Source engine broken!

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

Source engine broken!

Postby MiKi on Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:24 pm

Hello, I wrote ingame, but, ehm, this is hard to describe, so I will post you some screenshots. This "bug" happens in DoD:S and CS:S, I haven't tried other steam games. I tried to reinstall CS:S, I deleted cstrike folder, then re-downloaded it.
So here are some screenshots ->
Image
Image
Image

Because of this bug, I can't play! :D.
I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike.What about you?
Image
User avatar
MiKi
Regular Member
 
Player: MiKi.cZe
STEAM_0:0:13601745
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:47 am
Location: Czech Rep. - Prague

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby hyc. on Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:31 pm

i had this just now. i fixed it somehow and then i realised once i got it back to normal that i could only walk everywhere, as if my shift button was held down when i was pressing w. :(


hyc.
Recruit Member
 
Player: maf
STEAM_0:1:8538227
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:24 pm

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby LuckyNV on Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:32 pm

Try other games, anything 3D, your gfx card might be dying
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby MiKi on Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:57 pm

ughhh, dying? ^^. That don't sound good. Im now reinstalling whole Steam, now downloading updates. I update card drivers, nothing has changed.
Dying, how? Do you mean it can damage other parts of PC?

EDIT: So, I tried GTA:SA, the same problem, anyway to fix that? dont look like oveheating -.-

EDIT 2: GFX is Sapphire ATi Radeon x1600 Pro ~3 years old..
I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike.What about you?
Image
User avatar
MiKi
Regular Member
 
Player: MiKi.cZe
STEAM_0:0:13601745
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:47 am
Location: Czech Rep. - Prague

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby *sketch on Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:28 pm

Looks like that graphics card may be coming to the end of it's life, since it does the same in other games.
May be time to start looking at getting a newer one.
Image
User avatar
*sketch
Experienced Member
 
Player: *sketch
STEAM_0:0:7407608
 
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:16 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby gandy on Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:42 pm

use ati tool to see if your card is over heating... over heating can cause the same type of issue if your card is full of dust.. its worth checking just to see and might save you some money.
User avatar
gandy
VP (Retired)
 
Player: gandy
STEAM_0:1:5083494
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 12:21 pm
Location: Bournemouth - Next to my pc



Image

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby Nelsaidi on Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:37 pm

MiKi wrote:ughhh, dying? ^^. That don't sound good. Im now reinstalling whole Steam, now downloading updates. I update card drivers, nothing has changed.
Dying, how? Do you mean it can damage other parts of PC?

EDIT: So, I tried GTA:SA, the same problem, anyway to fix that? dont look like oveheating -.-

EDIT 2: GFX is Sapphire ATi Radeon x1600 Pro ~3 years old..


Do as gandy suggested and use Ati tool and test.

The images show what most likely is overheating, does it happen instantly when you join a game? or after a while?
User avatar
Nelsaidi
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: batman
STEAM_0:1:11977681
 
Posts: 8066
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby Sonic on Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:05 pm

OMG!!! :shock: try update graphics card drivers
Image
User avatar
Sonic
Home Member
 
Player: Sonic
STEAM_0:1:14254112
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:48 am
Location: Camden



Image

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby MiKi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:31 am

I updated Sonic :D.
I use ATITool a long time, no overheating prob. 70°C average, max I had was 90°C with fan set to 0% :). I think I will buy whole new PC, Im sick of this one. but.. I had some problems with PSU, it kept turning the PC down, so I plugged in my old PSU, everything fine, but at some time, the PC won't power up, even fans are off and so.. Now I plugged that first PSU, and now its fully working, this is really weird PC :D

EDIT: Uhm.. In ATiTool, I "showed 3D view" - here is screenshot ->
Image
Last edited by MiKi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike.What about you?
Image
User avatar
MiKi
Regular Member
 
Player: MiKi.cZe
STEAM_0:0:13601745
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:47 am
Location: Czech Rep. - Prague

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby Nelsaidi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:37 am

Increase the fan speed!!!
User avatar
Nelsaidi
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: batman
STEAM_0:1:11977681
 
Posts: 8066
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby MiKi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:49 am

im running on 50% and have 70°C :)
I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike.What about you?
Image
User avatar
MiKi
Regular Member
 
Player: MiKi.cZe
STEAM_0:0:13601745
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:47 am
Location: Czech Rep. - Prague

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby Sonic on Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:55 am

Ok :)

I dont have more ideas :/
Image
User avatar
Sonic
Home Member
 
Player: Sonic
STEAM_0:1:14254112
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:48 am
Location: Camden



Image

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby MiKi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:11 am

Yup, me to.. And when I scan for artefacts, almost all is yellow :D.
I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike.What about you?
Image
User avatar
MiKi
Regular Member
 
Player: MiKi.cZe
STEAM_0:0:13601745
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:47 am
Location: Czech Rep. - Prague

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby Sonic on Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:03 pm

MiKi wrote:Yup, me to.. And when I scan for artefacts, almost all is yellow :D.


LOOOL ^^'
Image
User avatar
Sonic
Home Member
 
Player: Sonic
STEAM_0:1:14254112
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:48 am
Location: Camden



Image

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby Nelsaidi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:53 pm

MiKi wrote:Yup, me to.. And when I scan for artefacts, almost all is yellow :D.


Your graphics is broken, go and invest in a new one, hd4850 is great and well worth the £120 price tag! :D
User avatar
Nelsaidi
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: batman
STEAM_0:1:11977681
 
Posts: 8066
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby MiKi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:17 pm

Yup, I will go in 4850, but with new PC... Now I have AGP GFX card, Athlon 3200+... I got this PC from my uncle, 4 years old now, just need to tell my parents I need new one, for ~400 pounds - Phenom 9550, 4850, 4GB RAM.. Just hope this card won't explode or something like that ^^.
I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike.What about you?
Image
User avatar
MiKi
Regular Member
 
Player: MiKi.cZe
STEAM_0:0:13601745
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:47 am
Location: Czech Rep. - Prague

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby Nelsaidi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:45 pm

Start a topic in PC Hardware and ask for help for a new pc, u'll get more help there :)
Your budget seems low, a 4850 is overkill in that, if £400 is your budget, you'll need a more lower end graphics card for about £80.

As i said, start a topic in PC hardware :)
User avatar
Nelsaidi
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: batman
STEAM_0:1:11977681
 
Posts: 8066
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Source engine broken!

Postby MiKi on Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:40 pm

damn, well, it cost 15000,- - 40,- = pound, count it ^^.. I think this PC will be OK, but ok, I will write there.. Thx anyway ;)
I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike.What about you?
Image
User avatar
MiKi
Regular Member
 
Player: MiKi.cZe
STEAM_0:0:13601745
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:47 am
Location: Czech Rep. - Prague


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests