Help pls Lagg killin me :( - Virgin Media Gateway Issue

Forum for discussion on the UKCS:CSS Servers

Postby PurpleMonkey on Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:02 pm

Image

check my ping out, im on Virgin Media, never really had any problems fo the past 5 years until now, & no answer as to why UKCS has such a high ping.
ImageImage
User avatar
PurpleMonkey
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: PurpleMonkey
STEAM_0:1:4177207
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:17 am

Postby astro on Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:52 pm

well i only have my laptop for the summer and talk talk (lol)

i cancelled our virgin media contract at my uni house because it was utterly rubbish for so long and even though they gave me a free upgrade it was still so unstable i just gave up in the end. ...

they give you months half price etc etc ... but at the end of the day i just want an internet that works !
Image
astro
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: KVN
STEAM_0:1:9537458
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:22 am
Location: Bristol



Image

Postby Dancing Hippo on Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 pm

astro wrote:well i only have my laptop for the summer and talk talk (lol)


LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Welcome to my world. I can't really play CS anymore. D: It's that bad.
Image
User avatar
Dancing Hippo
Old Timer
 
Player: Dysphonia
STEAM_0:1:8445438
 
Posts: 4113
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:10 pm

Postby Lord Talan on Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:55 am

Hi all again,

I haven't had chance much to play over last few days (ref. building the new PC), but when I did get on last night, my ping / latency was perfect (this is peak time with both UKCS servers full), so I don't know if the problem has been fixed somewhere or if I just "got lucky".

Any, with Virgin media, I ain't jumping from one ISP to another just because UKCS got a little unplayable over the last week or so. What's the point in that? All that may happen is that my new ISP will give me the same problems that Virgin did (if what is happening with Virgin atm is really there fault and not due to flood issues [and I say again, who could plan for that?]). Better the devil you know, if you ask me.

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image

Postby afraser2k on Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:10 am

Ping seemed to be back to normal last night so hopefully the problem has been sorted now. Will wait to see over the weekend. :)


User avatar
afraser2k
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: afraser2k
STEAM_0:0:12236806
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK



Image

Postby sarah on Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:35 am

Mine was fine too, fingers crossed!
Retired Tf2 Admin
Image
Image
User avatar
sarah
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: SrH tiggles
STEAM_0:0:11200016
 
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Canada



Image

Postby Lord Talan on Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:53 am

Hi

pings back to normal on Virgin accounts??? OH MY GOD, must jump ship from Virgin now!!

That's sarcasm btw.

See, a little hiccup and everyone slags off the ISP, but I am sure it's never deliberate to pee off their money paying customers. Just give it a little time and let them resolve the problem, some things cannot be fixed overnight (or even a week if the area you want to work in is flooded [that's still guess work])

Happy fragging ppl!! And to all you other VM account holders, don't listen to them nay-sayers!!

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:57 am

huh up and down like a yoyo, yesterday was bad, today started off ok then got laggy, with increasing latency times, then back down again. Still 20ms up on what it was before anyhow, so marginally better.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby afraser2k on Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:55 pm

Lord Talan wrote:Hi

pings back to normal on Virgin accounts??? OH MY GOD, must jump ship from Virgin now!!

That's sarcasm btw.

See, a little hiccup and everyone slags off the ISP, but I am sure it's never deliberate to pee off their money paying customers. Just give it a little time and let them resolve the problem, some things cannot be fixed overnight (or even a week if the area you want to work in is flooded [that's still guess work])

Happy fragging ppl!! And to all you other VM account holders, don't listen to them nay-sayers!!

Cheers

LT


The problem is that these issues are becoming more common.


User avatar
afraser2k
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: afraser2k
STEAM_0:0:12236806
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK



Image

Postby White Dove on Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:04 pm

Last night on UKCS and another server (which by the way rules out VM saying it's a UKCS issue) was really bad lag spikes, at one point I had ran around the corner with a primed nade in my hand, then all of a sudden I was back just before the corner with no nade so, I ran again to go round that bloody corner just for it to correct itself and me to be standing where I should have been with a overcooked nade...killed myself :evil:

My ping wasn't too bad, not as bad as some but was getting 15-20 loss and anything from 5-80 choke, tried changing my rates just incase but no joy. At about 1am this morning it was fine from there on.
Image
User avatar
White Dove
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Gumball
STEAM_0:0:9972896
 
Posts: 2963
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:14 pm
Location: E.Belfast in Norn Iron

Postby TC on Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:14 pm

I made a UKCS Mod release this morning which is logging everyone's pings over time and what ISP they are on. This will produce some interesting statistics which I will share with the community.
Image
User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby Topperfalkon on Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:25 pm

if it logs my isp as from pol.co.uk it probably means it's Orange ISP.
i dunno why it does that
Image
The Future is Now.
User avatar
Topperfalkon
Recruit Member
 
Player: Topperfalkon
STEAM_0:1:12100087
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Dancing Hippo on Fri Jul 06, 2007 4:38 pm

It'll log mine as Opal telecom - When it's TalkTalk.
Image
User avatar
Dancing Hippo
Old Timer
 
Player: Dysphonia
STEAM_0:1:8445438
 
Posts: 4113
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:10 pm

Postby Mike on Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:44 pm

afraser2k wrote:Ping seemed to be back to normal last night so hopefully the problem has been sorted now. Will wait to see over the weekend. :)


Mine was fine too, fingers crossed!


Same with me, I also noticed youtube videos streamed at there normal rate (it was really slow the past few days) as well as other transfers.


User avatar
Mike
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Atellion
STEAM_0:1:10107506
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 2:44 pm
Location: Reading

Postby PurpleMonkey on Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:52 pm

my ping is back down to between 25 & 30 on ukcs servers at the moment, which is much better.
ImageImage
User avatar
PurpleMonkey
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: PurpleMonkey
STEAM_0:1:4177207
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:17 am

Postby Topperfalkon on Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:57 pm

lucky you :P
Image
The Future is Now.
User avatar
Topperfalkon
Recruit Member
 
Player: Topperfalkon
STEAM_0:1:12100087
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Lord Talan on Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:40 am

afraser2k wrote:
Lord Talan wrote:Hi

pings back to normal on Virgin accounts??? OH MY GOD, must jump ship from Virgin now!!

That's sarcasm btw.

See, a little hiccup and everyone slags off the ISP, but I am sure it's never deliberate to pee off their money paying customers. Just give it a little time and let them resolve the problem, some things cannot be fixed overnight (or even a week if the area you want to work in is flooded [that's still guess work])

Happy fragging ppl!! And to all you other VM account holders, don't listen to them nay-sayers!!

Cheers

LT


The problem is that these issues are becoming more common.



The problems for me aren't becoming more common on VM, the recent "loss" of latency / ping is the first "major" problem I have had with VM in over three years. So that aint getting common to me. And again I say, why jump ships when the "new ISP" may just give you as many problems as your current one? The grass isn't always greener on the other side. Better the devil you know and all that rubbish

Cheers

LT

PS. Last two days of UKCS playing and my ping / latency has been back to normal (or even better), would have been a pain for me to have swapped ISP due to a hiccup.
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image

Postby smogsy on Sat Jul 07, 2007 3:06 pm

well my pings back to ok speed 33ms bethere.co.uk 24mb.

but on yorkshire server its 15ms-20ms yet its futher away :shock: :P
Image
User avatar
smogsy
UKCS Life Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Smogsy
STEAM_0:0:10301475
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 10:53 am



Image

Postby afraser2k on Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:49 pm

Lord Talan wrote:The problems for me aren't becoming more common on VM, the recent "loss" of latency / ping is the first "major" problem I have had with VM in over three years. So that aint getting common to me. And again I say, why jump ships when the "new ISP" may just give you as many problems as your current one? The grass isn't always greener on the other side. Better the devil you know and all that rubbish

Cheers

LT

PS. Last two days of UKCS playing and my ping / latency has been back to normal (or even better), would have been a pain for me to have swapped ISP due to a hiccup.


As I said, it's an issue for the people that do have these problems, there are many others who don't but there seem to be enough that it can be a major issue. While this might be the first time you've had a problem you've had I've been having various problems with my connection that seems to be linked to work with the 20 Mb network or that my local area is oversubscribed.

If the ISP doesn't improve much in over six months to a year for the various problems on their network then it's a reasonable time for someone to decide on if they want to move or not. The new ISP might provide a better experience, in my case it would also mean installing a new BT phone line and at a cost of £135 it is the reason I haven't left VM already, thanks to the issues I've had to put up with from them.

Now at the moment I have decided to give VM a chance to finish the 20 Mb upgrade work and see what happens when I get a new modem (as my current one doesn't support 20 Mb) so will probably be with them for about another six months or more depending on what goes on with them and also the possible buyout.


User avatar
afraser2k
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: afraser2k
STEAM_0:0:12236806
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK



Image

Postby Dancing Hippo on Sun Jul 08, 2007 12:30 am

As I've said earlier on in this topic, I'm not on VM - I'm on TalkTalk.

My service of late has been, worse than terrible. Simply put, I can't play CS at pretty much anytime of day, and WoW is becoming increasingly laggy.

It's 1:29AM, and my connection is worse than ever. This is not an overloading issue.

I ran a tracert to the Dod server, and this is what it said:

1 3 ms <1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 446 ms 257 ms 35 ms 89.241.224.1
3 537 ms 409 ms 535 ms rtr002.bir.opaltelecom.net [62.24.222.205]
4 544 ms 49 ms 48 ms gig-10-1-rtr002.man.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.3
3]
5 82 ms 52 ms 174 ms gig-9-1-rtr001.thn.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.17
]
6 87 ms 47 ms 135 ms gig-5-1-rtr001.hex.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.46
]
7 105 ms 124 ms 83 ms 213.161.93.101
8 147 ms 84 ms 44 ms so-7-2-0-0.loncr1.London.opentransit.net [193.25
1.250.189]
9 242 ms 125 ms 52 ms so-1-2-0-0.loncr4.London.opentransit.net [193.25
1.128.206]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 358 ms 168 ms 53 ms host-213-213-254-130.brutele.be [213.213.254.130
]
13 311 ms 56 ms 251 ms host-212-68-215-114.brutele.be [212.68.215.114]

14 136 ms 66 ms 53 ms 212.68.205.58
15 212.68.205.58 reports: Destination host unreachable.


At 1:30 in the pissing morning. Something is very wrong here. If anyone else here is on TalkTalk, can you run the tracert to the same IP (83.142.230.110:27015) and report back on the results? Because this is beginning to piss me off - I can't even play CS at 1:30 in the morning. I'll also hasten to add there is no internet using process running - No steam, MSN, Xfire, nothing. Just a single firefox tab. And if it has that kind of effect on pings, then something is still very wrong.

Oh, and it shows that the problem isn't UKCS clearly, with the third gateway.

EDIT: Ran a tracert to www.bbc.co.uk - Here's what is said:
1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 582 ms 309 ms 79 ms 89.241.224.1
3 741 ms 301 ms 41 ms rtr002.bir.opaltelecom.net [62.24.222.205]
4 41 ms 54 ms 43 ms gig-10-1-rtr002.man.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.3
3]
5 51 ms 46 ms 44 ms gig-9-1-rtr001.thn.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.17
]
6 60 ms 48 ms 46 ms gig-5-1-rtr001.hex.opaltelecom.net [62.24.254.46
]
7 56 ms 46 ms 45 ms gig0-0-rtr002.hex.opaltelecom.net [62.24.196.34]

8 52 ms 52 ms 46 ms bbc-gw1-linx.prt0.thdoe.bbc.co.uk [195.66.226.10
3]
9 49 ms 46 ms 111 ms 212.58.238.153
10 46 ms 46 ms 70 ms www15.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.115]

It's getting closer.

:shock:
Image
User avatar
Dancing Hippo
Old Timer
 
Player: Dysphonia
STEAM_0:1:8445438
 
Posts: 4113
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:10 pm

PreviousNext

Return to UKCS : CSS Server Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 5 guests