running at AGP 4x?

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

running at AGP 4x?

Postby FCUK! on Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:14 pm

Image

:roll: :roll:
player name: Whitepanda

Image
FCUK!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: MrCookie
STEAM_0:0:3506920
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:56 pm

Postby La Chavvy on Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:54 pm

Give us your entire PC spec m8.

That way we can see what your problem is.

Though AGP 4x and 8x have marginal difference, as I have been told.


User avatar
La Chavvy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: La Chavvy
STEAM_0:1:1281267
 
Posts: 5948
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 10:49 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby LuckyNV on Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:54 pm

nothing wrong with it really, difference between 4x and 8x is non existant.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Postby MrBios on Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:55 pm

i presume your card is an 8x one and your wondering why its in 4x then? (helps when you post a little more than just a screenie btw)

you can change it in the bios, need to know what motherboard to know my way around what bios it is though

and like lucky said, theres no differance between 4 and 8
ExDeMent | MrBios - AKA MrFluffy
Image
ty for the sig sats ^_^
User avatar
MrBios
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:23 am
Location: Gloucester

Postby FCUK! on Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:43 pm

< Processor >
Model: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+
Speed: 2.21GHz
Model Number: 3500 (estimated)
Performance Rating: PR3317 (estimated)
Cores per Processor: 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core: 1 Unit(s)
Internal Data Cache: 64kB Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64
byte line size
L2 On-board Cache: 512kB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set,
64 byte line size

< Mainboard >
Bus(es): ISA AGP PCI USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
MP Support: 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC: No
System BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG
Mainboard: MS-7025
Total Memory: 1GB DDR-SDRAM

< Chipset 1 >
Model: Micro-Star International Co Ltd (MSI) nforce3
CPU to PCI Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 1005MHz (2010MHz data rate)

< Chipset 2 >
Model: Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 /
Opteron HyperTransport Technology
Configuration
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 1005MHz (2010MHz data rate)
Total Memory: 1GB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed: 2x 201MHz (402MHz data rate)

< Video System >
Monitor/Panel: Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5950 Ultra (DNA-Force
1.8.8040 Counter-Strike)

< Physical Storage Devices >
Removable Drive: Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk: Maxtor 6B200M0 (190GB)
CD-ROM/DVD: _NEC DVD_RW ND-3520A (CD 48X Rd, 48X Wr) (DVD
6X Rd, 6X Wr)
CD-ROM/DVD: AXV CD/DVD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device (CD 32X Rd)
(DVD 4X Rd)
CD-ROM/DVD: Generic DVD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device (CD 32X Rd)
(DVD 4X Rd)

< Logical Storage Devices >
1.44MB 3.5" (A:): N/A
Hard Disk (C:): 98GB (56GB, 58% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (D:): N/A
CD-ROM/DVD (E:): N/A
Hard Disk (F:): 78GB (63GB, 81% Free Space) (NTFS)
Bf2 dvd (G:): 1.9GB (UDF)

< Peripherals >
Serial/Parallel Port(s): 1 COM / 1 LPT
USB Controller/Hub: Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub: Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub: Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub: USB Root Hub
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub: VIA OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Keyboard: Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/
2 Keyboard
Mouse: HID-compliant MX510 Optical Mouse
Human Interface: HID-compliant device
Human Interface: Logitech USB MX510 Optical Mouse
Human Interface: USB Human Interface Device

< MultiMedia Device(s) >
Device: Realtek AC'97 Audio

< Printers and Faxes >
Model: Samsung ML-1200 Series
Model: Microsoft Office Document Image Writer

< Power Management >
AC Line Status: On-Line

< Operating System(s) >
Windows System: Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional (Win32
x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

< Network Services >
Adapter: Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit Ethernet
NIC

< Performance Tips >
Warning 100: Large memory sizes should be made of
Registered/Buffered memory.
Tip 2546: Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Tip 2: Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip
is selected for more information about the
tip.

<<< Mainboard Information >>>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

< Mainboard >
Manufacturer: Micro-Star
MP Support: 1 Processor(s)
MPS Version: 1.40
Model: MS-7025
System BIOS: 04/12/2005-MS-7025-6A61CM4DC-00
Chipset: nVidia nForce3 ICP

< System Memory Controller >
Location: Mainboard
Error Correction Capability: None
Number of Memory Slots: 4
Maximum Installable Memory: 16GB
Bank0/1 - A0: DIMM 4GB/64
Bank2/3 - A1: DIMM 4GB/64
Bank4/5 - A2: Empty
Bank6/7 - A3: Empty

< Chipset 1 >
Model: Micro-Star International Co Ltd (MSI) nforce3
CPU to PCI Bridge
Bus(es): ISA AGP PCI USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Version: 1.03
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 1005MHz (2010MHz data rate)
In/Out Width: 16-bit / 16-bit

< Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks >
Power Save Mode: No
Fixed Hole Present: No

< Chipset 2 >
Model: Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 /
Opteron HyperTransport Technology
Configuration
Bus(es): ISA AGP PCI USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Version: 1.02
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 1005MHz (2010MHz data rate)
Maximum FSB Speed / Max Memory:2x 1000MHz / 2x 200MHz
In/Out Width: 16-bit / 16-bit
IO Queue Depth: 8 request(s)

< Chipset 2 Hub Interface >
Type: HyperTransport
Version: 1.02
In/Out Width: 16-bit / 16-bit
Speed: 2x 1005MHz (2010MHz data rate)

< Logical/Chipset 2 Memory Banks >
Bank 0: 1GB DDR-SDRAM 3.0-3-3-8 2CMD
Channels: 1
Speed: 2x 201MHz (402MHz data rate)
Multiplier: 1/11x
Width: 128-bit
Refresh Rate: 5.00µs
Power Save Mode: No
Fixed Hole Present: No

< Memory Module 1 >
Manufacturer: Kingston
Model: K
Serial Number: 642A06ED
Type: 512MB DDR-SDRAM
Technology: 8x(64Mx8)
Speed: PC3200U 3.0-3-3-8
Version: 1.0
Date of Manufacture: 18 March 2000
Set Timing @ 200MHz: 3.0-3-3-8
Set Timing @ 167MHz: 2.5-3-3-7
Set Timing @ 133MHz: 2.0-2-2-5

< Memory Module 2 >
Manufacturer: Kingston
Model: K
Serial Number: 652A14ED
Type: 512MB DDR-SDRAM
Technology: 8x(64Mx8)
Speed: PC3200U 3.0-3-3-8
Version: 1.0
Date of Manufacture: 18 March 2000
Set Timing @ 200MHz: 3.0-3-3-8
Set Timing @ 167MHz: 2.5-3-3-7
Set Timing @ 133MHz: 2.0-2-2-5

< Environment Monitor 1 >
Model: Winbond W83627(T)HF ISA
Version: 9.00
Mainboard Specific Support: No

< Temperature Sensor(s) >
Board Temperature: 10.0°C / 50.0°F
CPU Temperature: 44.0°C / 111.2°F td
Power / Aux Temperature: 33.5°C / 92.3°F

< Cooling Device(s) >
Auto Fan Speed Control: No
Chassis Fan Speed: 2961rpm
CPU Fan Speed: 1442rpm

< Voltage Sensor(s) >
CPU Voltage: 2.37V
Aux Voltage: 3.25V
+3.3V Voltage: 3.09V
+5V Voltage: 4.92V
+12V Voltage: 2.43V
-12V Voltage: -5.37V
-5V Voltage: -6.46V
Standby Voltage: 4.46V
Battery Voltage: 2.62V

< AGP Bus(es) on Hub 1 >
Version: 3.00
Speed: 4x
Maximum Data Transfer Rate: 8x
Fast-Writes Enabled: No
Fast-Writes Support: Yes
Isochronous Mode Enabled: No
Addressing Enabled: 32-bit
player name: Whitepanda

Image
FCUK!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: MrCookie
STEAM_0:0:3506920
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:56 pm

Postby FCUK! on Wed Jul 27, 2005 10:48 pm

Image
player name: Whitepanda

Image
FCUK!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: MrCookie
STEAM_0:0:3506920
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:56 pm

Postby TC on Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:25 pm

Only later motherboards support 8x.

Unless your are running things at 1600 x 1200 with super high textures and small on board graphics memory so you have to keep getting things from main memory, you wouldn't notice ZIP anyhow.


User avatar
TC
UKCS President
 
Player: TC
STEAM_0:0:3198285
 
Posts: 18602
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: London



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:46 pm

Silly question really, but have you actually enabled 8x in your bios, and not left it to the auto. Oh and while your in bios make sure the aperature size is not set too high 64M is high enough. Too high and the cpu load goes up and gfx get worse.
Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests