help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Postby Duracellbunny on Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:23 pm

Hey peeps,

this bunny his computer is dieing.... so help bunny @ new computer whois up for it?

greets bunny
Last edited by Duracellbunny on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
User avatar
Duracellbunny
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Duracell Bunny
STEAM_0:1:3735005
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 6:53 pm
Location: Netherlands



Image

Re: help needed??

Postby Semaphia on Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:48 pm

Sure, I'll give it a bash :) What's your budget, preferred store, current specs & part list available? Does the budget need to include a keyboard, mouse, monitor?


User avatar
Semaphia
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Semaphia
STEAM_0:0:41664894
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK



Image

Re: help needed??

Postby sNaKeBiTe on Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:53 pm

Well what does the bunny do with its computer? Does it have any special needs? How old is the bunnys current computer? (what specs?) Is the bunny planning on reusing some stuff? Can the bunny build its own pc or does it need a complete one? And how much moneys does the bunny have in its fur?

Also this thread might be better off in the PC section of the forum.


User avatar
sNaKeBiTe
Regular Member
 
Player: sNaKeBiTe
STEAM_0:1:10928581
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:20 pm
Location: Germany



Image

Re: help needed??

Postby cowboyfromhell on Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:12 pm

Bunny should know to use the correct forum.. ;)

<3
Senior Forum Moderator, CS:GO Admin, ex-TF2 & CSS Admin
Add me to Steam Friends if you need a hand. :)
Use the UKCS Uploader for your pictures, it's free for members!

ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD!
Xerxes wrote:Worst. Senior. Mod. Eva.
User avatar
cowboyfromhell
Senior Moderator
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Cowboy
STEAM_0:1:10068175
 
Posts: 6505
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Suffolk



Image

Re: help needed??

Postby Duracellbunny on Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:13 am

this is the correct one cfh im not building one i need money for it :P hwhahahaha my computer is 7 years of ages and cpu dieing on me.

specs are:
asusp5q pro mainboard socket 775
processor: E8500
4 gb ddr 2 hyper x kingston 1333mhz memory
256gb sata 1 harddisk
ati 5770 1gb ddr 5 gfx

I dont need a new gfx, keyboard, mouse, screen, speakers printer.

Just need MOBO, processor, memory (ddr3) and maybe a ssd hdd samsung 840 pro 256 gb sata III. That is my wish list.
But since i lack money (like everybody) i cant get new stuff. So for now no more tf2, css runs (only 20 fps), and takes ages to run win 7 64bit.
CPU is allmost dead.

So i need a upgrade that it. I know what i want need but i lack the money thats basicly it.

I wanna get:
i5 3570k processor
8 gb ddr 3 1600mhz kingston memory
and a mainboard: Asus P8Z77-M Pro S1155 Z77.
As said SSD sata 3 samsung 840 pro 256gb.
Total costs about 580 euro
Image
Image
User avatar
Duracellbunny
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Duracell Bunny
STEAM_0:1:3735005
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 6:53 pm
Location: Netherlands



Image

Re: help needed??

Postby sNaKeBiTe on Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:01 am

Uhm, why is that? Did you overclock the CPU past the voltage specifications? Other than that I've never heard of a CPU sowly dieing. They either work fine or they are completely dead.

Until a year ago I played TF2 on a worse computer (E6750, 4 GB RAM, 8800GT) no problem. You just have to turn the setting down a little.
Have a look at this: http://fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/ and try the highframes or maxframes config.

I'd also suggest you install a fresh version of windows. I usually redo my system every 1 - 1.5 years because it slows down (on hdd).


User avatar
sNaKeBiTe
Regular Member
 
Player: sNaKeBiTe
STEAM_0:1:10928581
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:20 pm
Location: Germany



Image

Re: help needed??

Postby Duracellbunny on Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:19 pm

I never OC my cpu. But me e8500 only 1 core is running 2nd core doesnt work at all. So thats slowly dieing. So basicly running the computer on a single core now wich my fps doenst like. Alt tab in games like css is a no go gos of it also.
Do i need 2 say more?

All settings in bios are standard. That means no overclocking. Voltage for ram is the correct one on the board.
In short CPU is dieing.
Install of windows 7 is only 3 months old. (i reinstall windows normaly 1 time each 6 months). (whoraa for magix machine that you can copy your entire hd on a simular one ).
So what im doing is take the HDD out put it on the machine copy it from the clean install hdd. Put the clean HDD in and keep hold of the old hdd with the fresh install.
Image
Image
User avatar
Duracellbunny
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Duracell Bunny
STEAM_0:1:3735005
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 6:53 pm
Location: Netherlands



Image

Re: help needed??

Postby Synaphix on Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:40 am

Go to System properties, in the advanced tab go to environment variables. Check the variable NUMBER_OF_PROCESSOR. If it is set to 1, edit it and set it to 2. Then restart the system.

Or see if ACPI is enabled in the BIOS though I am not sure if it (HAL) is the same issue that Vista/XP has on Windows 7 - Snake might be able to help with that one.
Interested in joining the CSGO Admin Team? Apply here.
Interested in joining the CSGO Map Team? Apply here.
User avatar
Synaphix
Executive Admin
 
STEAM_0:0:000000
 
Posts: 3169
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:44 pm

Re: help needed??

Postby Duracellbunny on Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:37 am

checked number_of _processor its set on 2. ACPI is enabled. Used my processor on another mainboard had same prob so defo processor error.
Image
Image
User avatar
Duracellbunny
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Duracell Bunny
STEAM_0:1:3735005
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 6:53 pm
Location: Netherlands



Image

Re: help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Postby Duracellbunny on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:16 am

Hey peeps i want to buy this set:

http://www.alternate.nl/html/product/ALTERNATE/Upgrade_Kit_GigaByte_GA-Z77X-D3H-i5-3570K-8GB/1007803/?event=search

Main question remains is the mainboard any good? Never used a Gigabyte before allways Asus.
Image
Image
User avatar
Duracellbunny
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Duracell Bunny
STEAM_0:1:3735005
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 6:53 pm
Location: Netherlands



Image

Re: help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Postby syco cocker on Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:03 am

Its a well speced board for little money, Gigabyte boards are fine you will always have people who say this & that about any make but thats normally down to their mindset.
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandad
not screaming in terror like the passengers in his car.
User avatar
syco cocker
Senior Admin
 
Player: syco cocker
STEAM_0:0:11836468
 
Posts: 3222
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:12 pm
Location: Kent UK

Re: help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Postby ApacheFlame on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:31 am

I have one for my first gen i5 and it has been fine. Haws a hiccup a week ago where it decided to stop talking to my boot drive and failed to recognise it in BIOS, but removing the CMOS battery and shorting it reset everything and it was fine again.
The Programmers Mantra: Declare Variables, not War.

Image
Image
User avatar
ApacheFlame
Exec. Admin (Retired)
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Apache
STEAM_0:1:27288431
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:12 am
Location: over at the Frankenstein place



Image

Re: help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Postby Shuriken on Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:42 pm

Solid little board right there, good value for money for certain, have used them a few times. The lucid virtuMVP on it is amazing for a load of games, even if it doesn't work well on some others
This is my sandvich. There are many others like it, but this one is mine. My sandvich is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life. Without me, my sandvich is useless. Without my sandvich, I am useless. I must eat my sandvich true. I must shoot straighter than my enemy, who is trying to kill me. I must shoot him before he shoots me. I will. Before lunch I swear this creed: my sandvich and myself are defenders of my country, we are the masters of our enemy, we are the saviors of my life. So be it, until there is no enemy, but sandvich. Om nom.

Image
Image
User avatar
Shuriken
Old Timer
 
Player: `_´ HaemoGobliN `_´
STEAM_0:1:5456922
 
Posts: 3693
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:43 am
Location: I'm on a boat



Image

Re: help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Postby Duracellbunny on Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:19 pm

so this set it must be now trying to get money for it
Image
Image
User avatar
Duracellbunny
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Duracell Bunny
STEAM_0:1:3735005
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 6:53 pm
Location: Netherlands



Image

Re: help needed? UPDATE 2/14/2013

Postby Lord Talan on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:16 pm

Yo,

if on a budget then DO NOT BUY INTEL!!! AMD are much better value for money.

This is something I've knocked up quickly on a UK site (you can source the same where you are if you need to):-

Image

Log on to http://www.aria.co.uk and quick search the items for more detail (quick search noted just before the cost of each item on it's line.)

click on to get fullsize. You are getting a decent gfx card for the same amount you would spend on Intel without a gfx card.

I have an AMD 8350 and with 8 cores running at 4mhz each, and a mobo with SATA 3 and USB 3 I have a very fast system much cheaper than an Intel equivalent. 8gig of 1600mhz is more than enough for a home user.

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests