Horrible lag

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

Horrible lag

Postby Binerexis on Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:51 pm

Hi guys,

Even with all the settings on low, I still get lag. I'm fairly certain it's fps lag as my ping and latency are never that high for the servers. My fps averages around 18 but it often drops to about 9. I've noticed that my ping often goes higher when my fps decreases.

Graphics card: NVidia GeForce 8500 GT
Processor: Pentium 4 CPU 3.00 GHz
1 gig of real RAM


Any and all help will be appreciated.
"Everyone just shut up and enjoy your arena."
"...But we don't enjoy aren-"
"SHUT UP AND ENJOY YOUR ARENA!"
Image
Part three of my quest to lose my sanity

"Bin would get my Unusual hatz since he's the coolest, bravest, smartest and toughest admin." - Bruce Willis
User avatar
Binerexis
Old Timer
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Extrodisian
STEAM_0:0:19678834
 
Posts: 5282
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: The North



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby LuckyNV on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:02 pm

Your PC is rather dated for any game on UKCS, are you able to upgrade?
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Binerexis on Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:01 pm

I know that my computer is dated but lag on this scale has only been a recent thing. And no, I'm not able to upgrade, a modern PC would set me back the region of £800 which I simply do not have.
"Everyone just shut up and enjoy your arena."
"...But we don't enjoy aren-"
"SHUT UP AND ENJOY YOUR ARENA!"
Image
Part three of my quest to lose my sanity

"Bin would get my Unusual hatz since he's the coolest, bravest, smartest and toughest admin." - Bruce Willis
User avatar
Binerexis
Old Timer
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Extrodisian
STEAM_0:0:19678834
 
Posts: 5282
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: The North



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby The_Pope on Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:11 pm

My PC is as good if not worse than yours [well, except that I have 2 gig of ram, and maybe the CPU is a little better] and I easily get 30 fps on TF2 with full settings and 60+ On ukcs #1 CSS with highish settings

What screen res are you running? That can easily set you back even if it's only up a bit.
Image
Image
User avatar
The_Pope
UKCS Life Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: The Pope @ i49
STEAM_0:0:2895797
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Under your bed with loving intentions



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Deathtaker27 on Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:03 pm

yer im in the same boat as him, my advice would be a cpu and a ram upgrade, just to a basic core2duo or dual core and 2 gig of ram, thats what im playing on and its fine for me
Image
Thanks Podge, speccy and Tao
User avatar
Deathtaker27
Old Timer
 
Player: DT - RS
STEAM_0:1:22687060
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:40 pm



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Binerexis on Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:44 am

Something I failed to mention is that my computer does have two CPUs in it according to diagnostics (I didn't build it and I'm a complete noob when it comes to computer components). In terms of CPU upgrades, I'd apparently need a new motherboard to go with it and by the time I'm done, I may as well have bought a new PC.

And I can't believe I forgot about screen resolution... I think it's 1024x768 but I can't check it right now (my anti-virus died yesterday so I'm currently running a scan to check shit).
"Everyone just shut up and enjoy your arena."
"...But we don't enjoy aren-"
"SHUT UP AND ENJOY YOUR ARENA!"
Image
Part three of my quest to lose my sanity

"Bin would get my Unusual hatz since he's the coolest, bravest, smartest and toughest admin." - Bruce Willis
User avatar
Binerexis
Old Timer
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Extrodisian
STEAM_0:0:19678834
 
Posts: 5282
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: The North



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby LuckyNV on Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:46 am

It has 1 physical cpu and 1 logical cpu, just a technology that Intel calls Hyperthreading.

If it is something that has occurred recently it could well be software that you installed, close down all non-essential programs and try again, might want to also check your process list in task manager.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9674
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Binerexis on Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:27 pm

It started about August of last year but nothing changed on my system then at all. Also, there are no dodgy looking processes in task manager at all. I'll see what happens if I put it on a lower resolution later.
"Everyone just shut up and enjoy your arena."
"...But we don't enjoy aren-"
"SHUT UP AND ENJOY YOUR ARENA!"
Image
Part three of my quest to lose my sanity

"Bin would get my Unusual hatz since he's the coolest, bravest, smartest and toughest admin." - Bruce Willis
User avatar
Binerexis
Old Timer
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Extrodisian
STEAM_0:0:19678834
 
Posts: 5282
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: The North



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Deathtaker27 on Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:18 pm

what game was it?

was there an update to the game?
Image
Thanks Podge, speccy and Tao
User avatar
Deathtaker27
Old Timer
 
Player: DT - RS
STEAM_0:1:22687060
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:40 pm



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Binerexis on Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:06 pm

It started initially with TF2 but there was no update at the time it happened but it got worse with the Spy update. It then happened a few months later with CS:S which played perfectly for a couple of months before having the same problems.
"Everyone just shut up and enjoy your arena."
"...But we don't enjoy aren-"
"SHUT UP AND ENJOY YOUR ARENA!"
Image
Part three of my quest to lose my sanity

"Bin would get my Unusual hatz since he's the coolest, bravest, smartest and toughest admin." - Bruce Willis
User avatar
Binerexis
Old Timer
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Extrodisian
STEAM_0:0:19678834
 
Posts: 5282
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: The North



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Deathtaker27 on Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:52 pm

the spy update and most class updates have a hidden graphics update, i noticed the same thing with my TF2, and if you have a mouse, keyboard and monitor you can get a very good mid range machine for about £500 tbh
Image
Thanks Podge, speccy and Tao
User avatar
Deathtaker27
Old Timer
 
Player: DT - RS
STEAM_0:1:22687060
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:40 pm



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Dragon on Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:58 pm

Have you got the latest Graphic's driver's? I know it sound's like a trivial thing, but sometime's it help's.

Also your CPU driver's.

Also i used to have a system very close to that, however i had a ATI Radeon 9700 Pro instead of the GF one you have.

And it ran CS:S and TF2 perfectlly fine, but of cource there have been hidden update's for the graphical engine like death said.
Do you need something from me? - then please add me to steam. (PM who you are on here first though, i do not add random people) Image
Image
Dragon
UKCS Sponsor
 
STEAM_0:0:1878552
 
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: North East england, Hexham

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Binerexis on Wed Mar 10, 2010 2:19 pm

I've never been able to find my CPU drivers before (if anyone could point in me in the right direction without saying 'LOLOLOL GOOGLE IT' then I'd really appreciate it) and I have the latest drivers for my graphics card.

The temporary plan now is to get CPU drivers (if I can find them) and to try lowering the resolution. The more long-term plan is I'm going to give £800 to some guys who I know and ask them to build me the best PC they possibly can.
"Everyone just shut up and enjoy your arena."
"...But we don't enjoy aren-"
"SHUT UP AND ENJOY YOUR ARENA!"
Image
Part three of my quest to lose my sanity

"Bin would get my Unusual hatz since he's the coolest, bravest, smartest and toughest admin." - Bruce Willis
User avatar
Binerexis
Old Timer
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Extrodisian
STEAM_0:0:19678834
 
Posts: 5282
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: The North



Image

Re: Horrible lag

Postby Brick on Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:46 pm

you dont realy get cpu drivers you get chipset drivers that tell your mobo how to use your processor doubt you'll get any extra ooommph out of your pc for a cheap fix would stick another 1gb of ram in there lag is probibly your comp using virtual memory, shit cpu and gpu usualy just have bad fps not laggy
<--- PUSS IN BOOTS -- Died :(
User avatar
Brick
Home Member
 
Player: Brick
STEAM_0:1:434114
 
Posts: 955
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:16 am
Location: Stirling

Re: Horrible lag

Postby colossuss on Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:39 pm

Try overclocking your CPU, that is the problem. You should consider doing a whole new reinstall of Windows as well (Or a major clean up). I imagine you have a lot of background programs that have built up and thats whats slowing your pc down
'
'
Image
Image
User avatar
colossuss
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Colossuss
STEAM_0:1:20166590
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:12 pm


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest