Improve Reg

Forum for discussion on the UKCS:CSS Servers

Improve reg?

Yes increase the minimum rates so hits register better
33
67%
No leave em as they are
16
33%
 
Total votes : 49

Postby Pumpgun_Pete on Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:31 am

The reaction test is nice but it´s hard to get less than 177ms at least for me. Will try when I´m not that tired. :D


User avatar
Pumpgun_Pete
Regular Member
 
Player: Sneaky_Bugger™
STEAM_0:0:5921406
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 5:05 pm
Location: Trollcave



Image

Postby Cr4z33 on Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:16 am

Cr4z33 wrote:I am gonna try them both thanks.

Failed. :(
Shooting at a standing enemy 3 meters far away gave a poor reg (around 30 damage).
What else do I have to deal with to be OK with my 80 ms ping?
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby gandy on Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:23 am

when you play next can you make a small demo, one or two rounds and post so we can have a look at whats going on.
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Cr4z33 on Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:11 am

gandy wrote:when you play next can you make a small demo, one or two rounds and post so we can have a look at whats going on.

Nab question: how do I record a demo? :oops:
Do you want netgraph enabled?
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby M1c on Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:20 am

To record a demo, go to console and type: record name.dem

To stop recording, go to console and type: stop

Then you'll have a demo in your steammaps folder called: name.dem

** extra info **

If you want to view your demo, go to console and type: playdemo name

To stop the demo, go to console and type: stopdemo

If you're in the demo, and like to control it: press shift + F2
m1c
User avatar
M1c
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: m1c
STEAM_0:1:12007624
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:26 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby X on Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:12 am

Internet indeed.

I aimed for someones head when they where moving and didn't get hit.

Now when I specced someone else doing it, he used 1 bullet shoting a target moving from right to left, that bullet was shot right where the target had moved from and got headshot!


X
Regular Member
 
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:10 am

Postby Cr4z33 on Thu Sep 25, 2008 11:03 am

M1c wrote:To record a demo, go to console and type: record name.dem

To stop recording, go to console and type: stop

Then you'll have a demo in your steammaps folder called: name.dem

** extra info **

If you want to view your demo, go to console and type: playdemo name

To stop the demo, go to console and type: stopdemo

If you're in the demo, and like to control it: press shift + F2

Thanks m1c. <3

gandy let me know if you need netgraph enabled.
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby melipone on Thu Sep 25, 2008 11:16 am

@ X Remember with demos or when specing you don't see what the other player sees. He could have shot right at him on his pc, but you might have a lower or higher ping, different interp, dropped packets, packetloss, lower/higher rates etc so it looks like he shot in the wrong place. In that case it looks like you have a lower interp or lower latency so you saw him moving before the other guy and you missed your shot or just got bad reg. What are your rates set at btw?


User avatar
melipone
Home Member
 
Player: Melipone
STEAM_0:1:3190111
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:35 am

Postby Little_Devil on Thu Sep 25, 2008 11:25 am

Cr4z33 wrote:
gandy wrote:when you play next can you make a small demo, one or two rounds and post so we can have a look at whats going on.

Nab question: how do I record a demo? :oops:
Do you want netgraph enabled?


netgraph can cause issues itself, it should only be used as a diagnostic aid and not left turned on.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby G on Thu Sep 25, 2008 11:46 am

melipone wrote:@ X Remember with demos or when specing you don't see what the other player sees. He could have shot right at him on his pc, but you might have a lower or higher ping, different interp, dropped packets, packetloss, lower/higher rates etc so it looks like he shot in the wrong place. In that case it looks like you have a lower interp or lower latency so you saw him moving before the other guy and you missed your shot or just got bad reg. What are your rates set at btw?


yea i watched a demo the other day some1 had taken and it had me in it at one point, i got a quality one deag flick shot, the demo shows me shoot mid flick and not on his head. im oviously too quick for the game to keep up ;)
Image
G
Experienced Member
 
Player: FuNKmAsTeR G
STEAM_0:0:10548440
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Saint Mary's Island, Kent

Postby melipone on Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:59 pm

Pumpgun_Pete wrote:The reaction test is nice but it´s hard to get less than 177ms at least for me. Will try when I´m not that tired. :D


Damn I thought I had good reactions..can't get an average under 0.2..maybe I need to try after a session of CS :D


User avatar
melipone
Home Member
 
Player: Melipone
STEAM_0:1:3190111
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:35 am

Postby Cr4z33 on Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:54 pm

Little_Devil wrote:

netgraph can cause issues itself, it should only be used as a diagnostic aid and not left turned on.

OK thanks for the info.
ImageImage


Image

User avatar
Cr4z33
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cя∂حﻉﻉ™
STEAM_0:0:4580092
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:40 am
Location: Galatina, Italy



Image

Postby X on Thu Sep 25, 2008 3:46 pm

cl_cmdrate "101"
cl_interp "0.01"
cl_interpolate "1"
cl_lagcomp_errorcheck "0"
cl_lagcompensation "1"
cl_smooth "0"
cl_updaterate "101"
rate "25000"

40-70ms.
0 loss.
0-5 choke.
30-100 fps.


X
Regular Member
 
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:10 am

Postby melipone on Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:48 pm

cl_cmdrate and cl_updaterate are capped to 66 on UKCS, and interp is based off your cl_interp_ratio divided by updaterate, so should be 0.015 with interp_ratio at 1. I would just do what Gandy does and take cl_interp out of your autoexec and let the game set it.

BUT there is a small bug with this as when you start CS your updaterate is set to 60 and your interp will be set based off this...dunno why but it is for me..so when you get in the server you can type in console cl_interp_ratio 2, then back to cl_interp_ratio 1 to reset it and get interp to back where it should be. Its noting though really...a micro second :D

Put cl_lagcomp_errorcheck to 1 also

Actually I would go with Gandy's rates as they look like they will work well for most people..if you get low choke and have the FPS then go for 66/66


User avatar
melipone
Home Member
 
Player: Melipone
STEAM_0:1:3190111
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:35 am

Postby G on Fri Sep 26, 2008 1:12 pm

how to improve reg - buy a new network card :D

got mine yesterday and it works a treat, boosted my wireless speed from 54mbps to 130mbps improved it almost 150% not bad
Image
G
Experienced Member
 
Player: FuNKmAsTeR G
STEAM_0:0:10548440
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Saint Mary's Island, Kent

Postby X on Fri Sep 26, 2008 8:43 pm

That doesn't make any sense


X
Regular Member
 
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:10 am

Postby G on Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:02 pm

for people like you then.... better internet connection will improve your reg alot more than most things. end of the day if you have a quality computer that runs it sweet and a mint connection then your reg should be good
Image
G
Experienced Member
 
Player: FuNKmAsTeR G
STEAM_0:0:10548440
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Saint Mary's Island, Kent

Postby Pumpgun_Pete on Sat Sep 27, 2008 6:13 pm

The only thing UKCS Servers need is a lower ping limit imo.
We have people with 120+ pings from time to time and that´s not that great esspeacilly when they´ve "learned" to abuse that. They´re dodgy as hell and it feels they slow the server down a bit. Last night - if I remember right - we had at least 6 players with a ping above 140 and that was really nasty.
Why set the ping limit to 300 or even higher?


User avatar
Pumpgun_Pete
Regular Member
 
Player: Sneaky_Bugger™
STEAM_0:0:5921406
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 5:05 pm
Location: Trollcave



Image

Postby CJ on Thu Oct 09, 2008 6:49 am

No I don't post here often, so we can see this issue has gotton me off the stupid game long enough to do this.

The only arguments here (the ones ive bothered to read) are incoherent and offer little actual evidence and the server leaders, the experts overall, know how the settings they created affect gameplay best and ultimately how this can be successfully corrected. I'm talking about a successful long term solution and not something that will create more intricate issues harder (and pathetically annoying?) even to fix.

I put it that the only ones really in a position to know how their settings affect the servers are the head admins LD, TC, Gandy and of course "that damn Lucky" to wuote myself. They are the ones with years of experience working on this server and if they haven't changed them that's it until they decide different, far as i see, they are just doing their job keeping the server full and playable as possible. From my experience (my pc slowed to under 30fps yesterday, fairly unusual, though unrelated) I should lower my rates seriously, my pc isnt that old but fyi my rates are default far as know at 60 100.

As my rates are already high, I dont know why i should care about such a tiny increase (to 40-50?) as some have said a test shouldn't hurt, but i think i agree with what LD said about isolating the issue and somehow doubt we'll learn much that way. It probably goes deeper then so-called ratehacking, it always does. It may even be an altogether simpler issue to fix then idly and arbitrarily testing settings on what amounts to hundreds if not thousands of individual setups, that may well prove to be irrelevant and/or useless to the issue ultimately. i think we just need a new setting cl_reg, controlled by God, or someone other then me.... :twisted: or we could just go out, all buy guns and arbitrarily begin shooting each other, earning money for new weapons and ammo as we go only to be shot by arms dealers, who eventually solve the issue and happily spend eternity blasting each others brains out from the safety of their bunkers underneath their walled installations, moving on...:shock:


All that aside im tired of seeing hs anims and no headshots... :roll: guess i need a new network card then G? You know i use a cable u massive noob and tell ur brother hes a bigger noob for me, dont think they like noobs round here :o or is that just me :?: :twisted: :oops: :( :) :x :cry: :evil: just my bit, ill hold for indigestion though i h8 forums as i have the internet demeanour of a troll :lol: :arrow: :P :oops: :roll:


CJ
Recruit Member
 
Player: CJ
STEAM_0:0:2889313
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:18 pm

Postby RazeRipz! on Thu Oct 09, 2008 2:57 pm

Not really had a problem with reg tbh, even though it does get a bit dodgy sometimes best way to kill them aim for the head :D.
Image
User avatar
RazeRipz!
Experienced Member
 
Player: Special Agent | BLAZEY ™
STEAM_0:0:12636728
 
Posts: 1650
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:29 pm
Location: Norfolk

PreviousNext

Return to UKCS : CSS Server Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 4 guests