Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby Conan on Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:13 am

So, I have Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit installed on my netbook, and I want to get D2 up and running. I have installed D2, and have the iso files. I've googled it and done a few things, such as turn off aero window preview, and installed directx 9.0c. I've set it to run as administrator and to run in XP mode, and have tried 640x480 and 256 colours mode.

Not entirely sure what else I can do. When I click D2 it just gives the blue loading circles for 5secs and then does nothing.

And before you say it, yes, it will work on my netbook.
Image

LEE ATWATER wrote:sometimes you eat the coconut and at other times it falls on your head and makes you cry
User avatar
Conan
Experienced Member
 
Player: Fool
STEAM_0:0:13736282
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby ReAl on Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:24 pm

Did you already try running the video test (D2VidTst.exe) ?
Image
Image
User avatar
ReAl
Recruit Member
 
Player: ReAl
STEAM_0:1:1702172
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:17 am
Location: Germany, Frankfurt

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby Flawless on Fri Dec 25, 2009 2:49 pm

ReAl wrote:Did you already try running the video test (D2VidTst.exe) ?

Do this and change the driver to Direct 3D
Image
F is for Flawesome
User avatar
Flawless
UKCS Life Sponsor
Moderator
 
Player: FLawless
STEAM_0:1:6217222
 
Posts: 9602
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Norn Iron



Image

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby Conan on Fri Dec 25, 2009 3:07 pm

It says no video driver - probably because this is a netbook.
Image

LEE ATWATER wrote:sometimes you eat the coconut and at other times it falls on your head and makes you cry
User avatar
Conan
Experienced Member
 
Player: Fool
STEAM_0:0:13736282
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby LuckyNV on Fri Dec 25, 2009 3:15 pm

you still need a video device for display, what netbook is it? Its probably running an Intel or Nvidia integrated video, make sure the drivers are up to date
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby Conan on Fri Dec 25, 2009 3:26 pm

It's a HP Mini 110-1038TU.

I just tried downloading the right drivers and both of them failed to install.

Meh, I'll try again tomorrow, maybe you guys will have thought of something :D
Image

LEE ATWATER wrote:sometimes you eat the coconut and at other times it falls on your head and makes you cry
User avatar
Conan
Experienced Member
 
Player: Fool
STEAM_0:0:13736282
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby LuckyNV on Fri Dec 25, 2009 4:31 pm

run GPU-Z and see what device you have exactly
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby Conan on Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:39 pm

Image
Image

LEE ATWATER wrote:sometimes you eat the coconut and at other times it falls on your head and makes you cry
User avatar
Conan
Experienced Member
 
Player: Fool
STEAM_0:0:13736282
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby Wizav on Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:50 pm

Conan where did you get your diablo 2 from?


Wizav
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Wizav
STEAM_1:3:666666
 
Posts: 2222
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:51 pm

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby LuckyNV on Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:28 pm

I take it you got your drivers from Intel? If not try that instead, don't go to HP or use their CD.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby quaduski on Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:43 pm

If you go to battle net and enter your key in your account; it will let you download the latest version - no problem, forget driver etc. and dx as you are using win7 - I play starcraft and diablo II on my laptop (also win 7) - no problem - as long as it not p2p version
Image
User avatar
quaduski
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: meme
STEAM_0:1:5190098
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 5:39 pm
Location: Den Helder - Holland with love

Re: Diablo 2 and Windows 7

Postby Nightwalker on Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:58 pm

I love hardcore diablo II players, i prepurchased diablo III like ages ago (2 years or something, maybe not that long)

Have you gone to Area Summit and asked arround?
Add me on steam! | Atheism: A non-prophet organization.


Image
Image


Would love to have a strange gunslinger...
User avatar
Nightwalker
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Night
STEAM_0:0:7039441
 
Posts: 1595
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:41 pm
Location: Bruges, Belgium


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests