Diamondback Mouse

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Diamondback Mouse

Postby Little_Devil on Wed Feb 16, 2005 6:11 pm

Just bought this razer mouse but I am having a bit of trouble fine tuning it.

Anybody any suggestiond?


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby revo on Wed Feb 16, 2005 6:46 pm

Would help if you specified the problems.
Image
User avatar
revo
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: who
STEAM_0:1:3865781
 
Posts: 3586
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 8:56 pm
Location: London

Postby Little_Devil on Wed Feb 16, 2005 10:43 pm

revo wrote:Would help if you specified the problems.


Cannot specify exactly X axis feels OK, but Y axis movement feela slugish.
Could be just me but I dont think so.

Say I see and aim at CT he moves left - right the mouse responds nicely. However if he moves up or down or jumps the responce from the mouse feels slow.
Hope this clarifies things.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby wasp on Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:05 pm

maybe is the refresh rate of the mouse dont know in the options of the mouse you should turn it up to the highest refresh rate


User avatar
wasp
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:52 pm
Location: Madrid (Spain)

Postby BioHazard on Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:34 pm

I ordered today a razer Diamondback chameleon.
What kind of mouse are you people play with ?


User avatar
BioHazard
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Splatz
STEAM_0:1:5722309
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands, Zeeland

Postby BioHazard on Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:32 pm

I got my Razer Diamondback yesterday but i have 2 problems:

1 problem: when i install the driver ( latest driver ) on my computer it will give a failed message. So i look at the solutionspage on razerzone and it give this solution :

Q. When I install the mouse in Windows XP, the customizer doesn't work, and I get a failure message during the installation.
A. This is an issue that occurs on some XP systems. To workaround this, do the following:


1. First, plug in the mouse.

2. Download and install the XP drivers by double-clicking on the executable file.

3. During the installation, it will search for the mouse, and you will typically receive a "Failed" message.

4. Right-click on My Computer and choose Properties.

5. Click the Hardware tab, then the Device Manager button on that tab.

6. Locate the "Mice and other Pointing Devices" item, and click the "+" symbol to expand it.

7. Right click on the HID Compliant Mouse that is listed there(if the drivers did not install properly, the Razer Mouse will not be listed). Choose Properties.

8. From the Properties tab of the mouse you just selected, click the Driver tab.

9. Click Update Driver.

10. From the Hardware Wizard, choose "Install from a Specific Location". Then from that box, place a bullet in "Don't Search, I will choose a driver location".

11. From the next box, click Have Disk.

12. Choose Browse, and browse to C:\Program Files\Razer\Drivers, and choose the razer.inf file.

13. Click Next. You will see a warning that these drivers have not been tested with Windows XP. click Continue Anyway or Continue with Installation.

Once that process is complete, the Razer Tray icon will appear in the lower right of the task bar, and you will now be able to make adjustments and program buttons on the Razer Mouse using the Razer Customizer.


So i did all this but i wouldn't work, i get a promptmessage of the .inf file doesn't contain information of the hardware. I take a second look at the solutionspage and for this they have also a solution :

Q. Why do I receive a mesage that the inf file does not contain information about my hardware when I try to update the Razer Mouse drivers?
A. Follow the steps below:
1. UNPLUG the Razer mouse. You may plug in another mouse in the meantime.
2. Close ANY other programs that are running.
3. Uninstall the drivers using this method:
- Click on Start and Control Panel.
- Double click Add or Remove Programs.
- Click on Razer, then click on the Change/Remove button to uninstall the drivers.
4. Disable startup group items:
- Click on Start and Run.
- Type in msconfig and click the OK button.
- Under the General tab, put a dot beside Selective Startup.
- Uncheck Load Startup Items.
- Click Apply and Close.
- Click the Restart button to restart your machine.
5. Empty your windows and user temp folder.
- Click on Start, then Run and type in temp, then click on the OK button.
- Once in this folder, Click on Tools, then Folder Options. Click on the View tab, then click on Show Hidden Files and Folder to place a dot by it. Click on the Apply button, then the OK button.
- Click on Edit at the top of the screen, then Select All, then click on File, then Delete. Answer Yes to any of the prompts that appear.
- Once this is done, close all open windows.
- Click on Start, then Run and type in "C:\Documents and Settings", including the quotes, then click on the OK button.
- Double click on the folder named after the login name (e.g. if you're login is "Bob", then double click the folder named Bob)
- Double click the Local Settings folder.
- Double click the Temp folder.
- Click on Edit at the top of the screen, then Select All, then click on File, then Delete. Answer Yes to any of the prompts that appear.
- Once this is done, close all open windows.
6. Delete the Razer folder from the hard drive. The folder is normally located at C:\Program Files\Razer
7. Start the driver install from the rzrdi_en.exe file from our website.
8. Plug in the Diamondback when prompted.
9. Go through the rest of the install, but use the Razer Diamondback to click on each option.
10. Click on Finish and the Razer Customizer should appear.
11. Reassign your buttons.
12. Click on Apply and Ok. If the buttons are already assigned, still click on Apply and Ok.
13. Open Notepad to see if the binding are working right.

I did it step by step but this solution also wouldn't work.
Is there someone on the forum who has the same problems and have an other solution ?????
Help me please


User avatar
BioHazard
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Splatz
STEAM_0:1:5722309
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands, Zeeland

Postby BioHazard on Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:37 am

I got an email from razer with the solution of my problem.
Mabye a help for people who are having the same problem :

To correct this issue:

1. Open the Razer.inf file the C:\Program Files\Razer\Driver folder.
2. Under [Karna.Mfg], change %Karna.DeviceDesc4% = razerusb7, HID\VID_1532&PID_0001 to %Karna.DeviceDesc4% = razerusb7, HID\VID_1532&PID_0002
3. Save the file.
4. Plug in the mouse.

If the driver does not update, you may need to manually update the mouse using the instructions below:

1. First, plug in the Razer mouse.
2. Download and install the XP drivers for your Razer mouse by double-clicking on the executable file.
3. During the installation, it will search for the mouse, and you may receive a "Failed" message.
4. Right-click on My Computer and choose Properties.
5. Click the Hardware tab, then the Device Manager button on that tab.
6. Locate the "Mice and other Pointing Devices" item, and click the "+" symbol to expand it.
7. Right click on the HID Compliant Mouse that is listed there(if the drivers did not install properly, the Razer Mouse will not be listed). Choose Properties.
8. From the Properties tab of the mouse you just selected, click the Driver tab.
9. Click Update Driver.
10. From the Hardware Wizard, choose "Install from a Specific Location". Then from that box, place a bullet in "Don't Search, I will choose a driver location".
11. From the next box, click Have Disk.
12. Choose Browse, and browse to C:\Program Files\Razer\Drivers for the Viper and Diamondback, or C:\Program Files\Karna\Drivers for the Boomer Speed, Control, or 2100 mouse, and choose the razer.inf file.
13. Click Next. You will see a warning that these drivers have not been tested with Windows XP. click Continue Anyway or Continue with Installation.


User avatar
BioHazard
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Splatz
STEAM_0:1:5722309
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands, Zeeland

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am

Wow, You have been having fun.
I am glad you got it sorted 'Eventually'. phew

I have found this mouse to be very good.

One problem I am having at the moment, is that I find the mouse acceleration is ok, but then whem moving at a constant speed it is slightly slugish.
For example; you see an enemy, turn fast, thats ok, slow down and aim miss first shot, enemy sees you and starts moving fine, so you start to track him but he moves too fast, then you accelerate the mouse and well you can guess the rest.

Any Ideas?
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby LuckyNV on Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:04 pm

BioHazard wrote:I ordered today a razer Diamondback chameleon.
What kind of mouse are you people play with ?


MX500
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby EvolvedMonkey on Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:45 pm

BioHazard wrote:I ordered today a razer Diamondback chameleon.
What kind of mouse are you people play with ?


Old genius 5 button godlike mouse....had it 5+ years never let me down
But I'm feeling good, And if you don't exist, you're still one illusion that I can't resist
User avatar
EvolvedMonkey
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: EvolvedMonkey
STEAM_0:0:183417
 
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Kepler 22b. Loving the atmosphere.



Image

Postby Energizer_Bat on Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:08 am

The problem may not be with the mouse but with the mouse pad or surface u r using it on! Ur old mouse may have worked fine on this surface but the new diamondback may need a smoother surface!

I use a S+S steelpad with my ms intellimouse and it works brilliant! :)
Image
User avatar
Energizer_Bat
Regular Member
 
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:29 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby Little_Devil on Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:44 pm

Energizer_Bat wrote:The problem may not be with the mouse but with the mouse pad or surface u r using it on! Ur old mouse may have worked fine on this surface but the new diamondback may need a smoother surface!

I use a S+S steelpad with my ms intellimouse and it works brilliant! :)


Thanks I will try
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby CATCHERAL on Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:54 pm

I use a standard optical mouse. 8)
Image
User avatar
CATCHERAL
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Catcheral
STEAM_0:1:4317924
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 8:12 pm
Location: midlands

Postby BioHazard on Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:56 pm

Little_Devil wrote:Wow, You have been having fun.
I am glad you got it sorted 'Eventually'. phew

I have found this mouse to be very good.

One problem I am having at the moment, is that I find the mouse acceleration is ok, but then whem moving at a constant speed it is slightly slugish.
For example; you see an enemy, turn fast, thats ok, slow down and aim miss first shot, enemy sees you and starts moving fine, so you start to track him but he moves too fast, then you accelerate the mouse and well you can guess the rest.

Any Ideas?


I'm using for mousemat a steelpad 4S.
It's smooth running and having no problems with my Razer Diamond.
The only problem is that when my hand is wet form the sweat and it on my mousemat the optical is not getting a light back so my mouse doesn't move on the screen. The mousemat is from alu so it is cold and my hand is warm.


User avatar
BioHazard
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Splatz
STEAM_0:1:5722309
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands, Zeeland

Postby La Chavvy on Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:12 pm

Logitech Optical Mouse ALL TEH WAY :D


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby Cobra on Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:23 pm

La Chavvy wrote:Logitech Optical Mouse ALL TEH WAY :D


Yup. I've got the MX900. :).


User avatar
Cobra
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cobra^Trinity
STEAM_0:0:2543793
 
Posts: 5259
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:24 am
Location: Hampshire, UK



Image

Postby BioHazard on Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:53 pm

I also got a logitech MX1000


User avatar
BioHazard
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Splatz
STEAM_0:1:5722309
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands, Zeeland

Postby WaitNBleeD on Tue Apr 05, 2005 3:21 pm

I got a logitech mx510.

But i'm wanting an mx1000. I don't really need it, but I fancy trying out some cordless p00nage to see what it's like. Their pretty expensive still too. I was hoping they might drop to about
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby Cobra on Tue Apr 05, 2005 4:49 pm

My MX900 is pretty heavy man yeah. It does weigh a bit, I use it with a very thin mousemat that runs slowly, so I stick me sensetivity up.

I got used to the weight tho, it takes time.


User avatar
Cobra
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Cobra^Trinity
STEAM_0:0:2543793
 
Posts: 5259
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:24 am
Location: Hampshire, UK



Image

Postby gandy on Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:30 pm

I got the logitech mx 1000 laser and the control on is so presise that that also takes a little getting use to but it is such a sweet mouse im very glad i brought it (cost
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests