Internet Speeds

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Internet Speeds

Postby Slavechild on Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:54 pm

Image
Been suffering from these speeds for the last week or so :evil:
I think we really need a new internet provider as we might have finally moved onto Sky from O2 as we usually get at least Down: 3-4MB and UP: 1.5-2MB.

I'm quite interested in BT fiber but Virgin looks good, unfortunately I can't account for what my little brothers do with the internet and BT seem to be a tad more lax with what goes on.

Any suggestions?

N.B. I've tried to police our home network but it causes fights in the house so just don't go there ...
Magical Facebook Fairy wrote:Image
User avatar
Slavechild
Home Member
 
Player: Slavechild
STEAM_0:1:26412177
 
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:50 pm
Location: Hampshire



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby xAcTioNx on Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:07 pm

Hi slavechild i have BT infinity and the service is excellent i just run my speedtest for you right now pinging from my home london to over 200 miles to Holland and at peaktime 9.00pm :geeky:
Image
my previous thread on how happy i am with BT viewtopic.php?f=23&t=57095&p=7042700#p7042700


User avatar
xAcTioNx
Regular Member
 
Player: xAcTioNx
STEAM_0:1:8796726
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:33 am
Location: london southeast

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Slavechild on Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:06 pm

*Starts throwing money at screen*
I'm going to have to convince the mum to change and if I move out in the next 6 months then I'll know who to go with :D
Magical Facebook Fairy wrote:Image
User avatar
Slavechild
Home Member
 
Player: Slavechild
STEAM_0:1:26412177
 
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:50 pm
Location: Hampshire



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby xAcTioNx on Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:12 pm

costs yes i pay £48 per month for the following package : unlimited btinfinity2 approx speeds (76MB down--19MB up) free unlimited anytime phone calls to any uk landline seems alot but you get what you pay for these days :cheers:


User avatar
xAcTioNx
Regular Member
 
Player: xAcTioNx
STEAM_0:1:8796726
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:33 am
Location: london southeast

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby ApacheFlame on Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:50 am

I've never had issues with virgin fibre optic. For their 'large' package it was just shy of £30/month. That was with no tv/phone, but that's the way I wanted it.

Excellent speed, good ping, good uptime.
The Programmers Mantra: Declare Variables, not War.

Image
Image
User avatar
ApacheFlame
Exec. Admin (Retired)
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Apache
STEAM_0:1:27288431
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:12 am
Location: over at the Frankenstein place



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Synaphix on Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:35 am

I've had nothing but issues with Virginmedia and this is with five different houses around England so it was not house/area specific either - I'm at my brothers now for a few weeks and he has the best VM package here and although the speeds are all great...it drops constantly and had three new routers, power levels and everything all adjusted, rewired it all and no luck.

I refuse to ever use BT again though as when I lived in the countryside our house had corrosion on the lines and we got them replaced for free we were told, got paperwork and signature from an engineer who apparently had no right to sign it and they tried charging us around £500 for rewiring it all. I think my Father got out of that but it was a long battle.
Interested in joining the CSGO Admin Team? Apply here.
Interested in joining the CSGO Map Team? Apply here.
User avatar
Synaphix
Executive Admin
 
Player: Rob
STEAM_0:1:36281577
 
Posts: 3154
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Suffolk, England

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Slavechild on Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:57 pm

We started on BT years ago and yeah there service use to be crap but I haven't heard anything bad about them since they started rolling out fiber and really pushing their internet services. After BT we had Pipex (Awful), TalkTalk (Awful), and then finally O2 who were amazing until they sold up to Murdoch :roll:
Magical Facebook Fairy wrote:Image
User avatar
Slavechild
Home Member
 
Player: Slavechild
STEAM_0:1:26412177
 
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:50 pm
Location: Hampshire



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby rgslane the trackpad on Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:43 pm

we tried to get BT infinity, but the provider they'd "make the necessary hardware available in early 2020".
It's a start i guess

We're currently on talktalk:
Image

Alright aside from the fact that it's intermittently down for hours at a time due to "peak usage demands in our area"...


rgslane the trackpad
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: mousepad returns
STEAM_0:1:43601753
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:14 pm



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Slavechild on Wed Feb 26, 2014 12:24 am

We use to get that and our phone use to cut off as well, just wait till you try to leave them! We changed to O2, all was fine on TalkTalk's end, O2 took over the line and broadband then for the next 3 months we received TalkTalk bills as they hadn't actually removed us from their system :evil:
Magical Facebook Fairy wrote:Image
User avatar
Slavechild
Home Member
 
Player: Slavechild
STEAM_0:1:26412177
 
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:50 pm
Location: Hampshire



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby rgslane the trackpad on Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:42 pm

Slavechild wrote:We use to get that and our phone use to cut off as well, just wait till you try to leave them! We changed to O2, all was fine on TalkTalk's end, O2 took over the line and broadband then for the next 3 months we received TalkTalk bills as they hadn't actually removed us from their system :evil:

yeah we were on plusnet and they kept telling us that we hadn't paid our bill for at least 8 months after we switched. We resorted to sending all letters back to the company to see if they got the message


rgslane the trackpad
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: mousepad returns
STEAM_0:1:43601753
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:14 pm



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby re# Skilgannon on Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:08 pm

best provider I ever had was Nildram before they were bought out by pipex, soon moved after that to O2 who were great for years then tried to shaft me so am now with BT infinity for the time being, if they mess me about I shall move my custom elsewhere again!
for she is the Cat that walks by herself, and all places are alike to her

no matter how many times I put together the great jigsaw of life there is always the same integral piece missing that prevents the picture from being complete Annabel Rose Hardwick
User avatar
re# Skilgannon
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Sunshine Snookums
STEAM_0:0:7668
 
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 6:05 pm
Location: Leicestershire



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Tar'el on Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:00 am

Mine is sky and i actually get what i pay for which is surprising...had a few problems with speeds dropping to less than 56k which in all fairness took them less than 2 days to sort out as the issue was with BT. heres what i get with them...

Image


Tar'el
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Tar'el
STEAM_0:1:13705543
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:57 am
Location: Loughor, Swansea

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby TheLittleRedFox on Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:24 pm

Tar'el wrote:Mine is sky and i actually get what i pay for which is surprising...had a few problems with speeds dropping to less than 56k which in all fairness took them less than 2 days to sort out as the issue was with BT. heres what i get with them...

Image

That's with Sky!?
I'll take it that's Sky fibre though.
Image
Yeah not that impressive with Sky broadband but it does the job nicely enough!
Archimedes no! It's filthy in there!
Image
TheLittleRedFox
Recruit Member
 
Player: Applefolf
STEAM_0:1:59306890
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 9:55 pm



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Slavechild on Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:56 pm

Image

I think Sky (after all the slanderous comments about their service i've been making) have finally sorted my download out .. pity about the upload :cry:
Magical Facebook Fairy wrote:Image
User avatar
Slavechild
Home Member
 
Player: Slavechild
STEAM_0:1:26412177
 
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:50 pm
Location: Hampshire



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Deathtaker27 on Tue Jun 17, 2014 5:12 pm

Image
Image
Thanks Podge, speccy and Tao
User avatar
Deathtaker27
Old Timer
 
Player: DT27
STEAM_0:1:22687060
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:40 pm



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Silkie on Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:00 am

Free upgrade kicked in this AM.

Image
"I prefer the company of animals more than the company of humans.
Certainly, a wild animal is cruel.
But to be merciless is the privilege of civilised humans."
User avatar
Silkie
Experienced Member
 
Player: Silkie
STEAM_0:0:523712
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:19 pm
Location: Somewhere Strange



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Slavechild on Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:06 am

Now that's just showing off :p
Magical Facebook Fairy wrote:Image
User avatar
Slavechild
Home Member
 
Player: Slavechild
STEAM_0:1:26412177
 
Posts: 985
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:50 pm
Location: Hampshire



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby Tar'el on Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:30 pm

Tar'el wrote:Mine is sky and i actually get what i pay for which is surprising...had a few problems with speeds dropping to less than 56k which in all fairness took them less than 2 days to sort out as the issue was with BT. heres what i get with them...

Image


Image

this is mine after a few months... really impressed with sky at the moment as when ever i call them about a issue i get bumped straight to second line support lol


Tar'el
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Tar'el
STEAM_0:1:13705543
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:57 am
Location: Loughor, Swansea

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby hagz on Mon Jun 23, 2014 5:29 pm

does not matter if your with BT, SKy , Talk talk or anyone for that matter the copper wires to your house are the same. you would probably get the same speeds with any other provider.
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: Internet Speeds

Postby SkeletalBOB on Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:40 pm

After running a cable up to my room, I'm finally getting a proper connection again :)

Image
ImageImage
User avatar
SkeletalBOB
Senior Admin
 
Player: SkeletalBOB on craptop
STEAM_0:0:41790546
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:20 pm



Image

Next

Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests