Video options wont save ......

Discussions about all aspects of technology, what you're doing with it and exchange of ideas and solutions to problems you might be having.

Video options wont save ......

Postby Poised on Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:07 pm

......when I log off after a game, everytime I run CS, I need to adjust brightness, I used to also adjust the other settings, but that got really tedious, anyone have a clue why my settings wont save ?
Image
I judge a man by the urges he can resist.
User avatar
Poised
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: [UL] Ardbug
STEAM_0:0:5244521
 
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Copenhagen.

Postby ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™ on Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:17 pm

does the resolution change aswell if you set it to something else?

just to give me an idea of what it is
ImageImage
User avatar
ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™
Old Timer
 
Player: Rastaman-FB
STEAM_0:1:2712314
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: South Kirkby,West Yorkshire

Re: Video options wont save ......

Postby Little_Devil on Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:20 pm

Poised wrote:......when I log off after a game, everytime I run CS, I need to adjust brightness, I used to also adjust the other settings, but that got really tedious, anyone have a clue why my settings wont save ?


Have you aplied the config settings that TC suggested?

If so do as FB has stated before and take out the -dx81 on your startup.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Poised on Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:34 pm

I tried changing back to -dxlevel 9, but that didnt work, and yes the screen resolution changes back to 1024 x 768 everytime I restart game, every video option reverts to defaults after I log out of the game, shadows, textures, everything under the video tab.
Image
I judge a man by the urges he can resist.
User avatar
Poised
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: [UL] Ardbug
STEAM_0:0:5244521
 
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Copenhagen.

Postby rufus on Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:39 pm

i think i have the same thing, i used to have the problem but i just cope with it now cause i coudlnt fix it :) the only noticable one that keeps resetting on me is my cl_crosshairalpha keeps goin back to what im guessin is defualt, 1200
Image
Image
User avatar
rufus
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Rufus
STEAM_0:1:6222104
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:32 am
Location: Sheffield

Postby I Got Germs on Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:46 pm

I had this problem too....any changes made in options, console or configs wouldn't save/work.

Basically rename any existing config & userconfig files you use, start CSS and it'll create a new fresh one with default options & settings.

Any options/console changes will then be saved and you can copy any entries from yoru renamed configs into the new ones and they'll now work.

:D
Image
User avatar
I Got Germs
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: I Got Germs
STEAM_0:0:334655
 
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 9:29 am
Location: Derby

Postby ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™ on Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:55 am

once youve keyed in -dx level once then remove it so there is nothing in the shortcut or advanced options in launch

it only need to be applied once

if it is still present then it will reset every time you enter CSS
ImageImage
User avatar
ƒookin ßomboclaat!!™
Old Timer
 
Player: Rastaman-FB
STEAM_0:1:2712314
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: South Kirkby,West Yorkshire

Postby Poised on Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:45 pm

Mr Bombo that actually did it, thank you ever so much :D :D :D
Image
I judge a man by the urges he can resist.
User avatar
Poised
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: [UL] Ardbug
STEAM_0:0:5244521
 
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Copenhagen.


Return to PC World, Technology and Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest