Once Again Need Serious Help

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Once Again Need Serious Help

Postby Cass0 on Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:16 pm

Right you may have read about my pcu being burnt and broken, so i put my dads one onto my pc, ever since then my pc has been acting really strange.

I turn my pc off and then the next time i want to use it i press the "on" button in and fans start disk drives load and then nothing happens it either gets stuck on one screen or my screen stays black, it takes me about 15mins to get it working and onto windows start up. Its seriously pissing me off coz i have to leave my pc on 24/7 so can someone please give me some help or advice as its needed soon!


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Postby kuma on Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:01 am

sounds like a power issue. Not enough power to startup all the drives,fans ect when 1st switched on.
Test by unplugging non windows drives or cd drives and try it.
Is your dads less wattage that your previous one?
If so I woud recomend buying a new 1 preferably 400watt+.
Image
User avatar
kuma
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Kuma
STEAM_0:0:5256029
 
Posts: 3056
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:58 am
Location: Reading, Berkshire, England

Postby gandy on Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:53 am

Sounds like the motherboard is damaged. when the power supply went it probably damaged some caps on there.
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Cass0 on Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:58 am

Ill try it out, im having to leave my pc on for days n days


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Sat Apr 16, 2005 5:14 am

kuma wrote:sounds like a power issue. Not enough power to startup all the drives,fans ect when 1st switched on.
Test by unplugging non windows drives or cd drives and try it.
Is your dads less wattage that your previous one?
If so I woud recomend buying a new 1 preferably 400watt+.


Kuma is right yer know.

Added to this turn off all overclocking if you have it.

If solution works, plug in the devices one by one until the computer produces the sme effect as you have now. If it does it on the last device plugged in, unplug all the rest again, to determine if it is that device that is actually causing the problem.

Start with just your operating system HDD on.

If however it still fails, it can only be 1 of two things either the HDD is failing (most likeky) or like Gandolf has said your motherboard.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18896
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Cass0 on Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:41 am

someone in school mentioned it was my bios been reset and i had to change my start up setting by pressing delete then going into cmos settings?


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Postby gandy on Sat Apr 16, 2005 8:13 am

A$$A$$IN wrote:someone in school mentioned it was my bios been reset and i had to change my start up setting by pressing delete then going into cmos settings?


but it should never take 15 minutes to boot up on default settings
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Ace of Spades on Sat Apr 16, 2005 11:12 am

Doggey.

try BIOS im sure it aint, and try the power issues every1 sed about HDD first then add more components.
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby Little_Devil on Sat Apr 16, 2005 1:47 pm

A$$A$$IN wrote:someone in school mentioned it was my bios been reset and i had to change my start up setting by pressing delete then going into cmos settings?


This is impossible, if you mess up the bios, it either won't start or windows would throw a wobbly.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18896
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Cass0 on Sun Apr 17, 2005 1:11 pm

hm ill try all the stuff use have told me wen i get back home


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests