Possible temporary Fix for Choke & Loss...

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

Possible temporary Fix for Choke & Loss...

Postby TheBigLongy on Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:02 pm

Edit by Chow: copied over for me by the nice my Bullets, so we can stickie it in here. Feel free to discuss these settings, we can try and help everyone find the best possible settings for themselves :)


*as posted in ...http://forums.uk-cstrike.net/viewtopic.php?p=33280#33280


Ok think i've found a good solution to this problem... has worked for myself and a few other's i've told.....

Basically...


Rate 25000
cl_rate 25000
cl_updaterate 15
cl_cmdrate 50

If you find ur still gettin a little choke then adjust the updaterate only (drop it down to 14 then 13 n so on) but if you find at 15 ur gettin no choke then try raising it up2 16 to find out at which number the choke kicks in.... then drop it back 1 from where the choke kicks in.

These rates have worked well for myself and many others, this is a problem on most of the larger css servers and doesn't seem to affect the smaller servers.....goodluck n hope that solves it all.[url][/url]
[center]Peace N Chicken Grease.
Tellin it like it is...
TheBigLongy.

** TheBigLongy
User avatar
TheBigLongy
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: TheBigLongy
STEAM_0:1:2864764
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: Ebbw Vale, Wales, UK.

Postby ChowRiit on Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:10 am

Ok then Longy, what internet connection are you using?

I have a 2mbit down/256k up, would those rates work for me, or would I need to modify slighty?

I WILL have a fiddle with these settings though, see if I can improve it. :)
Last edited by ChowRiit on Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Visit my Computer Security or Webcomics threads! :)
User avatar
ChowRiit
UKCS Sponsor
 
STEAM_0:0:4566834
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:44 am
Location: London, UK

Postby SpaZ [UK] on Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:14 am

update rate is too low mister
chow i suggest you use

updaterate = 50 -60
rate = 20000
Image
User avatar
SpaZ [UK]
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
STEAM_0:1:4567232
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:03 am

Postby Bullets on Sat Jan 22, 2005 12:10 pm

Hi longy i know you're good at this kind of thing. And you always seem will to help people out. Is there any chance you could find out what rates (all the ones in you list) people should use for their differnet internet/BB connections? Pwease.
Image
Bullets for the Deaf|UKCS|
User avatar
Bullets
Map Seeker
 
Player: Carlos the Brave
STEAM_0:1:3225421
 
Posts: 1285
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:41 am
Location: Oswaldtwistle-England

Postby Cpanther on Sat Jan 22, 2005 1:01 pm

I been searching the net a bit and I come across few things :

cl_updaterate 50
rate 9999 (around 3500 - 6500 if you using a modem )
cl_cmdrate 60
net_graph 3

Few websites seems to agree with that settings.. so I guess they have to be pretty close to be right...


User avatar
Cpanther
Recruit Member
 
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:32 pm

Postby the_tub on Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:53 pm

wtf chowriit? 2Mbit up and 256k down?

Sure you dont have it the other way round? :S

What kinda setting i need for my 1.5Mb Down ;)
= UKCS Old Time Patron =
Image
the_tub
Experienced Member
 
Player: the_tub
STEAM_0:1:3308393
 
Posts: 1243
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Postby Cpanther on Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:24 pm

I also find some thing interesting about windows XP in the steam website. is to do with the Wireless Zero Configuration in cable modems with can create chokes and lag spikes...

I tried to disabled and my connection seems to be allot more stable... this is how you do it:

Control Panel > administrative tools > services > wireless zero configuration ( disable )


User avatar
Cpanther
Recruit Member
 
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:32 pm

Postby gandy on Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:34 pm

havent had that prob on my lappy Cpanther but still intesting


User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Silent BoB on Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:28 am

some of them rates are very low , naughty me thinks bet some of theese peeps get a constant 5 ping ? ......
Image
User avatar
Silent BoB
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: B0BwEISER
STEAM_0:0:9289236
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:10 am
Location: Manchester |UK



Image

Postby WaitNBleeD on Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:46 am

:shock: Another Uber-Bumped thread !!

ZOIKS !!!! :P
Image
User avatar
WaitNBleeD
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: Piefinger
STEAM_0:1:542294
 
Posts: 2070
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 1:38 am
Location: West Yorks, uk

Postby OHMYGODIMONFIRE on Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:05 pm

WaitNBleeD wrote::shock: Another Uber-Bumped thread !!

ZOIKS !!!! :P


yes and no as it is a sticky with seriously old info in it :x

as the servers have been upgraded rates of

rate 20000
cl_cmdrate 66
cl_updaterate 66

will work very well with minimal choke and no loss. the most important thing for getting rid of choke is to know the limits of your own pc. if you have the pr0est pc since sliced bread, those rates will be just fine. if, however, your pc struggles to load internet explorer then those rates would obviously have to be lowered.

for example, azazeal uses 16k 40 40 on ukcs if i remember right. its just about finding what works best for you.

OMG
User avatar
OHMYGODIMONFIRE
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: OHMYGODIMONFIRE
STEAM_0:0:4850231
 
Posts: 4287
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Postby Jack Bauer on Wed Feb 07, 2007 7:16 pm

Is it normal to get a choke of 20 when everyone at spawn is running in a direction? So when you have many players in screen moving? Im wondering what choke amount is considered acceptable and what is clearly wrong...


Jack Bauer
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Sara(kinks)
STEAM_0:1:5002481
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:43 pm

Postby The_Pope on Wed Feb 07, 2007 7:39 pm

Choke = amount of packets that you receive that you're computer can't handle

So if you receive 40 packets and you have 20 choke then you're only seeing the players at half as many positions [ofc you don't actually see that due to interpolation] so your reg is going to be 'half as good' in theory
Image
Image
User avatar
The_Pope
UKCS Life Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: The Pope @ i49
STEAM_0:0:2895797
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Under your bed with loving intentions



Image

Postby Little_Devil on Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:19 pm

Jack Bauer wrote:Is it normal to get a choke of 20 when everyone at spawn is running in a direction? So when you have many players in screen moving? Im wondering what choke amount is considered acceptable and what is clearly wrong...


Quite normal at spawn, depends on map.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests