Page 1 of 1

CSS resolutions keep reseting.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:24 pm
by Disturbed1
Ok so having just got a new lcd 22" monitor im running CSS in 1280*800.

But after i say restart steam up or my computer the next day to play again the game has reverted back to normal 4:3 apsect ration at a lower resolution.

My question is why is this happening?can i delete a file which will get rid of the graphics settings and i can run the game to make a new file which hopefully keeps this widescreen resolution?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:34 pm
by Flawless
I take it you're running Dx8? and you should be able to just set it though your config so it loads it everytime or a command line.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:21 pm
by Disturbed1
Ah yes the .exe is running in directx 81,ill revert it back to the normal exe and see if it saves it.

Damn i aint got a copy of it,what is the orginal command line,dso i just take off the -dxlevel 81 part?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:11 pm
by - N e O -
To get it back you need to add -dxlevel 9 to the launch options, removing dxlevel 81 on its own wont change anything :wink:

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:58 pm
by Cloth
Just remove the -dxlevel 81 from the launch options and then adjust your settings they should then save and not reset 8)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:15 pm
by Cobra
I add this in the launch options for my CSS

-dxlevel 81 -width 1280 -height 1024

That way it keeps the resolution the same. Not sure about aspect ratio...

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:59 am
by Rieda
Cobra wrote:I add this in the launch options for my CSS

-dxlevel 81 -width 1280 -height 1024

That way it keeps the resolution the same. Not sure about aspect ratio...


he wanted 1280x800 :wink:

type in the following

Code: Select all
-dxlevel 81 -width 1280 -height 800

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 7:06 am
by Cobra
Rieda wrote:
Cobra wrote:I add this in the launch options for my CSS

-dxlevel 81 -width 1280 -height 1024

That way it keeps the resolution the same. Not sure about aspect ratio...


he wanted 1280x800 :wink:

type in the following

Code: Select all
-dxlevel 81 -width 1280 -height 800


I was going by the thought that he might be able to change the numbers himself :P.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:41 pm
by Disturbed1
Ok it seems to work, keeps the aspect ratio also, thnx u all :D

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:21 pm
by Disturbed1
nvm restarted comp,running now.