Improve Reg

Forum for discussion on the UKCS:CSS Servers

Improve reg?

Yes increase the minimum rates so hits register better
33
67%
No leave em as they are
16
33%
 
Total votes : 49

Postby DeanX on Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:58 pm

so much dribble in this thread
*UKCS Old School*
DeanX
UKCS Admin
 
Player: DeanX
STEAM_0:0:4858412
 
Posts: 9866
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:17 am
Location: Manchester

Postby ShoTz on Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:07 pm

Would you like to state the reason for problems that occur in bullet regestration from time to time DeanX?


ShoTz
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: are sober kebabs wrong?
STEAM_0:1:14417667
 
Posts: 3199
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 1:25 pm

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:05 pm

I agree with G, particularly the bit about his wi-fi connection :lol: :lol: :lol:

On the rest of the matter, s and since people appear to miss the point, if you cap the lower rates to a higher amount, then not only those with slower computers and crappy connections will suffer, but so will everyone else. Lots of stuttering players running around a map is not good for anyone.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby melipone on Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:46 pm

Do you know most people will lag with higher rates or is it worth a test? I agree forcing 66/66 is a bit too much, but won't 40-50 be reasonable?

Theres a good reason leagues force fixed rates, its not just a myth imo that higher rates = better reg, but I agree it could make matters worse if an individual's connection is too poor for higher rates.


User avatar
melipone
Home Member
 
Player: Melipone
STEAM_0:1:3190111
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:35 am

Postby gandy on Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:52 pm

the problem between leauge and pub is about 20 to 50 people running around, that will stress the cpu alot which means the client pc will struggle to deal with loads of data even at tick 66 it can be a strain on the pc, 30/30 is fine if you have a weaker pc. yes people still use old pc's or new pc's with low spec hardware in it.

you must remember source net code is buggy at best.. its far from perfect even on 5 a side on a 100 tick server. untill they update the game engine the net code will be not as good as dod source or TF2.
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby melipone on Mon Sep 22, 2008 7:20 pm

OK I guess thats answered then :D Lock if you want

Wasn't a rant btw, and might have come across like its a bigger problem than it is, probably could have worded it better in the OP..usually reg is fine.


User avatar
melipone
Home Member
 
Player: Melipone
STEAM_0:1:3190111
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:35 am

Postby gandy on Mon Sep 22, 2008 7:27 pm

no need to lock as this is a debate about source net code and what we can do to make it better. there is so much to read out there on it its un real and trust me ive spent hours and hours reading up on net code.

its a good debate :)
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:28 pm

The biggest problem with a lot of stuff on the net, is that they describe something to do with rates, and ignore a lot of other aspects, which can be detrimental to smooth game play and some of the solutions that they suggest are either based on their experience with LAN or from the point of only taking into account the rate settings in isolation.

I did see one quite recently, that suggested that the server find the slowest player on the server and dynamically set rates and hit lookup to suit for that player, so everyone is now playing at the same rate. That would be no good either, but you can see the type of suggestions that are around. :P


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby bucko on Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:07 pm

I scout a lot and know I get a lot of head shots but they all reg at 63%, I don't think it's a server issue, more like crappy ISP's and the like though my Zen is sposed to be good. I don't complain much only because it's free. However I think Valve need to do a Source refresh remember the game was released in like '05
Software test engineer.
AKA Bucko 0 |UKCS|
User avatar
bucko
Home Member
 
Player: Bucko
STEAM_0:1:7095564
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 5:15 pm
Location: England

Postby EWJ on Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:27 pm

sentinal wrote:
Dym wrote:
Default rates are good for public server,


sponge

p.s here is a sponge
Image


LMAO! :D
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8042
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Postby Cr4z33 on Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:43 am

melipone wrote:




rate "30000"
cl_cmdrate "101"
cl_updaterate "101"
cl_interp "0.015"
cl_smooth "0"
cl_interpolate "1"
cl_lagcomp_errorcheck "1"
cl_lagcompensation "1"
cl_interp_ratio "1"
net_maxfragments "1280"




Since when I am using my new computer the reg has gone.
Considering that I usually ping the servers 70-80 ms and that I have no lag or chokes are the quoted settings any good?
I tried using 30000 30 30 and it's a disaster. :cry:
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby Cr4z33 on Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:43 am

*double post* damn mobile :oops:
Last edited by Cr4z33 on Wed Sep 24, 2008 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby gandy on Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:29 am

i use,
rate "30000"
cl_updaterate "50"
cl_cmdrate "50"
net_maxfragments "1280"
cl_lagcomp_errorcheck "1"
cl_lagcompensation "1"
cl_forcepreload "1"
cl_interp_ratio "1"
cl_smooth "0"


I control my interp by my rates interp_ratio and my reg is mint on css#1 :)
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby OHMYGODIMONFIRE on Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:06 pm

its funny, i was having no end of problems hitting people last night on ukcs 2. my bullets just went through people instead of actually hitting them :roll: it annoyed me so much i thought i would change my rates, see what happened.

i began by dropping my cmdrate to 50, leaving updaterate at 66. all of a sudden, my bullets registered where i shot. was well impressed :D ended up having some admins go spec till jihn figured out it was me :P

<3

OMG
User avatar
OHMYGODIMONFIRE
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: OHMYGODIMONFIRE
STEAM_0:0:4850231
 
Posts: 4288
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby Cr4z33 on Wed Sep 24, 2008 4:44 pm

I am gonna try them both thanks.
Last edited by Cr4z33 on Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby Pumpgun_Pete on Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:31 am

The reaction test is nice but it´s hard to get less than 177ms at least for me. Will try when I´m not that tired. :D


User avatar
Pumpgun_Pete
Regular Member
 
Player: Sneaky_Bugger™
STEAM_0:0:5921406
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 5:05 pm
Location: Trollcave



Image

Postby Cr4z33 on Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:16 am

Cr4z33 wrote:I am gonna try them both thanks.

Failed. :(
Shooting at a standing enemy 3 meters far away gave a poor reg (around 30 damage).
What else do I have to deal with to be OK with my 80 ms ping?
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby gandy on Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:23 am

when you play next can you make a small demo, one or two rounds and post so we can have a look at whats going on.
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Cr4z33 on Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:11 am

gandy wrote:when you play next can you make a small demo, one or two rounds and post so we can have a look at whats going on.

Nab question: how do I record a demo? :oops:
Do you want netgraph enabled?
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby M1c on Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:20 am

To record a demo, go to console and type: record name.dem

To stop recording, go to console and type: stop

Then you'll have a demo in your steammaps folder called: name.dem

** extra info **

If you want to view your demo, go to console and type: playdemo name

To stop the demo, go to console and type: stopdemo

If you're in the demo, and like to control it: press shift + F2
m1c
User avatar
M1c
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: m1c
STEAM_0:1:12007624
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:26 pm
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to UKCS : CSS Server Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 6 guests