Broadband Providers

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Broadband Providers

Postby the_tub on Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:28 pm

Well basically i need your help guys. Co i have dialup and work to be getting on with i dont have the time or resources to do the research myself.

So i was wondering if you could:

1. find a BB ISP that supports the use of windows 98 first edition

2. find a way/prove i could use BT BB servive given that they say they dont support 98 FE but all my techy mates say it shouldnt matter

Cheers

Tub ;P
= UKCS Old Time Patron =
Image
the_tub
Experienced Member
 
Player: the_tub
STEAM_0:1:3308393
 
Posts: 1243
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Postby ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™ on Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:06 am

im with demon

www.demon.net they are a wicked set of techies and customer service is second to none

they are slightly more expensive than bt but you wont get skanked

the only reason bt say they wont support windows 98 is because of the usb modems they dish out
windows 98 IS not usb 2 and the modems are but if you have a network card and an adsl router (bout 60 squid) you will be fine . you will get that response about win 98 from most isp's simply cos they offer free usb modems and 98 is no longer a supported os

hope that helps
go demon!!!! i luv em
ImageImage
User avatar
ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™
Old Timer
 
Player: Rastaman-FB
STEAM_0:1:2712314
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: South Kirkby,West Yorkshire

Postby the_tub on Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:56 am

ah so that confirms my issues over the OS.

if i get a cheap network card and install it will i be able to then use my 98 machine by using a cat45 connection instead of the USB

does demon support 98?

is getting a network card my only solution? if so whats the cheapest i can get a windows 98 compatable one?
= UKCS Old Time Patron =
Image
the_tub
Experienced Member
 
Player: the_tub
STEAM_0:1:3308393
 
Posts: 1243
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Postby ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™ on Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:35 am

youll have to check
ImageImage
User avatar
ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™
Old Timer
 
Player: Rastaman-FB
STEAM_0:1:2712314
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: South Kirkby,West Yorkshire

Postby Little_Devil on Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:13 am

the_tub wrote:ah so that confirms my issues over the OS.

if i get a cheap network card and install it will i be able to then use my 98 machine by using a cat45 connection instead of the USB

does demon support 98?

is getting a network card my only solution? if so whats the cheapest i can get a windows 98 compatable one?


I pickup up a PCI one for a tenner a long time back, that was for 98. Still got it on this machine and running XP Pro.

:)
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Cass0 on Sun Jul 17, 2005 3:36 pm

Tub my ISP is Telewest broadband, connected all the time, there is no need to connect and is very reliable and fast. And yeah it supports 98 :). The modem uses usb but atm im using a router coz other pc's in the house need internet


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Postby Ace of Spades on Sun Jul 17, 2005 8:42 pm

One company will meet ur needs !!!

www.f2s.com

im with them only ever had downtime 1nce and that was BT's fault i love em !
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby the_tub on Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:29 pm

Cheers guys but you seem to have overlooked the issue i am having.

I need a BB isp that will provide me with a service i can run on a windows 98 first edition machine.

I know most modems run on USB, but apparenbtly only with the 2.0 support of 98SE that allows higher bandwidth.

This is all i really need.
= UKCS Old Time Patron =
Image
the_tub
Experienced Member
 
Player: the_tub
STEAM_0:1:3308393
 
Posts: 1243
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Postby Cass0 on Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:31 pm

i think telewest will work on the pc u have, check it out here at www.blueyonder.co.uk


User avatar
Cass0
Old Timer
 
Player: Cass0
STEAM_0:0:296845
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: Liverpool



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:56 am

If you tell the ISP you want to use a lan connector they will supply the modem for it.

My Modem has both USB and LAN connections on it.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Ace of Spades on Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:22 pm

Well i can run tintenet on my Win 98 SE machine
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Jul 18, 2005 3:44 pm

Ace of Spades wrote:Well i can run tintenet on my Win 98 SE machine

n00b tubs said his is FE.

SE has interface for USB 2 FE doesn't.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests