ram!

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

ram!

Postby Death on Thu May 19, 2005 11:46 am

alrite am looking to get me some ram within next few days.

firstly i want to know this which is better to buy

1gb stick of pc3200 or 1gb (2 x 512 ) stick pc3200

what is the differences. obviously you have 2 sticks in 1 and 2 in other but why get 2 when can get 1 that holds just as much?

also which best place to buy. ive been looking on ebay or is that not worth doing or should just purchase from hop like overclockers.co.uk

thanks and hope can answer my n00by questions :D
Mr. T and Chuck Norris once encountered each other on a lonesome British path. Before the inevitable battle could begin, the earth shit itself and created Scotland.


Image
User avatar
Death
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: bo$$m4n
STEAM_0:1:2896568
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:49 am
Location: Durham, UK

Postby La Chavvy on Thu May 19, 2005 11:54 am

If you want the most amout of RAM in your mobo then obviously get the 1 stick of 1GB PC3200, but at the same time, this costs more since its all crammed into that stick.

Personally, since I am quite a n00by at this, I bought the Corsair Value Ram, as I personally dont see much point paying 60 quid for a mere 512 at great timings, as all I required was some ram. The Corsair Value Ram, I got was 65 pounds including delivery, and was a 1 GB [2 x 512] and it runs in dual channel.

I got mine from ebay, but that was due to a limited offer, overclockers are good, but try http://microdirect.co.uk

Chavs


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby Death on Thu May 19, 2005 12:11 pm

cheers chavs.

gonna go for 1 gb pc3200 but since ovver on for 512mb pc3200 for just £25 might be getting that then get another 1gb in couple months.

p.s is reason why this is so cheap??

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/ProductInf ... uctID=3153
Mr. T and Chuck Norris once encountered each other on a lonesome British path. Before the inevitable battle could begin, the earth shit itself and created Scotland.


Image
User avatar
Death
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: bo$$m4n
STEAM_0:1:2896568
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:49 am
Location: Durham, UK

Re: ram!

Postby Little_Devil on Thu May 19, 2005 12:17 pm

Depends what you get 2 x 512 Mb can be matched for latency, 1Gb will allways have better latency, in the end it depends on how hardcore your machine is to be.

Personally I would go with the 2 x 512, works out cheaper and you will never notice the difference, unless of course you will are going to be running some nice complex FFT. You could of course get a matched pair if you wish, but they usually cost more.
Edit
Just seen your last post the memory you have shown can be any manufacturer, probably the stuff coming out of India.
There is an overproduction of memory, so you can expect it to come down in price anyhow.
Last edited by Little_Devil on Thu May 19, 2005 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18896
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Death on Thu May 19, 2005 12:19 pm

alrite cool.

so will this ram still do good job?

looks fne and need to ge 1gb badly coz 512 sucks!

so worth it for few months?
Mr. T and Chuck Norris once encountered each other on a lonesome British path. Before the inevitable battle could begin, the earth shit itself and created Scotland.


Image
User avatar
Death
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: bo$$m4n
STEAM_0:1:2896568
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:49 am
Location: Durham, UK

Postby Energizer_Bat on Thu May 19, 2005 1:26 pm

Try this site! Irish company but i think they do ship abroad! Good prices:
http://www.shop4memory.com/
Image
User avatar
Energizer_Bat
Regular Member
 
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:29 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™ on Thu May 19, 2005 2:27 pm

I would always go for 2 sticks as you can utilise the dual chanels on the mobo.

Also try www.aria.co.uk as at present they have a speacial offer on samsung ram for 24.99.
and if you dont know, samsung actually make the memory chips for GC's and other memory manufacturers like corsair, ocs and kingston. so the quality is good but the other makes tweak them
ImageImage
User avatar
ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™
Old Timer
 
Player: Rastaman-FB
STEAM_0:1:2712314
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: South Kirkby,West Yorkshire

Postby King_Kong on Thu May 19, 2005 2:53 pm

Definitely go for 2 x 512 if your motherboard supports Dual Channel. Overclockers UK have 2 x 512 sticks of GSkill PC3200 for £70 in their weekly offers section. Not a top name manufacturer, but apparently the RAM is cable of DDR480 speeds and is rated 2-3-3-6 for PC3200.


King_Kong
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Doncaster!

Postby Little_Devil on Thu May 19, 2005 3:18 pm

Death wrote:alrite cool.

so will this ram still do good job?

looks fne and need to ge 1gb badly coz 512 sucks!

so worth it for few months?

Yep its good enough for what you need m8
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18896
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Death on Thu May 19, 2005 6:22 pm

alrite ordered it . so do for 2 months.

then get my bad boy machine up and running :D
Mr. T and Chuck Norris once encountered each other on a lonesome British path. Before the inevitable battle could begin, the earth shit itself and created Scotland.


Image
User avatar
Death
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: bo$$m4n
STEAM_0:1:2896568
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:49 am
Location: Durham, UK


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 10 guests