53 am
Location: South Shields, near Newcastle, UK



Image

Postby smogsy on Wed Jul 04, 2007 7:56 am

my pings to ukcss have increased on my BE* connection. but only by 12 ms

still get around 30ms which isnt to bad...

but if you do want new internet https://www.bethere.co.uk/

i use thesee as my 2nd internet line there great ;) 24/7 support all FREE even phone calls

AND THERE IS NO FAIR USAGE POLICY AT ALL :lol:
Image
User avatar
smogsy
UKCS Life Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Smogsy
STEAM_0:0:10301475
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 10:53 am



Image

Postby afraser2k on Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:23 am

Spitfire wrote:DeanX ,


Don't take this the wrong way Vm will say ,


"Have u unplugged your modem and repluged it back in"

"Do you Have a router" DeaX says no.... If you say Yes they put it down to ur router"

"Its your PC...you have spyware..thats your problem"

This is what ive got off them....


That's the Indian call centre script, unfortunately I've been through it all before with a similar experience (turned out issue was on VM network).

I'm suspecting that the high ping is something to do with the traffic shaping as it seemed to go back to normal after 1 AM on Friday/Saturday mornings over last weekend. It just seems to be the latest in a long-line of problems that I've had with them. I just hope that once 20 Mb has been sorted (if ever) it'll settle back down.

I ended up quitting WoW due to disconnections/lag spikes thanks to VM so I hope it doesn't happen with CSS. Thankfully I can get up to 6.5 Mb with ADSL so something I'll need to look into (means £135 BT phone line install though).


User avatar
afraser2k
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: afraser2k
STEAM_0:0:12236806
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK



Image

Postby gandy on Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:56 am

If those who are effected by this prob can also post here
http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/12/33 ... ssues.html

thanks
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Wed Jul 04, 2007 12:41 pm

Status of faults for VM's connections.

Just choose your providor before it became VM.

http://www.virginmedia.com/help/check/? ... app=status

A lot of the problems and updates are on VM Broadband, their own maintenance logs show this, and yet to come even more.

http://status-cable.virginmedia.com/vms ... tenance.do


1005139

Network Maintenance in Brighton


Upcoming


Broadband


21/06/2007 01:00

:lol:


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Silent BoB on Wed Jul 04, 2007 12:57 pm

Ive just had a nice chat with gandy and phoned virgin media (if i do a trace from my end it will show the problem not to be virgin media he tells me so im workin on another routh ).

My complaint is logged and they have said it now may be an issue with all the work they are doin . Im now on half price but with some more info we might have them by the balls .

If any other Virgin customer is having problems with high ping phone and complain .
Image
User avatar
Silent BoB
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: SILENTBOB
STEAM_0:0:9289236
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:10 am
Location: Manchester |UK



Image

Postby Shutty on Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:10 pm

I was just about to dump my current provider Pipex in favour of DSL VM. Now I'm not sure as that's going to be the right decision.

I used to have NTL cable broadband a long time ago and had no problems with that, then moved out of a cable area and switched to DSL.

Would I be foolish to get back on the VM broadband train. It's just that it's really competitively priced at the moment.

Cheers, Shutts


Shutty
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Shutts☂
STEAM_0:0:5369303
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:47 pm
Location: Preston, UK

Postby TC on Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:34 pm

Stay off VM/NTL I'd say. From the problems I hear about , they lead the way in the worst quality service connection wise and support wise. Generally appawling bar a few lucky people.
Image
User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby Lord Talan on Wed Jul 04, 2007 7:49 pm

Hi all,

I am a NTL/Virgin customer for over 3yrs now and never had any major problems with them (yes, some minor ones, but over 3yrs I expect some things to go wrong every now and again)

The below is a screeny from my history folder, and it seems like Virgin has trouble getting data in and out of UKCS as all the other servers are OK ping / latency wise (UKCS #2 doesn't even show in my history, even though I just played it, either a Valve bug or data issues):-

Image

I am sticking with Virgin and would recommend it to anyone, aside from the slight problems with the data in/out of UKCS atm (maybe Virgin are working on/updating the servers etc that feed directly into UKCS?), as the rest of the network is running fine.

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image

Postby Lord Talan on Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:33 am

Hi all,

Ok, I am going to admit to being a n00b and state that I didn't really read the thread in depth before doing my post above (too busy trying to get a AMDx2 new PC working from scratch with Vista - hard going I can tell ya!, so I just skimmed the thread the first time around)

Well, I have just re-read it, and saw the phrase "let the flooding subside" being mentioned. Good point that one, a lot of damage done during the floods recently and may have effected a Virgin router somewhere up north.

I am going to read other forums (like the one with VM ppl on it) and see what's happening, as I WANT TO PLAY CS:S without high ping / latency.

I will stick with what I said before, NTL/Virgin have been pretty much A OK up until a week or so ago (when all the floods happened, and who could plan for that????), so I am sticking with them.

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image

Postby Topperfalkon on Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:35 am

you know...with all these complaints about VM from one server you should take it to Watchdog, then they'll get investigated...possibly...

Also...there is this thing you can do to improve general speed clientside, but it'll take me a while to remember what it was
Image
The Future is Now.
User avatar
Topperfalkon
Recruit Member
 
Player: Topperfalkon
STEAM_0:1:12100087
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby astro on Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:42 am

Virgin always have some excuse and according to them it's never their fault ^^
Image
astro
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: KVN
STEAM_0:1:9537458
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:22 am
Location: Bristol



Image

Postby Topperfalkon on Thu Jul 05, 2007 10:46 am

lol...that's bureaucratic arse-covering for you
Image
The Future is Now.
User avatar
Topperfalkon
Recruit Member
 
Player: Topperfalkon
STEAM_0:1:12100087
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby sarah on Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:23 am

At this time of day, my Vm ping is fine on UKCS and other servers. By evening time, each day im back up to 80+ on UKCS servers only. Anyone else finding that too? I would have thought if that was damaged equipment by the flood it would be a more permanent issue rather than higher traffic times?

I too have been on NTL/Virgin customer for a long long time, no problems in the past apart from this bar one where NTL customer support were actually extremely useful and sent an engineer round to us the next day who sorted the problem then and there.
Retired Tf2 Admin
Image
Image
User avatar
sarah
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: SrH tiggles
STEAM_0:0:11200016
 
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Canada



Image

Postby Topperfalkon on Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:30 am

hmm...
well...
I'm with Orange, on an 8meg package, and my latency can range between 14 and 155...
but i'm not sure what it says my ping is, i don't really check
Image
The Future is Now.
User avatar
Topperfalkon
Recruit Member
 
Player: Topperfalkon
STEAM_0:1:12100087
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Ross(Frightened Creature) on Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:31 pm

I have the same problem, Sarah. In fact, I noticed that yesterday our pings were exactly the same throughout the time I was playing which was a bit weird...

Personally, I do think the flood damage has been a contributer to a lot of the problems, so I'm not going to leap down their throat. That said, their customer service is really poor.
Image

“ If you want to know me, see Glen or Glenda. That's me, that's my story, no question. But Plan 9 is my pride and joy. We used Cadillac hubcaps for flying saucers in that.”

—Ed Wood
User avatar
Ross(Frightened Creature)
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Ross
STEAM_0:0:6855915
 
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PreviousNext

Return to UKCS : CSS Server Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests