Crashes in HL2:EP2

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

Crashes in HL2:EP2

Postby Dr Caligineus on Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:11 pm

Okay, I've been playing HL2:EP2 and it's been fine, settings turned up, no problems.

However, almost as soon as I've got to White Forest, the damn thing keeps crashing. I can't play for more than a few seconds before it does. I'd quote what the error dialogue says but most of the time it's invisible and I can't remember what it said last time I could see it.

Most infuriating as it's now completely unplayable. Has anyone else experienced this and does anyone know wtf is going on?

Cal
:evil:
Image
User avatar
Dr Caligineus
Experienced Member
 
Player: Dr Caligineus
STEAM_0:0:6046962
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby DeanX on Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:28 pm

my friend gets a similar thing on EP1, he gets to a certain bit and it just crashes, he plays on a laptop and i think its just overheating causing ep1 to crash
*UKCS Old School*
DeanX
UKCS Admin
 
Player: DeanX
STEAM_0:0:4858412
 
Posts: 9864
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:17 am
Location: Manchester

Postby The_Pope on Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:54 pm

Do you get a rash where the sound loops or does it just crash completely to desktop?
Image
Image
User avatar
The_Pope
UKCS Life Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: The Pope @ i49
STEAM_0:0:2895797
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Under your bed with loving intentions



Image

Postby Dr Caligineus on Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:12 pm

The sound loops for a second or two then stops altogether. The picture freezes and a dialogue with an okay button pops up (sometimes in front, sometimes behind where I can't see it). So I just press spacebar (since the okay button is in focus), then it CTD's.

It's definitely not an overheating problem.
Image
User avatar
Dr Caligineus
Experienced Member
 
Player: Dr Caligineus
STEAM_0:0:6046962
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby DeanX on Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:13 pm

try veryifying the ep2 files etc maybe a corrupt file
*UKCS Old School*
DeanX
UKCS Admin
 
Player: DeanX
STEAM_0:0:4858412
 
Posts: 9864
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:17 am
Location: Manchester

Postby Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter on Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:15 pm

Unless your PC is comfortably able to run at the settings you have it will crash.

I found that with EP1.

Now i can run full AA full AF tho :)
Image Image Imma rockin dat shit
User avatar
Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: DatBoiWeed69
STEAM_0:0:12077653
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Lochgilphead, Scotland

Postby The_Pope on Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:22 pm

In the options turn the sound quality to low, see if that helps
Image
Image
User avatar
The_Pope
UKCS Life Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: The Pope @ i49
STEAM_0:0:2895797
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Under your bed with loving intentions



Image

Postby Dr Caligineus on Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:07 pm

I tried turning my graphics settings down and turning the sound quality to low, but it made no difference.

If it were a performance problem, I would've been getting these crashes long before now, and I would've been getting them in other games as well.

Verifying the game files (and also defragmenting them) hasn't done anything either.

Finally managed to have a crash where the error message was visible:
Image

Cheers for now, guys.

:cry:
Image
User avatar
Dr Caligineus
Experienced Member
 
Player: Dr Caligineus
STEAM_0:0:6046962
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby gandy on Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:30 am

what drivers are you using for your gfx card, if it nvidia then you need to use the beta drivers as that fixes some issues with TF2 and EP:2
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby The_Pope on Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:05 am

Try running the steam crash test:

steam://support/?Issues=Crash*

Although it could be a driver error, I use some fairly old drivers for both my graphics and audio and I ran ep2 without any problems. Verifying your cache would be a good idea as earlier suggested.
Image
Image
User avatar
The_Pope
UKCS Life Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: The Pope @ i49
STEAM_0:0:2895797
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Under your bed with loving intentions



Image

Postby Dr Caligineus on Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:15 pm

Just before I went to bed last night, I checked ATI's (I have a Radeon X800XT PE) and found that the latest drivers are v7.11. I'm using 7.7, so I'll run the update in a bit and let you know.

I tried that Steam crash test thingy (didn't know about that) and everything passed except it was bitching about the firewall. Pretty convinced that's got nothing to do with it.
Image
User avatar
Dr Caligineus
Experienced Member
 
Player: Dr Caligineus
STEAM_0:0:6046962
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Im over here! on Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:21 pm

My dad had this very problem.

I suggested deleting his hl2ep:2 folder in his steam folder.

Then re-installed and now works just fine. :D
Nick
"We can't stop here! This is UKCS!!!"
User avatar
Im over here!
Senior Member
 
Player: Binary Sunset
STEAM_0:1:6263112
 
Posts: 2252
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:01 pm
Location: UKCS TF2 Server 2. Its where the cool people chill.

Postby Dr Caligineus on Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:30 pm

I completely forgot to post back here regarding my previous post.

I updated the graphics drivers and it was fine after that. Strange that it suddenly went funny half way through the game.

Anyway, I finished the game and it was great :D .
Image
User avatar
Dr Caligineus
Experienced Member
 
Player: Dr Caligineus
STEAM_0:0:6046962
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:38 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Nelsaidi on Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:11 am

Yay :)

Im going to replay the hl series as i cant remember a thing from it, when BMS comes out, so its gonna be :

BMS/HL1
HL2
HL2:EP1
HL2:EP2
Portal xD
User avatar
Nelsaidi
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: batman
STEAM_0:1:11977681
 
Posts: 8066
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby DeanX on Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:09 pm

bms?
*UKCS Old School*
DeanX
UKCS Admin
 
Player: DeanX
STEAM_0:0:4858412
 
Posts: 9864
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:17 am
Location: Manchester

Postby Flawless on Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:11 pm

Image
F is for Flawesome
User avatar
Flawless
UKCS Life Sponsor
Moderator
 
Player: FLawless
STEAM_0:1:6217222
 
Posts: 9602
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Norn Iron



Image

Postby Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter on Mon Dec 17, 2007 4:10 pm

Flawless101 wrote:Black mesa source

http://www.blackmesasource.com/


Yes, made of pure awesome.
Image Image Imma rockin dat shit
User avatar
Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: DatBoiWeed69
STEAM_0:0:12077653
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Lochgilphead, Scotland


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests