GFX Card for Second User Comp

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

GFX Card for Second User Comp

Postby Ace of Spades on Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:00 pm

Hi guys,
You lot have been playin CS longer than me sooo..

What graphics card will play 1.6 fine but wont cost a ton, im talking GF4 Ti4200 or something like that. This PC will be just for 1.6 web browsing until it is sold to me cousin as a complete system.

So ne1 know what GFX card i can use to play 1.6 at PLAYABLE FPS?

GF4 Mx440 ?

I may put in a 9200 or sumthin just so i can play a few newer games what ya think.

Btw specs should be :

P4 1.8Ghz (A) Very good overlcokers.
512mb Pc3200
40Gb + HDD
wateva GFX
WLAN Card


Spose that it. Thanks for the help in advance, and no shitty comments about the CPU etc, its for 1.6 !
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby Staceman on Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:53 pm

If you can still get hold of a 4200ti that ran 1.6 at 100fps (slight overclock) solid before i upgraded. Definately recommend it, ran everything i threw at it for years :)

I also tested it against a FX series card on stress tests, and it was roughly as fast, sometimes faster in some applications.
Image
User avatar
Staceman
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:57 pm
Location: Devon

Postby Ace of Spades on Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:26 am

thanks M8, Ebay be the place to be lol.

Thought id ask u lot as most of u say u played CS from release, so u had the GFX no how on it.

If i cant get hold of a Ti4200 - 4800 then i will get me a 9200 wiv DVI coz my cosuins got a lovely 42" Plasma screen wiv DVI input on it :D
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby EvolvedMonkey on Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:34 am

I pld CS for years with a Geforce 2 MX 32MB

And there are no shitty comments about CPU's here. I have only recently just changed my CPU from a Athlon Thunderbird 1.4 and that pld CS:S perfectly fine. Although the 1.25GB of memory did help :D
But I'm feeling good, And if you don't exist, you're still one illusion that I can't resist
User avatar
EvolvedMonkey
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: EvolvedMonkey
STEAM_0:0:183417
 
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Kepler 22b. Loving the atmosphere.



Image

Postby Energizer_Bat on Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:18 am

Don't buy a mx440, more trouble than it's worth! Try an ati 9000 or 9200 , very stable card and it sould play 1.6 fairly easily!
Image
User avatar
Energizer_Bat
Regular Member
 
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:29 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby Ace of Spades on Fri Jun 10, 2005 9:11 am

my FX5200 in here plays 1.6 fine and CS:S at like 40 - 50 fps, 800x600, but with 256mb of ram lots of file swapping.

But anyway Ti range, low FX and 9200 ish yar ?

im intending to upgrade them if need be, but money be tight lol
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby Brick on Sat Jun 11, 2005 3:02 am

i have a mx440 pci and can play at 800 by 600 at 100fps most of the time goes down to 30ish in smoke, thats with 3.0ghz 512mb ram pc3200


User avatar
Brick
Home Member
 
Player: Brick
STEAM_0:1:434114
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:16 am
Location: Stirling


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests