TO TC HELP PLZ : with my uber lag

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

TO TC HELP PLZ : with my uber lag

Postby Kirbo on Mon May 16, 2005 4:05 pm

any suggestions? It seems to be on only a few servers (like ukcs and es server) but i dont know why. I use telewest and i checked my comp for spyware etc. Its been like this since friday.
Last edited by Kirbo on Tue May 17, 2005 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Kirbo
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 11:18 am

Postby LuckyNV on Mon May 16, 2005 4:18 pm

what do you mean? I assume it is ping/latency lag and not fps lag.

is it constantly high or bursts?

have you done a tracert to each problem server, maybe there is a weak link.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby BioHazard on Mon May 16, 2005 4:49 pm

I play cs:s on UKCS for 5 months now and i have 1 time lag. that was with the attack of hackers on UKCS. All the time the server runs great and i live in Holland. TC everybody have said it but keep on the good work !!!!! If you want to donate with the postal must you send Ponds or Euro's.


User avatar
BioHazard
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Splatz
STEAM_0:1:5722309
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands, Zeeland

Postby Kirbo on Mon May 16, 2005 4:59 pm

well for some reason its only 1.6 ukcs that lags not source
and its not fps lag i get 100 fps on 1.6 but it ping (the out is far less than in) Ive rang tracert to ukcs but i cant do one to 1.6 (unless ive dun it wrong) maybe ur right lucky nad there is a weak connection.
Isp wasnt v helpful tbh just said maybe sum1 stealing my bandwidth
Image
User avatar
Kirbo
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 11:18 am

Postby Mez on Mon May 16, 2005 5:20 pm

Somebody stealing bandwidth VIA laptop?

Could be possible.

(kevin :twisted: )


User avatar
Mez
Old Timer
 
Player: Mez^
STEAM_0:1:3620511
 
Posts: 8637
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:41 am
Location: Somewhere in the South...



Image

Postby Kirbo on Mon May 16, 2005 5:37 pm

lol i dont think so :P
Image
User avatar
Kirbo
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 11:18 am

Postby LuckyNV on Mon May 16, 2005 6:35 pm

Kirbo wrote:well for some reason its only 1.6 ukcs that lags not source
and its not fps lag i get 100 fps on 1.6 but it ping (the out is far less than in) Ive rang tracert to ukcs but i cant do one to 1.6 (unless ive dun it wrong) maybe ur right lucky nad there is a weak connection.
Isp wasnt v helpful tbh just said maybe sum1 stealing my bandwidth


you can tracert any IP i think

just tracert ip

no port number mind, just ip XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX, I just did UKCS 1.6 and it works.

EDIT - PS - ISPs always hire monkey tech support staff
Last edited by LuckyNV on Mon May 16, 2005 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby King_Kong on Mon May 16, 2005 6:40 pm

Yeah you can tracert an ip or url.


King_Kong
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Doncaster!

Postby Kirbo on Tue May 17, 2005 7:03 pm

Ok here my trace seems fine until get to ukcs i get simialr results for es server (which happens to located in the same area on a visual trace)

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\User>tracert 213.228.232.174

Tracing route to 213.228.232.174 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 10.25.0.1
2 12 ms 17 ms 11 ms 80.192.0.161
3 25 ms 21 ms 23 ms 195.188.230.73
4 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms 195.188.230.26
5 19 ms 17 ms 20 ms tele1-azt-pos.telewest.net [194.117.136.2]
6 18 ms 17 ms 18 ms fe0-1.xp.lon.rapidswitch.com [217.79.160.103]
7 29 ms 19 ms 19 ms bd6800-pri.sov.rapidswitch.com[83.142.224.8]
8 610 ms 610 ms 604 ms 213.228.232.174

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\User>
Image
User avatar
Kirbo
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 11:18 am

Postby TC on Tue May 17, 2005 8:58 pm

The problem is at Telewest so nothing I can do:

Its at the Telewest gateway 194.117.136.181 through which your network traffic keeps passing.

ping 194.117.136.181
PING 194.117.136.181 (194.117.136.181): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 194.117.136.181: icmp_seq=0 ttl=250 time=510.1 ms
64 bytes from 194.117.136.181: icmp_seq=1 ttl=250 time=504.5 ms
64 bytes from 194.117.136.181: icmp_seq=2 ttl=250 time=518.8 ms
64 bytes from 194.117.136.181: icmp_seq=3 ttl=250 time=524.4 ms
64 bytes from 194.117.136.181: icmp_seq=4 ttl=250 time=546.1 ms

You should run traceroute more than once, because all its doing is working out a possible network route, then pinging it. On the last reading of the one you chose to post, the ping would have gone through the bad telewest gateway and so the ping looked bad.

You should report the problem to telewest and quote that IP above. Anybody can ping it and see it buggered, so they might even fix it.


User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby Kirbo on Wed May 18, 2005 2:27 pm

Cheers TC ill try this once i get home. Any help is welcome.

Also ive found that when ukcs is not laggy (when no one is on or only like 4 people) es server also lags. But when ukcs lags up es server also lags regardless if any1 is playin on es.
must be sumthing to do with the gateway
Image
User avatar
Kirbo
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 11:18 am

Postby Kirbo on Wed May 18, 2005 3:29 pm

u sure it 194.117.136.181
not 194.117.136.2

maybe im wrong here but i dont see that i my tracert
i ping both thought and they both laggy
Image
User avatar
Kirbo
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 11:18 am

Postby weetabix on Wed May 18, 2005 3:52 pm

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Alex>tracert 213.228.232.27

Tracing route to 213.228.232.27 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 85 ms 105 ms 93 ms glfd-bam-1.inet.ntl.com [194.145.148.4]
2 34 ms 31 ms 54 ms glfd-t2core-b-ge-wan71.inet.ntl.com [62.254.207.
181]
3 77 ms 70 ms 36 ms gfd-bb-b-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.29]
4 31 ms 31 ms 99 ms bre-bb-a-so-000-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.149]

5 34 ms 34 ms 25 ms redb-ic-1-so-010-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.106]

6 51 ms 72 ms 56 ms fe0-1.xp.lon.rapidswitch.com [217.79.160.103]
7 22 ms 35 ms 54 ms bd6800-pri.sov.rapidswitch.com [83.142.224.8]
8 81 ms 58 ms 101 ms 213.228.232.27

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Alex>


my ping goes up to over 100 at about 4pm and stays that way until about 2am(on all servers), is there anything i can do about it as this is the time i'd most like to play. the rest of the time it's low, is it just that i only have a 512k connection?

ps i know pretty much nothing about pcs so don't shout at me if i've done something wrong on the thing above.
coco pops are evil!
User avatar
weetabix
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: weetabix
STEAM_0:0:4772217
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:06 pm
Location: Stirling, Scotland

Postby weetabix on Sat May 28, 2005 12:18 pm

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Alex>tracert 213.228.232.174

Tracing route to 213.228.232.174 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 225 ms 230 ms 218 ms glfd-bam-1.inet.ntl.com [194.145.148.4]
2 188 ms 220 ms 218 ms glfd-t2core-a-ge-wan63.inet.ntl.com [62.254.207.
45]
3 194 ms 197 ms 187 ms gfd-bb-a-so-300-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.25]
4 200 ms 189 ms 197 ms gfd-bb-b-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.6]
5 186 ms 197 ms 185 ms bre-bb-a-so-000-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.149]

6 198 ms 165 ms 199 ms redb-ic-1-so-010-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.106]

7 184 ms 187 ms 156 ms fe0-1.xp.lon.rapidswitch.com [217.79.160.103]
8 235 ms 220 ms 218 ms bd6800-pri.sov.rapidswitch.com [83.142.224.8]
9 217 ms 218 ms 224 ms 213.228.232.174

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Alex>


ok this is what it's like all weekend, then it drops back down. is it my pc or the isp?
coco pops are evil!
User avatar
weetabix
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: weetabix
STEAM_0:0:4772217
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:06 pm
Location: Stirling, Scotland

Postby TC on Sat May 28, 2005 3:04 pm

Your ping is bad at the first hop (194.145.148.4). Is that the IP of your PC? (at that time), or the first gateway beyond your PC?

Just do a ping to the first IP in the traceroute. If you are getting bad pings even to that then its either your PC or NTL. Assuming its NTL you should phone them and quote the ping you are doing to their gateway and they should work on it. Sounds like that gateway is totally overloaded and they need to reorganise their network better.


User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 16 guests