Bioshock demo issues

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

Bioshock demo issues

Postby Lord Talan on Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:13 am

Hi

I have just downloaded the Bioshock demo over steam, and then read I need the VERY latest gfx drivers for it, so downloaded them as well from Nvidia webby, dated 20/08/07 (two days ago, so they are the ones I need)

But, I can't get the game to run at all, it just hangs after turning the screen black a few times. Anyone else having this problem with this demo? If so, did you manage to get it working?

I won't go into details of my PC specs, suffice to say it can handle it and I am running 32bit Vista. And with the lastest gfx drivers I can't see what's missing.

Just curious if anyone has tried the demo and having the same problems.

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image

Postby batman on Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:48 am

rofl i cant get pass second loading screen lol
Image
thnx 4 sig fooligan =D
It was my birthday the otherday and the young fit lesbien couple across the road brought me a rolex ... i think they misunderstud when i said "i wanna watch" :)
batman
Home Member
 
Player: smash
STEAM_0:1:13487078
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:27 am
Location: mansfield

Postby Lord Talan on Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 am

Hi batman (where's robin?)

at least you seem to get somewhere, I get nowhere.

Anyone else having probs?

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image

Postby batman on Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:15 am

well ye i dont even move hardley
Image
thnx 4 sig fooligan =D
It was my birthday the otherday and the young fit lesbien couple across the road brought me a rolex ... i think they misunderstud when i said "i wanna watch" :)
batman
Home Member
 
Player: smash
STEAM_0:1:13487078
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:27 am
Location: mansfield

Postby Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter on Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:53 am

Shame, im on XP and i finished the demo. To be honest, the UT3 engine is all over crysis. The game is fantastic in every way, flawless (even if it was at about 5fps on high :))
Image Image Imma rockin dat shit
User avatar
Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: DatBoiWeed69
STEAM_0:0:12077653
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Lochgilphead, Scotland

Postby MadV on Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:40 pm

i been playing as well with no probs at all it looks brilliant i will be getting it as soon as its released :wink:


User avatar
MadV
Regular Member
 
Player: MadV
STEAM_0:1:5037060
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 7:53 pm
Location: Inspire

Postby Lord Talan on Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:00 pm

Hi

I got the demo working fine (finally)!!!

Not only do you need the very latest gfx drivers....

but also the latest DX drivers (the August ones on the microsoft website), which is only something I found out by googling a solution to my probs.

The demo then played fine at 1440*900 (widescreen) with no probs at all!! Looks a great game.

Cheers

LT
Early retired UKCS Full TF2 Admin Image I don't die. I just respawn
User avatar
Lord Talan
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Lord Talan
STEAM_0:1:7454406
 
Posts: 1166
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Ashford, Kent



Image


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests