TF2 Crash

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

TF2 Crash

Postby Aceo on Fri May 02, 2008 8:35 pm

When playing TF2 for a few hours I lose internet connection and can't use anything on my computer. When I press ctrl+alt+delete i get this error:
Image


Aceo
UKCS Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Aceo
STEAM_0:1:8775008
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: England, Hull



Image

Postby gandy on Fri May 02, 2008 8:57 pm

disable AVG and you should be ok
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Postby Aceo on Fri May 02, 2008 8:58 pm

Okay, i'll try that thanks.


Aceo
UKCS Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Aceo
STEAM_0:1:8775008
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: England, Hull



Image

Postby Aceo on Tue May 06, 2008 7:59 pm

Uninstalled AVG anti-virus and closed AVG antispyware, exited and stopped it starting on startup. The crash is still happening with same error code.


Aceo
UKCS Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Aceo
STEAM_0:1:8775008
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: England, Hull



Image

Re: TF2 Crash

Postby Aceo on Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:52 pm

Now getting this error with L4D. Any more ideas? Only antivirus I have running is Avast! and Spybot S&D.


Aceo
UKCS Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Aceo
STEAM_0:1:8775008
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: England, Hull



Image

Re: TF2 Crash

Postby Sonic on Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:53 pm

From microsoft:

"When you first start Windows XP after you upgrade from an earlier version of Windows, you may receive the following error message:
Your system is low on virtual memory. Windows is increasing the size of your virtual memory paging file. During this process, memory requests for some applications may be denied.
If you click OK, you may receive an error message that resembles the following error message:
The application failed to initialize properly. 0xc0000017
When you try to run Windows, you may also receive other error messages that resemble the following error message:
IEXVCES.EXE

The exception unknown software exception (0xc00000fd) occurred in the application at location 0x01ac5937.
You do not receive these error messages when you start Windows in safe mode.

CAUSE
This issue may occur if the Aventail Connect virtual private network (VPN) prog...
This issue may occur if the Aventail Connect virtual private network (VPN) program is installed on your computer.

If the Aventail Connect program is not installed on your computer, this issue may occur if the virtual memory is low. For more information, see the "More Information" section.

WORKAROUND
To work around this issue, use one of the following methods. Method 1: Remove...
To work around this issue, use one of the following methods.
Back to the top
Method 1: Remove Aventail Connect
Restart the computer in safe mode, and then remove Aventail Connect. To start Windows in safe mode, press F8 during startup, and then select the safe mode option from the extended boot menu.

For additional support information, visit the following Aventail Connect Web site:
http://support.aventail.com (http://support.aventail.com)
To research the availability of an update for the Aventail Connect program, visit the following Aventail Web site:
http://www.aventail.com (http://www.aventail.com)
Microsoft provides third-party contact information to help you find technical support. This contact information may change without notice. Microsoft does not guarantee the accuracy of this third-party contact information.

Method 2: Exclude the Svchost.exe file
Add the Svchost.exe executable file to the Aventail Connect exclusion list. The Svchost.exe file is stored in the %Systemroot%\System32 folder. For example, this file may be in the following location:
C:\Windows\System32
For information about how to do this, please contact Aventail Connect.



I hope it helps :)
Image
User avatar
Sonic
Home Member
 
Player: Sonic
STEAM_0:1:14254112
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:48 am
Location: Camden



Image

Re: TF2 Crash

Postby Aceo on Sat Dec 20, 2008 10:15 pm

I don't know what Aventail is, and don't think I have it installed anyway.
The error just happens after i've been playing TF2 or L4D for extended periods of time. When it happens, I can't use ctrl + alt + del, the message just comes up. Also, lose connection to internet because of it.
So, i'm guessing that it's purely to do with the paging file increasing...


Aceo
UKCS Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Aceo
STEAM_0:1:8775008
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: England, Hull



Image


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests