FPS / GFX Help *fixed* - now CPU / MOBO Help

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

FPS / GFX Help *fixed* - now CPU / MOBO Help

Postby Cass0 on Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:13 pm

Hi Guys,

I've just purchased https://www.asus.com/uk/Graphics-Cards/GTX750TIOC2GD5/ from ebuyer. I know this isn't a top end graphics card but I thought it would give me a much improved performance over my outdated GTX 460 768mb. After installing the card and drivers I have to say I'm very disappointed but don't know whether the graphics card isn't performing as it should or whether I have done something wrong?

my setup is:

Mobo: MSI 890fxa gd70
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 black edition
RAM: 2 x 4GB corsair vengeance pro 1866mhz
GFX: Asus GTX 750 Ti OC 2GB

I'm currently playing on 1440 x 900 resolution with all settings on low and get fluctuating fps but generally sits at around the 130 area during combat which isn't really much of an improvement from when I had my gtx 460. What sort of fps should I be seeing on cs:go with this setup? Was I expecting too much from this purchase? I'm a bit gutted really I thought I'd be getting a much higher frame rate and also be able to turn the settings up to at least medium! ha!

Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited by Cass0 on Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby EWJ on Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:28 pm

i presume the phenom is a 965 @ 3.4ghz?

what does cs:go default to?
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8031
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby Cass0 on Wed Jan 06, 2016 2:36 pm

Yes sorry its the 965 @ 3.4ghz.

do you mean what video settings cs:go defaults to?


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby EWJ on Wed Jan 06, 2016 8:03 pm

yep
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8031
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby hagz on Thu Jan 07, 2016 7:17 am

tbh a 750should run CS:GO with ease. see what you get if you reduce settings a little. if you do that do you get a better framerate? Also check your GPU settings are not set for quality things like ambient occlusion can give a really big hit in performance if enabled.
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1433
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby Cass0 on Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:28 am

Default settings for CS:GO all revert to very high / high with a large resolution, MSAA x8, Texture filtering Trillinear.


I have been playing with all settings on low, MSAA OFF and Texture filtering set to bilinear and getting a frame rate from around 140 - 200. When in spawn I can get over 200fps but soon as I enter combat it drops to around 130-150. I thought with all settings on low I'd be able to get a nice constant frame rate without it flickering all the time.

What fps should I be getting with my current rig? is it capable of getting a nice constant fps?


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby EWJ on Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:25 am

the fps drops are more probably from the phenom than the card. TBH as long as the FPS is over 60 I'd not be concerned. I have a 7870 which is comparable ato a 750ti and I play cs:go no bother.
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8031
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby Cass0 on Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:19 pm

I'm going to try overclocking my CPU tonight when I get home from work, I've been reading up a little about Unlock CPU Core and also changing the multiplier. I'm a complete novice at it but apparently my motherboard and processor are designed with overclocking in mind so hopefully I don't ruin anything!

Getting over 60fps does tend to matter when playing cs:go competitively and I thought buying this new card that I'd at least be able to run my system on medium video settings and still achieve high fps.


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby EWJ on Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:01 pm

ok.. I must be reading it wrong.. whats the lowest you get at high settings?

Also most mobo's have a one click setting for oc'ing.. Had my phenom at 3.8 for most of its lifetime.
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8031
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby Cass0 on Mon Jan 11, 2016 2:24 pm

Ok so I'm sending the 750 back and thinking of getting MSI GTX 970 gaming, would this gpu run ok on my system?

MSI 890 fxa gd70
AMD phenom II x4 965 BE - OC'd to 3.8ghz
2 x4gb corsair vengeance - 1600
600w PSU


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby hagz on Mon Jan 11, 2016 5:06 pm

should do i runa 970 it is a sweet card and super quick
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1433
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby Cass0 on Tue Jan 12, 2016 11:00 am

I'd hope it was a good card for the money they cost!! I read online that my processor could cause my system to bottleneck and I wouldn't be feeling the full benefit from the new GPU and that it would not be performing to its full potential. I only wanted to upgrade my graphics but now looks like I may end up spending money on a new motherboard and processor. I'll have to wait a month or two before this so would anyone be able to recommend a good motherboard + CPU combo? (Some mid range to high range recommendations) I'm pretty clueless when it comes to motherboard and CPU specs.


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby EWJ on Tue Jan 12, 2016 3:42 pm

I was in the same boat. upgraded to a 4690k and an msi Pc mate. unbelievable performance difference on a phenom. I was getting 20-40fps in Planetside 2 and with the new CPU was getting a constant 90fps. 90!.

TBH wait and see with the new GPU whether you need a new CPU
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8031
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby hagz on Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:42 pm

it is a chicken and egg tbh the new cpu could be ok with the card you had but then a new GPU is more future proofed imo especially a decent card like the 970
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1433
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby daggsy on Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:55 pm

Cass... You'd don't want to play go! You want to come on source and Lala it up 8)
UKCS Old Timer

Gazzy |UKCS|
----------------------------------
Image
User avatar
daggsy
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Gazzy
STEAM_0:0:86543893
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 1:05 am



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby hagz on Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:33 pm

daggsy wrote:Cass... You'd don't want to play go! You want to come on source and Lala it up 8)



TBH GO is pretty poo
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1433
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby daggsy on Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:05 pm

Tbh source is poo but now 1.5/1.6 has gone I have no option! :geeky:
UKCS Old Timer

Gazzy |UKCS|
----------------------------------
Image
User avatar
daggsy
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Gazzy
STEAM_0:0:86543893
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 1:05 am



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help

Postby Cass0 on Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:23 pm

Firstly Gaz you big fish, i can't play a 64 man server it just makes me rage! its so boring and a complete campfest. CS:GO is really good imo, quite like 1.6 and great for competitive play.

So I bought an MSI GTX 970 Gaming Edition 4GB! The card is bloody hooooooooooge and just about fitted into my case. Now i'm thinking of upgrading my CPU / Processor to unlock the full potential of the GPU but i'm clueless on what CPU to get? Intel or AMD? I don't want to spend megabucks but would like a cpu / mobo thats going to be good for a few years and works well with the GTX 970. Does anybody have any suggestions of what to buy or any great bundles they've seen? I dont really want to spend more than £250 realistically.


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help *fixed* - now CPU / MOBO Help

Postby heuji on Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:26 pm

i5, skylake if you can stretch, & mobo. if i had of seen this topic earlier i would have advised saving the gfx card money and buying a cpu and mobo first. i went this route and play tf2 using the onchip gfx at a steady 150fps default settings untweaked (tomb raider at 50 fps). theres news of a new AMD cpu to launch tail end of this year if you can wait. right now intel are crushing them, really, with most advising save your money if going the AMD route buying the processor (or at least from the phenom range) you already have.
my i5 6600k came in a bundle from scan.co.uk with a mobo, case and psu for around £350 (value individually +£400 and some) on the 'today only' deal. i got a great deal and made a big saving.
heres the bundle sections where you might find a combo deal seeing as you dont need as much as i did:
https://www.scan.co.uk/3xs/value/valuebundlesspec#anc, or, there's also aria.co.uk who do bundles too http://www.aria.co.uk/Systems/Bundles/ (mobo, psu & ram). both would be my two recommendations to look at. they have great sales teams that may tweak your order to suit, or, at least negotiate should you prefer something slightly different. as they're 'value bundles' they might be a little less forgiving though.
☁ every cloud has a silver lining, it's called rain! ☁
Image
User avatar
heuji
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: heuji
STEAM_0:0:5401050
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:30 pm
Location: Edinburgh



Image

Re: FPS / GFX Help *fixed* - now CPU / MOBO Help

Postby Cass0 on Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:09 pm

Thank you for your helpful reply. I have already looked on those websites but did not realise that they could alter the bundles to suit customer needs. I will definitely be purchasing an i5 processor but don't know if I can afford the new skylake range, is the haswell range still worth buying into? or should I save a bit and wait for the skylake? Also, if I buy a skylake cpu & mobo, do I have to buy DDR4 RAM? I read somewhere that if using skylake you will need to upgrade all 3 to match (CPU,MOBO,RAM)


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Next

Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests