Rethought bout PC (But need help on things 2 buy)

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Rethought bout PC (But need help on things 2 buy)

Postby bubba on Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:19 am

After long thoughts and discussions with me GF (looks up @ thumb) ive realised that buying a PC aint the best a ideas atm lol as im buying a house in 4-5 months time or so.

After that ive decided to just buy things as i go along and stick em in my PC for the time being even thou its proper shite and error/virus/spyware galore and cant get rid a most after seeking help :P lol

my GF mum might b giving me 1 of her PCs also which aint to bad tbh as its brand new. Its a 3.4ghz or 3.2 ghz p4 with a 256 ati card i think O.o not 100% sure aint seen it yet.

1st 2 thigns ive decided to buy are Ram (Corsair) and a g card if her mums 1 is cack.

What is the best priced ram for like
ImageImage
User avatar
bubba
Home Member
 
Player: bubba.
STEAM_0:0:715341
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Leeds

Q bout Ram

Postby bubba on Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:21 am

whats this pc4200 stuff etc...
always got me confused :S does it matter what it is 2 go in ya pc?


[edit] ^^ that was ment 2 b a new thread lol nm :P
ImageImage
User avatar
bubba
Home Member
 
Player: bubba.
STEAM_0:0:715341
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Q bout Ram

Postby ^Brigatisti^ on Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:42 am

ee. wrote:whats this pc4200 stuff etc...
always got me confused :S does it matter what it is 2 go in ya pc?


[edit] ^^ that was ment 2 b a new thread lol nm :P


pc4200 = better than pc1200

I think its latency >_>


^Brigatisti^
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
STEAM_):1:1632238
 
Posts: 1791
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 9:37 pm

Postby bubba on Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:53 am

ah right so it dont matter how high it is all ram fits on ya pc? depending on how many pins? or something?
ImageImage
User avatar
bubba
Home Member
 
Player: bubba.
STEAM_0:0:715341
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Rethought bout PC (But need help on things 2 buy)

Postby LuckyNV on Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:39 am

ee. wrote:After long thoughts and discussions with me GF (looks up @ thumb) ive realised that buying a PC aint the best a ideas atm lol as im buying a house in 4-5 months time or so.

After that ive decided to just buy things as i go along and stick em in my PC for the time being even thou its proper shite and error/virus/spyware galore and cant get rid a most after seeking help :P lol

my GF mum might b giving me 1 of her PCs also which aint to bad tbh as its brand new. Its a 3.4ghz or 3.2 ghz p4 with a 256 ati card i think O.o not 100% sure aint seen it yet.

1st 2 thigns ive decided to buy are Ram (Corsair) and a g card if her mums 1 is cack.

What is the best priced ram for like
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby bubba on Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:05 am

but im looking to make a fx-55 pc @ the end of al this and wish 2 use it on that also :S so should i just buy the faster 1 for the future use? foes it affect the pc @all?
ImageImage
User avatar
bubba
Home Member
 
Player: bubba.
STEAM_0:0:715341
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Leeds

Postby Coop on Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:53 am

Make sure the memory u buy is compatible with the motherboard u get. the big memory websites have a search facility for the motherboard manufacter.

Also for aorund
element | Az #e.gaming
Image
User avatar
Coop
Experienced Member
 
Player: coop
STEAM_0:0:5022089
 
Posts: 1586
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 3:55 pm
Location: Central Scotland

Postby LuckyNV on Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:42 am

ee. wrote:but im looking to make a fx-55 pc @ the end of al this and wish 2 use it on that also :S so should i just buy the faster 1 for the future use? foes it affect the pc @all?


AFAIK FX-55 requires server type RAM (ECC/registered), this type of RAM will not be compatible with your P4, nor be compatible with other desktop consumer motherboards.

Why FX-55? Just get a faster "normal" A64.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby bubba on Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:49 am

fastest amd64 is 4000+ aint it? and heard fx55 runs @ 5.5 :S
ImageImage
User avatar
bubba
Home Member
 
Player: bubba.
STEAM_0:0:715341
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Leeds

Postby bubba on Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:50 am

oks say ima gettin a 4000+ or something in the lines a that, not the fx55. what ram could i buy now for my pc that would run on it also? (if anything i can always buy more ram and give this 1 to gf lol)
ImageImage
User avatar
bubba
Home Member
 
Player: bubba.
STEAM_0:0:715341
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Leeds

Postby LuckyNV on Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:01 pm

ee. wrote:oks say ima gettin a 4000+ or something in the lines a that, not the fx55. what ram could i buy now for my pc that would run on it also? (if anything i can always buy more ram and give this 1 to gf lol)


the ram that i mentioned above will work. it is non-registered/non-ECC which practically all consumer level motherboards use, both P4 or AMD for many years (almost forever)

but really, depending on how long you will be using the P4 for, not much point in discussing what CPU you might get in the future, there is always something new on the horizon.

You're not going to get a new CPU within 6 months right? well we talk about this again in 6 months time :wink:
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby bubba on Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:10 pm

oks ill go for the ram u said up there ^^ :P ty ty
ImageImage
User avatar
bubba
Home Member
 
Player: bubba.
STEAM_0:0:715341
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Leeds

Postby Energizer_Bat on Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:56 pm

By the time ur building this machine there will be dual core processors out and probably a new standard of memory to optimise these chips!!

Wait until u have the money then decide on what u want! i know it's tempting to talk about it now but restrain yourself man!!!! :lol:
Image
User avatar
Energizer_Bat
Regular Member
 
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:29 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby Psychic Duck on Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:16 pm

keep the p4, you know you want to :D

i have 1, join the club 8)

just get normal pc3200 memory that will work with the p4

find out what graphics card it is - if you are right you wont need one :)
Image
User avatar
Psychic Duck
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: PD
STEAM_0:0:5473368
 
Posts: 3294
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Postby Little_Devil on Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:06 am

Energizer_Bat wrote:By the time ur building this machine there will be dual core processors out and probably a new standard of memory to optimise these chips!!

Wait until u have the money then decide on what u want! i know it's tempting to talk about it now but restrain yourself man!!!! :lol:


I was working on developement with dual core processors in 2001 so they are allready out. Genaral public may see them this year, but don't hold your breath.

As to Bubba's machine there is no harm in sitting down and writing a spec out, for the type of system he wants.The motherboard and processor can be left until last.

If you look at the way the markets are going, you should be able to pick up the main parts of the system anyhow, at reduced costs.

As an example, it has allready been reported in the trade press, that memory will have been over produced by the 3rd quarter of this year(at the latest), and that prices will reduce significantly.

So you buy the memory late this year, save some pennies. PSU, Case and the rest (DVD Writers, HDD) and so on can be purchased at different times, and he can post on the forum for the best device he wants to purchase at that time.
Oh yeah just another quick note Hitachi are coming out with a new type of HDD, which will revolutionise the HDD market. Lots more space on it.

Here is a copy of the article:
Hard disk density doubled

Hitachi's hard disk division has pushed areal density to 230Gbit per square inch, which could lead to one inch drives with 20Gbyte of storage within two years.

The trick employed by Hitachi Global Storage Technologies is called perpendicular recording, which the firm says can increase density by a factor of ten.

Using this technique, standard 3.5 inch drives could reach 1Tbyte by 2007, claimed the firm.

As its name suggests, perpendicular recording aligns data bits at 90 degrees to the plane of the recording medium. Today's hard drives use longitudinal recording.

The inevitable trade-off of packing more data into the available space is that the recording head must be closer to the recording medium. Getting to 230Gbit/in
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Ace of Spades on Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:17 pm

Memory is quite cheap atm, im gnna buy now for this PC and my otehr and buy later this year for my 64bit machine or ym laptop im gettin
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests