Call of Duty 4 Not Loading!

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

Call of Duty 4 Not Loading!

Postby .Execute on Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:51 am

I've installed PB (no flaming idea what it is), installed the new DirectX...

And its stuck on
Preparing to launch Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

HELP!!!!
Image
BRING BACK BNBN's!
User avatar
.Execute
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Xoup
STEAM_0:1:11194365
 
Posts: 1345
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:16 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, UK

Postby FeRris on Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:58 am

I would suggest reinstalling.

I didn't need to install punkbuster on my game (It's an anticheat thing i think). I just updated to 1.4 patch.
Image
User avatar
FeRris
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Fenris
STEAM_0:1:7651940
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:04 pm
Location: UK

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:32 pm

Depends on which O.S. you have, PB doesn't work on 64 bit systems.

PB will also try to make a connection at game start, so to rule out any problems you may be getting, either uninstall it or disable it.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Flawless on Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:45 pm

You don't need PB to work for singelplayer, only multiplayer with PB on their server.

Also I'm on Vista 64bit and PB works without a hitch.
Image
F is for Flawesome
User avatar
Flawless
UKCS Life Sponsor
Moderator
 
Player: FLawless
STEAM_0:1:6217222
 
Posts: 9602
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Norn Iron



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:10 pm

How strange, I have XP64 and PB will not work, and gives a message saying it is not compatible with 64bit systems, and this is on Crysis, so the game isn't all that old.

Like I said, depends on the O.S. , I would presume Vista runs it at 32 bit.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter on Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:27 pm

Little_Devil wrote:How strange, I have XP64 and PB will not work, and gives a message saying it is not compatible with 64bit systems, and this is on Crysis, so the game isn't all that old.

Like I said, depends on the O.S. , I would presume Vista runs it at 32 bit.


Zune software works on Vista64 but not XP64. I get the feeling MS is ignoring us :(
Image Image Imma rockin dat shit
User avatar
Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: DatBoiWeed69
STEAM_0:0:12077653
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: Lochgilphead, Scotland

Postby Flawless on Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:44 pm

Just a suggestion you have tried updating punkbuster using PBsetup.exe? I had to do this, but other than that Punkbuster works fine
Image
F is for Flawesome
User avatar
Flawless
UKCS Life Sponsor
Moderator
 
Player: FLawless
STEAM_0:1:6217222
 
Posts: 9602
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Norn Iron



Image

Postby EvolvedMonkey on Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:33 pm

I also have Vista x64 and I have no problem running PB.

I would try a full reinstall and patch update .Exe
But I'm feeling good, And if you don't exist, you're still one illusion that I can't resist
User avatar
EvolvedMonkey
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: EvolvedMonkey
STEAM_0:0:183417
 
Posts: 4991
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 3:31 pm
Location: Kepler 22b. Loving the atmosphere.



Image

Postby sphinx on Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:54 pm

plug ur mic in and try again.

worked for me.
Image
User avatar
sphinx
Old Timer
 
Player: Sphinx.
STEAM_0:0:8528594
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Ze Netherlands

Postby gandy on Fri Feb 08, 2008 5:50 pm

never had any issues with punk buster on xp x64 and vista x64.. the main change they have made to punk buster is it needs to run as a service now... just like steam.
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby .Execute on Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:35 pm

Tried flawlesses solution - worked :D Cheers flaw.
Image
BRING BACK BNBN's!
User avatar
.Execute
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Xoup
STEAM_0:1:11194365
 
Posts: 1345
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:16 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, UK


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests