Router and port forwarding problems

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Router and port forwarding problems

Postby LuckyNV on Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:30 pm

basically, my router has gone kaput again.

this time, it seems to have forgotten how to forward ports, I mean programs that rely on port forwarding tell me that the ports are no longer forwarded (and don't function properly), yet I have made no changes to the router settings or other program settings, just today its gone bust.

I tried manually readding/deleting but still same problem.
I tried soft restarting the router within the options but no go.
Using the lastest firmware on Belkin F5D7630-4AUK (Wifi G router gateway)

I'm currently clearing the whole list of forwarded ports and readding manually again.

I might turn off the router for a bit and see...

The router seems to be functioning the same apart from this issue.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby LuckyNV on Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:46 pm

ok, well, purging the entire port forwarding list and readding seems to have cured it... dodgy. :(
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby gandy on Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:48 am

if anyone else has any probs wuth there router you should vist www.portforward.com


User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby LuckyNV on Fri Jan 14, 2005 8:55 am

yer that site pwns 8)
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby saggymanboobs on Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:40 am

Lucky old chap! Now it's working, export all your settings to a bin file....if you have a look it's really easy to do. Then the next time it goes tits up you can hardware reset and restore the backup!

I always backup my settings everytime I change summat - e.g. a new port, or if I up the firmware. I had a belkin 4 port cable router, very fast throughput but the thing needed three reboots a day!! Speaking to other belkin owners, the reboots/lost config thing seems to be a bit of theme, lol.


- Saggy
Sarah says: I am indeed, enjoying the big willy so to speak!

Fede said: oh col, gotta tell you this, i had a dream, and you were in it as a mexican wrestler, fully tatooed and with an awesome costume :D
User avatar
saggymanboobs
UKCS Life Sponsor
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Saggymanboobs
STEAM_0:1:1621139
 
Posts: 7970
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:46 am
Location: UK



Image

Postby LuckyNV on Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:57 am

indeed, i'm reading reports from from everywhere that Belkin lose connection, locks up, settings mess up, poor wifi range etc...

tbh I only bought it cos it was very cheap (cheapest out of the "brand" names anyway) with lifetime support.

Next time I'm going 3COM or maybe a Cisco if i can get one cheap enough. I am so tempted to do it right now.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby gandy on Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:21 am

lucky you wanrt to go netgear next as they probably make the best router


User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby saggymanboobs on Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:14 pm

I replaced my belkin with a dlink for cost reasons - good router but quite slow. :(

If you want a Cisco, get a Linksys box - Linksys were taken over by Cisco (who had a share in Linksys for years). All Linksys products have Cisco bios and Cisco Web management utils, seem to be being developed by cisco and there seems to be a rebadging thing happening too - most now say on them "Linksys - A division of Cisco Systems Inc."

Netgear are excellent too.


Fleabay the belkin, lol.


- Saggy
Sarah says: I am indeed, enjoying the big willy so to speak!

Fede said: oh col, gotta tell you this, i had a dream, and you were in it as a mexican wrestler, fully tatooed and with an awesome costume :D
User avatar
saggymanboobs
UKCS Life Sponsor
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Saggymanboobs
STEAM_0:1:1621139
 
Posts: 7970
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:46 am
Location: UK



Image


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest