Unsure CPU

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Unsure CPU

Postby sweetamber92 on Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:33 pm

(also posted on overclockers)
I'm thinking about purchasing this [link] as its the only i7 on overclockers that will fit my current board, but im scared it will have 8packs pubes on and might break. (It clearly states at the bottom of the page that it may have thermal grease residue with pubes in it)
Its quite a substantial purchase to make, im used to buying retail or OEM CPU's can someone explain "binned" CPU's im a noob. :3
Thankyou
sweetamber92
UKCS Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee

Player: Sweetamber92
STEAM_0:0:27295044

Re: Unsure CPU

Postby Security on Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:47 pm

Simply said product binning is a way to select and categorize products mainly used in the CPU and GPU business.
Normally a company like Intel designs a chip to function at a max specific speed, for example this 3.5Ghz quad core CPU, not all the CPU's that come off a wafer will meet the specs but can be sold as a slower version, for example a 3Ghz quad core. That process is called binning.

In this case it means that someone (an overclocker named 8Pack) filtered out the best performing chips of them all (or at least they claim) so they can be sold as such by Overclockers, this process is also often called cherry picking. These chips perform allot better then what they were originally designed for, it could be that this chip does over 5Ghz when you use LN2 to cool it where a lesser chip wouldn't be able to run at that speed under the same conditions.

Anyway, unless you are planning on (extremely) overclocking the CPU you are better off buying the standard chip for less if that is an option.

Edit: Clarified allot of stuff. :P
Security
Experienced Member
Honorary UKCS Member
UKCS iSeries Attendee

Player: Security
STEAM_0:0:8446840

Postby Kaelan002 on Tue Sep 29, 2015 3:08 pm