SATA Western Digital Raptor or not to Raptor?

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

SATA Western Digital Raptor or not to Raptor?

Postby La Chavvy on Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:50 am

What is the deal of the new Raptor HDD - SATA version?

I mean they only have a mere 70 Gigs and yes their access time may be half of what a 7.2k rpm HDD would be but is it really worth paying 130 pounds for a 74 GB and yet for a mere 10 pounds more you get a 320 GB but the access rate is at 9 ns.

I seriously dont get the point of getting these HDDs and could someone enlighten me on this as I find it very confusing. Is it something to do with RAID 1 and RAID 0 etc?

Oh and I am looking to get a cheap and reliable and quiet HDD SATA form for less than 50 quid, hopefully >100 GB of storage though, and with a reliable make, can anyone suggest any and show me a few links?


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby LuckyNV on Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:30 am

well, they are faster than "normal" sata drives, but also much louder and hotter.

I know several people who have them, some say they are great, but some say it is better to get a larger HDD, and some say difference in most cases is not noticeable.

Personally bigger drive the better, but if you got the money...
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby CATCHERAL on Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:38 am

Image
User avatar
CATCHERAL
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Catcheral
STEAM_0:1:4317924
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 8:12 pm
Location: midlands

Postby La Chavvy on Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:36 am

Thanks for the help but so far it hasnt really solved my query.

Catch the links you provided was for the Seagate SATA HDDs, and not the Raptor Western Digital, thanks for your effort and time but wasnt the type I was looking for :)

As Lucky said, they get hotter than usual and are almost 1/3 of the memory you can get for the same price, why would anyone want them?


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby EvolvedMonkey on Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:10 pm

Only real use for them at the moment is servers machines....and people with more money than sense.

They replace the old SCSI 15krpm drives.
Plus SATA is a damn sight cheaper than SCSI...

Decent SCSI cards are £150-200+
Whereas SATA is on most new mobos and even if you aint got them the PCI SATA cards are only £15-30

Better off getting the 200-300GB+ IDE/SATA drives with 16mb cache.
But I'm feeling good, And if you don't exist, you're still one illusion that I can't resist
User avatar
EvolvedMonkey
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: EvolvedMonkey
STEAM_0:0:183417
 
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Kepler 22b. Loving the atmosphere.



Image

Postby LuckyNV on Sat Apr 30, 2005 3:45 pm

La Chavvy wrote:Thanks for the help but so far it hasnt really solved my query.

Catch the links you provided was for the Seagate SATA HDDs, and not the Raptor Western Digital, thanks for your effort and time but wasnt the type I was looking for :)

As Lucky said, they get hotter than usual and are almost 1/3 of the memory you can get for the same price, why would anyone want them?


because they are indeed faster, if you RAID 0 them too, even better.

just like X850XT PE, why bother? a lesser card to do the job just aswell and be far cheaper, but it IS faster.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby CATCHERAL on Sat Apr 30, 2005 4:47 pm

sorry about that chavs. :)

I had a look and found some sites that might be useful.

http://www.storagereview.com/articles/2 ... 0GD_1.html

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=65

Hope these help, caue these ones are about the raptor.



:)
Image
User avatar
CATCHERAL
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Catcheral
STEAM_0:1:4317924
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 8:12 pm
Location: midlands

Postby La Chavvy on Sat Apr 30, 2005 6:34 pm

Thanks folks :) Nice link there Catch.

I think I shall be going for a plain Western Digital 120 / 160 GB SATA HDD. I dont see much point in those Raptors after all so sorry for wasting your time :)


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby TC on Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:55 pm

The think to check out is how much on board cache it has. My hard disks have 16 megs makes them damn quick. Some have as little as 1 meg.

CHECK THAT BEFORE YOU BUY.

I buy Hitachie Diamond Plus 10 hard disks. I tried RAID'ing for speed, and it made them slower with the crap controllers you get built in on motherboards as it negates the value of cache it seemed. So now i use high cache high speed disks no raid.


User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby La Chavvy on Sat Apr 30, 2005 7:58 pm

Is there any point in settting the RAID other than 0? I know that 1 is used for backup and stuff like that, but for a normal home user is there any real need?

Personally I have never had a corrupt HDD - and hope to keep it that way! - is this really a common thing to have?

Thanks for the Tip TC, amongst others, I am definetly thinking of getting WD since I've had then for a long time and dont know about any really good makes, but seeing as your - TC - are using Hitachie I shall look into them!

Thanks


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby gandy on Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:28 pm

Ive seen loads of storys where people have lost there data on raid 0.

My tip would be have your page file (swapfile) on a second or third hard (one that has no games or os ) to increase performance.

I have 3 drive in my comp..... Drive 1 - Winxp, Drive 2 - Games, Drive 3 - my documants and mp3's and pagefile
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby La Chavvy on Sun May 01, 2005 7:44 am

gandolfone wrote:Ive seen loads of storys where people have lost there data on raid 0.

My tip would be have your page file (swapfile) on a second or third hard (one that has no games or os ) to increase performance.

I have 3 drive in my comp..... Drive 1 - Winxp, Drive 2 - Games, Drive 3 - my documants and mp3's and pagefile


3 drives meaning 3 physical different HDD or 1 partitioned HDD?


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby LuckyNV on Sun May 01, 2005 9:44 am

La Chavvy wrote:
gandolfone wrote:Ive seen loads of storys where people have lost there data on raid 0.

My tip would be have your page file (swapfile) on a second or third hard (one that has no games or os ) to increase performance.

I have 3 drive in my comp..... Drive 1 - Winxp, Drive 2 - Games, Drive 3 - my documants and mp3's and pagefile


3 drives meaning 3 physical different HDD or 1 partitioned HDD?


physical drives
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby La Chavvy on Sun May 01, 2005 1:27 pm

Another question:

SATA is the method of data transfer, but I have also read that it does something else, and I got confused. Does SATA do both Data trasnfer AND power transfer you instead of that 4 prong white block stick thing.


[Sorry for being a n00by]


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby kuma on Sun May 01, 2005 2:54 pm

La Chavvy wrote:Another question:

SATA is the method of data transfer, but I have also read that it does something else, and I got confused. Does SATA do both Data trasnfer AND power transfer you instead of that 4 prong white block stick thing.


[Sorry for being a n00by]


No SATA still uses a seperate power connector. It is different from the standard molex(4 prong white block stick thing) but most motherboards that support SATA come with the adapter aswell as newer PSU's.
Image
User avatar
kuma
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Kuma
STEAM_0:0:5256029
 
Posts: 3056
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:58 am
Location: Reading, Berkshire, England

Postby La Chavvy on Sun May 01, 2005 6:07 pm

Thanks Kuma.

Are SATA drives fairly easy to install? Just really "plug and play"?


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby kuma on Sun May 01, 2005 6:38 pm

Exactly the same as IDE to plug in, exept different type ofcables.
The main difference is, if your installing windows you will need to insert the SATA drivers disk(must be a floppy) for your motherboard when it says "press F6 to install 3rd party SCSI\RAID drivers", otherwise windows won't detect a hard drive and can't install.
Image
User avatar
kuma
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Kuma
STEAM_0:0:5256029
 
Posts: 3056
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:58 am
Location: Reading, Berkshire, England

Postby LuckyNV on Sun May 01, 2005 6:39 pm

La Chavvy wrote:Thanks Kuma.

Are SATA drives fairly easy to install? Just really "plug and play"?


some SATA drives do have molex power connections still (and the SATA power too)

as for plug and play.... in general no. You must install drivers for your SATA controller in order to use them.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby La Chavvy on Sun May 01, 2005 8:43 pm

If I was to buy the HDD in OEM version I wouldnt probably get those disks would I? So should I go for the retail version?


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby LuckyNV on Mon May 02, 2005 7:00 am

La Chavvy wrote:If I was to buy the HDD in OEM version I wouldnt probably get those disks would I? So should I go for the retail version?


the drivers should come with the motherboard, if you don't have them, you can download from the website.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Next

Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 13 guests