Page 1 of 1

SATA HardDrives

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:01 pm
by shorty
ok this might not be the place for this but i can't see any where for the tec stuff on the site so im hopein some of you might no some stuff on computers

ok to start off i've had to buy a new hard drive ( old 1 went pop )
i've seen the speeds of the new SATA hard drives and was like wow fast
so i got 1 hopein to use it as my main hard drive
my bios picks it up and see's it so i no its workin so far
the problem is that windows dose not see it when im tryin to install windows xp onto it it don't find the hard drive at all

what im askin is has any 1 tryed settin up a SATA hard drive as the main hard drive and if so what did you need todo to get windows installed onto it

all so befor any 1 says check the motherboard ,harddrive ,Windows
for any help/updates i've looked but not found any info on the problem


(ASROCK) MotherBoard K7VT6
cpu AMD Sempron 2800+ (2gb's)
(Geil) Dual Channel DDR 2gb's at 400 speed
(Maxtor) Hard Drive 200gb's SATA <-- what im tryin to get to work
(Nvideo) GForce FX5600 256mb's

i no i should upgrade my video card soon


thnx
shorty

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:55 pm
by shorty
ok all i've fixed this silly me forgot that SATA comes under Raid so in the windows setup you need to in stall the raid bit of the driver lol

i didn't get this at first coz the raid driver i had was 7mb's but there was a raid flopy driver and no its not to install flopy raid drivers lol its to install the raid driver for the chip so windows can see the SATA drive it self

i was goin to delete this but i'll leave this post here for if any 1 needs help with there SATA raid driver

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:30 pm
by La Chavvy
Thanks shorty,

Im not sure about SATA and the other connection for HDD, this would hel p me in the future, please dont delete this :D

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:11 am
by Ace of Spades
Rofl.
Like you forgot to install drivers.

It like when i built a system and couldnt figure out y it wouldnt boot up. I was then a bout to strip the thing when i found that i forgot to plug the PSU into the Motherboard, lol

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:13 am
by Cobra
Ace of Spades wrote:Rofl.
Like you forgot to install drivers.

It like when i built a system and couldnt figure out y it wouldnt boot up. I was then a bout to strip the thing when i found that i forgot to plug the PSU into the Motherboard, lol


ROFL. That's a classic. The other one is the black 'I 0' Switch. Or not turning it on at the wall. !!. Anyway, back on topic. lol :roll:

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:15 am
by La Chavvy
so SATA is a better connection in comparison to the tradition IDE oui?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 12:12 pm
by LuckyNV
La Chavvy wrote:so SATA is a better connection in comparison to the tradition IDE oui?


in theory SATA is better than IDE, but in practice barely makes any difference unless running Raptors.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 12:50 pm
by SupaSharpShoota
Raptors? Ive seen this guy on the server.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 2:47 pm
by La Chavvy
So have I,

but anyways, the SATA looks more compact anyways, so Ill probably go for them bad boys.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:23 pm
by Spudnik
hi eveyone!!

Im thinking about adding another SATA HDD and mirroring with the one i've already got! I belive this will speed up things a little, i know its not much but would like to play with this arrangement. Can anyone give me any tips before i go a head?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:35 pm
by Ace of Spades
Raid 0 = Speed
Raid 1 = Reliability
Raid 1 + 0 = Bit of both
Raid 15 = Super Safe

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:03 pm
by FetidPolyp
hmmm. tho which to go for?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:18 pm
by LuckyNV
FetidPolyp wrote:hmmm. tho which to go for?


in general, the most consumer level motherboards only offer RAID 0 or RAID 1, not usually both at once (0+1) or anything else.

If its a home computer, then just go for RAID 0 (i recommend a backup/second drive for critical files)

However, RAID 0 doesn't have that much benefit, if at all, for gaming, it helps a couple of secs for loading but that is all. If you shift files around, video encoding etc... then it might be beneficial.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:05 pm
by Spudnik
now im confused!

i thought that raid 0 (speed) was only there for volume ie 1000gb! were raid 1 (reliability) was there for having two identical discs so that the cpu can drag data from both discs hence speed?

i know im proberly way of mark but please put me right!! :oops:

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 6:30 pm
by LuckyNV
Spudnik wrote:now im confused!

i thought that raid 0 (speed) was only there for volume ie 1000gb! were raid 1 (reliability) was there for having two identical discs so that the cpu can drag data from both discs hence speed?

i know im proberly way of mark but please put me right!! :oops:


RAID 0 is for speed, it increases throughput and read/write speeds, you will "see" the full capacity of all HDDs together.

RAID 1 is for reliability as it "mirrors" 1 HDD to the other(s) thus you'd only see half of the actual capacity of all HDDs in the array, it is possible for RAID 1 to improve read speeds, but generally not.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:04 pm
by Spudnik
Hi all,

thanks luckyNV, i think i understand now but one thing thats bugging me now is, how dose it speed up the read/write speeds if the HDD's are set to a "rpm" and cpu's with a set "fsb", just by adding an extra HDD in raid 0 ?

sorry for asking but want to understand how it works, not just do it!
:oops:

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:22 pm
by kuma
RAID 0 -striping, using 2/ 4/ 6 and so on, hard drives as 1 both read & write to the at the SAME TIME e.g. 1MB file gets split in half so 0.5MB goes to 1 hard drive 0.5mb goes to the other, meaning it takes half the time to write/read the file. The danger is if one hard drive fails it mean you have lost all data due to the fact that you only have half the info.

in therory you have 2X 200GB 7200rpm hard drives working as 1x 400GB 14400rpm hard drive

RAID 1 - mirroring using 2/ 4/ 6 and so on, harddrives. Basically making a backup of data onto seperate drives so both drives have identical data, so if 1 dies you can carry on using the other as if nothing has happened

2X 200GB 7200rpm hard drive working as 1 200GB 7200rpm and a second 1X200GB 7200rpm backup

Hope this makes sense :D

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:52 pm
by La Chavvy
So easy to understand!!

Thanks KUma!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:20 pm
by TheBigLongy
With sata h/ds be careful!! If you are an overclocker..there is sometimes problems causing the h/d to become corrupt due to the overclock and the fact that sata ports 1 & 2 on some mobo's are not LOCKED.

So basically, if you have 4 sata connections on your mobo, like the neo2 platinum has, then use ports 3 & 4 for sata drives if you wish to o/c.