Motherboard/processor/ram help

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Motherboard/processor/ram help

Postby WaitNBleeD on Sun Jul 24, 2005 7:49 pm

Ok, I got me a little problem thats racking my brain like f00k !!.

I'm currently looking to upgrade my pc ever so slightly.

I currently have:

AMD ATHLON-64 FX-53 processor. (On the verge of extinction)
ASUS SK8V skt 940 Motherboard.
1GB Corsair XMS ram EDD Registered. (unfortunately)
XFX GEFORCE 6800 ULTRA 256Mb Graphics.

Now I'm more than happy (for the time being) with my graphics card, but i'm growing a little concerned about my processor and motherboard.

I really really really don't want to splash out on a new processor just yet, as the one I have now is more than adequate for what I require, even though it's gonna be obsolete in a few more months. My main concern is my motheroard !!.

I believe that my motherboard has fallen foul of the "discontinued line" bug, therefore leaving me up shit creek regarding updating drivers etc. The other thing that concerns me is whether or not I can purchase a socket 939 motherboard that will be compatible with my 940 processor.

The last thing is that even if it is possible for me to stick my processor into a 939 mobo, it means that the 1Gb of ram I have will be useless what with it being ECC Registered (in other words it had to be ECC registered at the time to work in a 940 mobo, thus meaning it won't work at all sat in a 939 board now :? ).

What options do I have tbh ???? I need help cos it's my birtday in a couple of weeks so I need to know my options so I can get out there and get the parts as soon as the time comes.

Any help is much appreciated, thanks. Also if any other info is required from me to help you, then just let me know :D .
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby gandy on Sun Jul 24, 2005 8:26 pm

http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=309471&cks=PLS
they still sale socket 940 motherboards plus u could look on ebay for a new mobo
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby LuckyNV on Sun Jul 24, 2005 8:43 pm

Phear, you need an AGP board don't you? :?
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: Motherboard/processor/ram help

Postby Little_Devil on Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:36 pm

WaitNBleeD wrote:Ok, I got me a little problem thats racking my brain like f00k !!.
.


*Shakes tin of dried peas for effect* :lol:

Not looked at this properly, but try it http://www.amdboard.com/opteron_boards.html
and
http://listings.ebay.co.uk/For-AMD_Sock ... ngItemList
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™ on Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:08 pm

i dont think youll get a 940 chip to fit in a 939 as pins are slightly different

also ecc ram is compatible with most 939 boards but unless you change CPU you aint getting 1 anyway

GL m8
ImageImage
User avatar
ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™
Old Timer
 
Player: Rastaman-FB
STEAM_0:1:2712314
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: South Kirkby,West Yorkshire

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:12 pm

ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™ wrote:i dont think youll get a 940 chip to fit in a 939 as pins are slightly different

also ecc ram is compatible with most 939 boards but unless you change CPU you aint getting 1 anyway

GL m8


hehe *snips a pin off* not any more.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby WaitNBleeD on Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:53 pm

Hmmm, it would appear that my options are very limited.

It's a case of not being able to upgrade something without upgrading the whole lot !!.

Currently looking at a new skt 939 mobo and new processor to go with it, then there's the graphics card and ram :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: . This is turning out to be an expensive upgrade !!.

Anyone interested in buying an asus SK8V skt 940 mobo, an FX-53 processor, 1gb of ram (ECC Registered) and an XFX Geforce 6800 Ultra 256Mb card ???? :lol: :cry: :lol: :cry: :lol: :cry: .

Any tips on which mobo/processor etc to get (gotta be futureproof, although sayin that I only got all the above listed parts just over 12 months ago, so much for futureproofing then. :roll: ).

Spotted this but I dunno if it's any good, I know the g/card aint up to that much but it's a start:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductI ... tID=211222
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby TuPac on Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:59 pm

Not in stock..................
Image
User avatar
TuPac
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: MisterOCD
STEAM_0:0:33510428
 
Posts: 5620
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 12:32 am
Location: England

Postby WaitNBleeD on Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:07 pm

Yer I know that :roll: :lol: , but I meant the bundle in general ?? is it worth gettin ??
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby La Chavvy on Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:12 pm

240 pounds isnt a bad price.

But personally, I dont think a 128mb 6600GT will be sufficent.

Then again, I may be wrong. Personally, I would rather have the 6800 ultra you have and use it in a Socket 939 motherboard which takes AGP.

For example, I use a Asus A8V Deluxe, with a AMD 64 3700+, Leadtek 6800 GT. And it runs fine. I dont see why you require a PCI-E graphics card, which is only going to down grade your graphics.

If this is meant to be an UPgrade, I would get a skt 939 AGP motherboard, though AGP Graphics cards are becoming less and less, it will be far better than a mere 6600 GT with half the memory! And in the future, should you wish to upgrade in the future, all you have to do is get the graphics card you want and a mobo. Which will be cheaper, I reckon.

Though its your choice, I hope you chose the right one ;)

Chavs


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby Little_Devil on Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:37 am

Try this mobo Chaintech VNF4 Ultra ZENITH VE Nvidia 4 chipset at under £80 is a good buy.
http://www.chaintechusa.com/tw/eng/prod ... &PISNo=318

I allways get these mobo's because they have all the facilities of the more well known boards and allways have good ratings and they are a reasonable price too. Same company makes video cards too.

£233.83 for mobo and 6600 seams a little overpriced to me.

The Chaintech version with 256Mb goes for around $119 about £70

So for mobo and 6600 would be about £150

Could try this one if you had the cash around £369
AE78GTX
NVIDIA® GeForce™ 7800GTX, 256MB DDR3 SDRAM :lol:

http://www.pcstats.com/releaseview.cfm?releaseID=1270
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Death on Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:08 pm

Phear dude.

Get 939 motherboard (Abit AN8 SLi nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-073-AB)

for £100 top quality motherboard with sli etc.

link: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/ ... t_939.html

(2nd 1 down)

now AMD proccesor i would recommend

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm

around £190 i think so its great set up but dunno if £290 is to much. I think your ram and g-card will still be fine for now. If need cheap card go here. awesome bargains.

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/ ... _SALE.html

so could get top range mother board and 6800gt 256mb @ £250 which is good deal but no processor there.
Mr. T and Chuck Norris once encountered each other on a lonesome British path. Before the inevitable battle could begin, the earth shit itself and created Scotland.


Image
User avatar
Death
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: bo$$m4n
STEAM_0:1:2896568
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:49 am
Location: Durham, UK

Postby WaitNBleeD on Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:00 pm

Thanks guys, but i'm still screwed with a number of factors really.

If I get a 939 pci-e mobo (which I DO need), it makes my processor (skt 940) and graphics card (AGP) obsolete, also the ram WON'T work cos of the ECC registration rubbish :evil:

Tbh, i'm going to spend an obscene amount on it, I always have and always will :roll: .

Current spec i'm looking at is:

Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLi, ATX, DDDR400, PCI-E, Gbit Lan, USB 2.0, 1394, AC'97 Audio, 8 x SATA, Raid £112.99.

1Gb Corsair, DDR400/PC3200, 128Mx64, non-ECC, 184 DIMM, unbuffered, 3-3-3-8, Silver H/S, L/T Wty £92.24.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ S939 1MB (2.4) Retail inc Heat Sink Fan & 3 Years Warranty £719.66.

256MB XFX *Extream Edition* PCI-E GF7800GTX Gamers Edition *Extreme High Speed Overclock 490/1300* £446.49.

Silly spec I know, but thats how I am, I like to try and have the best of everything if possible :roll: .

I'm after something fast and futureproof. I know the processor aint the fastest (2.4 compared to the FX-57's 2.8 ghz), but with dual processor power, it's certainly gonna be fast anyway. Plus the FX-57 is apparently the last of the single core processors from AMD, so everythings gonna be goin "Dual" in a few years time :roll: . I don't wanna fall into that trap again and have to upgrade in another 12 months !!, although thats how the world of pc's works nowadays :( .

If I could, i'd only swap my motherboard and processor, cos my graphics card is still the dogs bollocks, but like I said, I can't really upgrade much without upgrading a lot of other stuff as well.

My partner told me not to cut corners and go for the cheaper options as well, so thats partly why i'm going out all guns blazing and paying through the nose :roll: . But hey, i'm suited I got me a woman like that :D .
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby Death on Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:08 pm

WaitNBleeD wrote:
Current spec i'm looking at is:

Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLi, ATX, DDDR400, PCI-E, Gbit Lan, USB 2.0, 1394, AC'97 Audio, 8 x SATA, Raid £112.99.

1Gb Corsair, DDR400/PC3200, 128Mx64, non-ECC, 184 DIMM, unbuffered, 3-3-3-8, Silver H/S, L/T Wty £92.24.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ S939 1MB (2.4) Retail inc Heat Sink Fan & 3 Years Warranty £719.66.

256MB XFX *Extream Edition* PCI-E GF7800GTX Gamers Edition *Extreme High Speed Overclock 490/1300* £446.49.
.


i would frame that computer and wouldnt turn on becuase it would be so beautiful just staring at the Beast.
Mr. T and Chuck Norris once encountered each other on a lonesome British path. Before the inevitable battle could begin, the earth shit itself and created Scotland.


Image
User avatar
Death
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: bo$$m4n
STEAM_0:1:2896568
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 11:49 am
Location: Durham, UK

Postby ˜-Krom-˜ on Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:43 pm

christ man, leave your pc alone!!!!!!!!
i'm still running a p4 3ghz w/ 1024mb pc3200 ram(god knows what) with a god damn ati 9600xt(overclocked) now i could upgrade, but I WON'T because i don't want to waste the cash, now i don't know what you do, but wow man if you've got the cash to upgrade like that, send some my way :D :D
That's the most amazing comp i've probably ever seen(even your current set up)
Image
I am 52% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
˜-Krom-˜
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Krom
STEAM_0:0:7659829
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:55 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Postby WaitNBleeD on Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:05 pm

He he, cheers guys.

I don't do things by halves in my house :wink: .

I don't know for definate if thats what i'm gonna go for, but at the moment thats what sat in my shopping basket.

I opted for a lower cpu and g/card initially, but my missus was having none of it. She said to upgrade it proper or not at all.

If thats an order/offer from her then i'm afraid i'll have to take her up on it :lol: .

I'll see what she says when she gets home from work tonight, she's apparently ringing scan to confirm that what i've chosen is good :lol: , women don't have a clue :lol: .
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby ˜-Krom-˜ on Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:09 pm

You go boy :lol:
Image
I am 52% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
˜-Krom-˜
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Krom
STEAM_0:0:7659829
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:55 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Postby Little_Devil on Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:18 pm

*Shakes tin of dried peas for effect again*

Yep screw loose for definite.

Soo see if I have this right, you go out and buy the most expensive products that you can. Suppose thats like goin out and buying the latest Nike trainers cause you scuffed the old ones.

What is wrong with you ? I don't understand. Get a replacement mobo and wait for 12 Months then buy the bees wat nots, jeez you have a system there that will serve your needs for another year and is far better than a lot of other peoples.

There is a lot of new technology coming out in the next year and I can only imagine how much you will kick yourself for buying on impulse now.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby WaitNBleeD on Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:45 pm

Yer but I can afford gear like that, so the real question is.......................................why not ??.

I know ppl think i'm mad for doing a full upgrade everytime I want summat new, but money really isn't that much of a factor for me.

And yer, I hate scuffed trainers, they look naff :P .
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby Staceman on Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:22 am

WaitNBleeD wrote: but money really isn't that much of a factor for me.


In that case ill give ya a tenner for your old pc then :P
Image
User avatar
Staceman
Home Member
 
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:57 pm
Location: Devon

Next

Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest