Page 1 of 1

Overclocking

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:48 pm
by ^Brigatisti^
Glad this new forums up , so heres your first challenge :D

Athlon xp 3200+ Tell me how to clock it :D

XFX Geforce 5500 Tell me how to clock it! :D

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:56 pm
by ChowRiit
I can't tell you how to overclock, but remember - you'll probably need extra cooling to overclock, it'll run a LOT hotter...

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:57 pm
by ^Brigatisti^
I've got 6 fans in my PC and a zalman on the cpu so I think I'm good :P

Check your pms btw

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:26 pm
by LuckyNV
firstly what make/model/speed RAM do you have exactly?
that CPU isn't/won't OC that much tbh

AFAIK NV cards have OCing options built into the driver control panel

If not, then use/find rivatuner

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 7:35 am
by CATCHERAL
sometimes you can just buy things that have allready been overclocked.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 7:39 am
by ChowRiit
Oh and, look into driver softmodding. Now I dont have that much of a clue, but some graphics cards can be effectively upgraded just with new drivers, as the manufacturers throttled them back for some reason. It's worth looking into that too, although you'll need to find someone who knows more than me to ask.

Actually though, I'm planning on trying some gfx card tweaking of my own this weekend, gonna get some help to make sure I dont fry anything :P

Handy tweak

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:39 am
by Lemon-D

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 1:43 pm
by I Got Germs
A lot of Nvidia drivers have the overclock option disabled so search for either Riva Tuner, NV Hardpage or Coolbits to open up the option.

Only increase your core clock speed by 10mhz increments, keep the core and memory speeds synchronous, then settle at a comfortable speed or if you want push it till you get artifacts then back doown by 5mhz.

Don't use the NVidia max overclock option as it usualy sets it way too high, the auto option is ok as it'll increase and decrease speeds depending on temp power etc.

CPU is a bit more invloving as you need to look at CPU clock speed, CPU multiplier and FSB, probably best to just up your FSB a couple of steps at a time as this will increase your clock speed too.

There is a slight risk with this, as I'm sure you'll know, so do it only if your happy with that.

:D

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:12 pm
by TC
You can overclock your CPU from the BIOS at boot. Add a few notches to your FSB speed. The graphics AGP speed can often also be clocked up from there. All depends on whether you have a m/b which supports over clocking.

ATI latest drivers have "Overdrive" mode you can turn on from the control panel, which overclocks graphics after runnins some tests. Normally only adds a few percent - but every bit counts.

If you do too much the PC will be totally unstable or you can damage your CPU. If the PC stops booting immediately after a change then reset the m/b with the "reset" short. See m/b manual for location.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:32 am
by saggymanboobs
Chaps - is it ok to link to other forums? There are a few places I could recommend to look in, but don't want to upset anyone by linkage!


- Saggy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 4:07 am
by ^Brigatisti^
Link away

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:26 am
by Bullets
It's ok. If it's to help the community then it's a good thing.

But no prmoting other sites poeple.

Thank You.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:21 pm
by saggymanboobs
OK, was only going to post a few OC:UK links. I'll grab them later when I have some time to look (just going out now).

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/

First thing I'd do with the processor is fanmod it - 120mmto80mm duct, and get an Antec 120mm fan on there....less noise, more airflow. That said, you'll probably only see a (stable) modest 5% from a 3200, imho.

More when I get the chance.


- Saggy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:32 pm
by rocket_Magnet
if you dont have watercooling i wouldnt even bother with overclocking, you'll get an extra 200mhz out the cpu if yer lucky before the system is unreliably unstable, and the graphics card? dont even dream of trying it, i have a 5900 with a heatsink that covers the entire card on either side and an 80 mm fan of each side cooling it and i wouldnt even try it.

If you really want to see how far you can push it (thats all you will be able to do, as performance gain to heat produced ratio is rubbish) your bios should allow you to fiddle with the fsb , some will let you changed voltages to really boost the speed of the cpu, nvidia drivers have a overclocking option in the advanced settins area i think

but i must stress you'll get such a small perfomance boost if your overclocking using fans, i would know ive got a jet 4 cpu cooler (look it up its a beast) and a total 8 case fans, 2 gpu fans, 2 psu fans. and all that couldnt keep the monster cool once i had push it past 200mhz ish. water cooling is really the only way to decently overclock your components

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:35 pm
by LuckyNV
depends what CPU you OC, a mobile Barton OCs very high on air, I'm doing 2.4GHz on air, it can go higher but i value my ears :P