What configs do you use for source games?

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

What configs do you use for source games?

Postby z8jay on Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:23 pm

I'm mainly bothered about TF2 but I'm sure 99% of the commands apply to other source games

Currently using a config from here, http://fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/ but it does make my game look a bit rubbish (DX8.1) and certain things like the alien hat have this weird yellow effect which looks totally out of place. Most of the high fps configs seem to make things like ubers look absolutely rubbish.

I've tried just using default settings (some stuff on high, some on low) but because I like to run it at native resolution, 1680x1050, it's hard to maintain a decent FPS. Especially when playing on a 32 player server with loads of stuff going on. It'll drop to somewhere around 20fps and it's almost unplayable.

So if there is such a thing, I'd like to make the game look pretty decent but maintain a reasonable level of playability.

My relevant system specs - i know the CPU is a bottleneck;

AMD 7750 Dual core
Sapphire ATI 5770 (512mb)
4gb ram
Image

My TF2 Backpack - If you want to trade anything please PM me
User avatar
z8jay
Regular Member
 
Player: z8jay
STEAM_0:0:929294
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 12:45 pm



Image

Re: What configs do you use for source games?

Postby WAR on Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:07 pm

Just play with bad graphics, I can play with good graphics but choose not to because it actually helps make people a better player, you don't have loads of crap on the screen to worry about.

Just use chris's high fps, set dxlevel to 9

then change the r_pixelfog, mat_bumpmap to the opposite if there's loads of fog or shiny player models.

Also i believe you can enable gibs and facial features, do that if ur that bothered.
TC- you sir, are one pain in the ass!
Imp- you've been offline for a while and you dont have a life. i am confused.
Kan- War is annoying to play against I will agree, but he isn't cheating.


:D

My Youtube account with TF2 videos of epic and win
User avatar
WAR
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: warhuryeah.gg
STEAM_0:1:18284023
 
Posts: 3560
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:54 am

Re: What configs do you use for source games?

Postby Redeemer on Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:27 pm

I know you like playing with native res but just bump the res down by 1 notch (to whatever it is, 1280 by something, can't remember) it might just make all the difference, when my last gfx card went I had to turn down alot of settings but it meant I could play with better graphics.

Just a thought.
From one sniper to another, STOP TRYING!

Shameless Plug: http://www.youtube.com/user/koca002
User avatar
Redeemer
Regular Member
 
Player: [P.I.G]Redeemer
STEAM_0:1:4823221
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:47 am
Location: Airdrie, Scotland



Image


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests