Question about RAM

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Question about RAM

Postby Dr Feelgood on Wed Jul 27, 2005 4:51 pm

I'm currently building a PC for the first time and I noticed that alot of you who have posted your spec's for your own PC's have 1GB ram but in 2 blocks of 512mb.

I was wondering if it's better to have RAM in 2 seperate sticks or in 1. I was considering using 2GB in my new PC. Is it just a matter of price or is there some technical reason for spliting RAM over 2 sticks.


Dr Feelgood
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Dr Feelgood
STEAM_0:0:12324178
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:28 pm
Location: Uranus (hehe..get it..Ur anus...Your Anus...Oh why do I even bother)

Postby Ace of Spades on Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:06 pm

DUAL CHANNEL

thats the reason people prefer 2 sticks, plus the timings are lower on 512mb sticks than 1gb giving better overlcoking potential.

Hope that helped ya
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby LuckyNV on Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:50 pm

depends what system you are running

P4C and E (Northwood and Prescott), A64 (Socket 939/FX, no idea on S940) can run memory in dual channel, in either 2 or 4 module configurations.

Highly recommended you run dual channel mode if running any of the above CPUs.

Now...

Larger modules (1GB or more) currently have poorer timings and are usually more expensive compared to smaller modules. 512MB/256MB can be had very cheaply these days with nice timings.

Advantage with larger modules, you can fit more RAM in total, and with A64 dual channel mode, running just 2 sticks guarantees 1T command rate.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby Ace of Spades on Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:00 pm

basscially wat i sed but more complicated Luky NV :P
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm

Postby Little_Devil on Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:59 pm

LuckyNV wrote: 512MB/256MB can be had very cheaply these days with nice timings.
.


Just Price really, larger single stick modules can be bought, but you do pay a premium.

Also people tend to forget that with 2 sticks, there is a board latency price to pay. Any electrical circuit carrying a clock through a connector, no matter how good that connector is, will pay a small price for that connection in terms of latency.
For those that can understand: each pin connector has an inductance, resistance and capacitance, which basically creates a filter. Each pin can vary slightly as to the responce of this filter, so at high frequencies this can have a detrimental effect on the signal.

However for your basic build, do as Lucky sugests.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby TC on Thu Jul 28, 2005 7:46 am

Smaller sticks run with less heat as the load is spread across more units. Better for overclocking. And DDR.

DO check your m/b manual to see what memory configurations DDR is supported on your m/b. Some only work at 333Mhz with 4 sticks, but 400Mhz with 2.


User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby LuckyNV on Thu Jul 28, 2005 11:33 am

TC wrote:Smaller sticks run with less heat as the load is spread across more units. Better for overclocking. And DDR.

DO check your m/b manual to see what memory configurations DDR is supported on your m/b. Some only work at 333Mhz with 4 sticks, but 400Mhz with 2.


this applies to A64 CPUs too since the memory controller is integrated into the CPU core.

for S939, newcastle/winchester cores will default to 166MHz (333MHz DDR) 2T using 4 double bank modules. (possible in some cases to run 200MHz though)

San Diego and Venice cores can run memory at 200MHz 2T with 4 double bank modules and 1T with 4 single bank modules.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests