What is antialiasing setting

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

What is antialiasing setting

Postby FCUK! on Fri Apr 15, 2005 4:26 pm

i found this on the graphic card thingy n it have 2x 4x n 8x wot is all dis sum 1 explain plz :) plus i seen it in CSS too
player name: Whitepanda

Image
FCUK!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: MrCookie
STEAM_0:0:3506920
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:56 pm

Postby KeirAyres on Fri Apr 15, 2005 4:36 pm

Basically it smooths/rounds off edges at the expense of a lot of FPS in some cases, I tend to play most games without it tbh unless I already have a lot of FPS :)


User avatar
KeirAyres
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: KeirAyres
STEAM_0:0:5400862
 
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:37 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Postby FCUK! on Fri Apr 15, 2005 4:37 pm

more heat on the gfx card?
player name: Whitepanda

Image
FCUK!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: MrCookie
STEAM_0:0:3506920
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:56 pm

Postby LuckyNV on Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:00 pm

FCUK! wrote:more heat on the gfx card?


not particularly much difference in heat, just a difference in frames/sec
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby Elghanz on Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:16 pm

Having it on 4x produce some sort of lag on CS:S one of my friends sais he gets lag because of the new updates that rendered 4x useless :?: :roll:


User avatar
Elghanz
Old Timer
 
 
Posts: 5427
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:05 pm
Location: UK,Essex

Postby Ace of Spades on Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:53 pm

Never used it, once it becomes default i use lol.
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby Disturbed1 on Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:28 pm

i only use it on some FPS games i got but on CS:S it seems to turn most textures into a purple and black sqaure crap, i got latest drivers to make sure wasnt me but nothing still same.
Image
Thnx to Toecutter for this awesome sig
User avatar
Disturbed1
Experienced Member
 
Player: |DeathBySpoon|
STEAM_0:1:5257695
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:56 am
Location: Hull in Uk

Postby Ace of Spades on Sat Apr 16, 2005 11:13 am

I think its some textures missing, i had a lot of that wen i first got Source.
I got it thru HL2 Silver pack download thru Steam, after a few updates i think it decided to download the missing textures ?
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby KeirAyres on Sat Apr 16, 2005 2:31 pm

Disturbed1 wrote:i only use it on some FPS games i got but on CS:S it seems to turn most textures into a purple and black sqaure crap, i got latest drivers to make sure wasnt me but nothing still same.


Yeah as ace kind of said :? that's a problem with the map overlay not the setting. It shouldn't happen if you don't alt-tab out of game, but if it does then re-download the map :wink:


User avatar
KeirAyres
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: KeirAyres
STEAM_0:0:5400862
 
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:37 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Postby Ace of Spades on Sat Apr 16, 2005 4:09 pm

Nah re-download the game :P

That will get a few ppl of UKCS Source so i dont have to use my VIP slot tog et on lol :P
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby KeirAyres on Sat Apr 16, 2005 5:36 pm

Good point Ace :wink:

Actually I was wrong, it's actually a problem with your PC not being good enough, unfortunately you need at least an fx 55, 4 gigs of corsair ram and dual PCI-E 6800GT's to run it properly. If you can't afford that then I'd reccommend not going on CS:S anymore

>_>

<_<


User avatar
KeirAyres
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: KeirAyres
STEAM_0:0:5400862
 
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:37 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Postby Ace of Spades on Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:02 pm

Looks like only the Source server can play on it then lol
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests