SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby um!!! on Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:24 pm

Oh god i just noticed i posted it in the wrong area, sorry!

I have supreme commander 2 and i bought he extension pack, tried it once and now i cant load the game up
it will go through all the like, loading supreme commander 2 thing
then it shows its coming up on the tack bar at the bottum, then randomly disappears and nothing loads....
i dont even get a message that it never worked or anything....

Ive tried verify integrity of game cache
ive tried reinstalling the game
even restarting my pc...
nothings working...
any help would be cool :] thanks guys
Last edited by um!!! on Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImage
User avatar
um!!!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Um!!!! [UKCS]
STEAM_0:1:10367893
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby um!!! on Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:34 pm

*update!*
Just tried deleted clientblog or whatever it is from my steam folder and no luck, steam installed the thing again but supreme commander still does the same thing...
*edit*
do you think this has anything to do with the fact ive been playing around with my resolution?
ImageImage
User avatar
um!!!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Um!!!! [UKCS]
STEAM_0:1:10367893
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby Redeemer on Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:54 pm

Try googling sup com 2 fails to load, maybe something will come up that you can try cause I have no idea tbh :/
From one sniper to another, STOP TRYING!

Shameless Plug: http://www.youtube.com/user/koca002
User avatar
Redeemer
Regular Member
 
Player: [P.I.G]Redeemer
STEAM_0:1:4823221
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:47 am
Location: Airdrie, Scotland



Image

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby sphinx on Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:17 pm

moved to correct section
Image
User avatar
sphinx
Old Timer
 
Player: Sphinx.
STEAM_0:0:8528594
 
Posts: 5283
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Ze Netherlands

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby um!!! on Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:29 am

Had a look around, i couldnt find anything to help me open this program, at first i saw the fact someone could open it only through ''My Steam Games\steamapps\common\supreme commander 2\bin'' and opening the SupremeCommander2.exe file, i tried it but it does the same thing
this issue is stupid and annoying :(
i dont know what to do
ImageImage
User avatar
um!!!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Um!!!! [UKCS]
STEAM_0:1:10367893
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby UK_sniper on Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:28 pm

from steam forums: http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/s ... ?t=1428409

if your having an issue try those fixes. if they dont work, i dunno :|
Long Time UKCS Supporter, Retired Mod & Snr Admin
User avatar
UK_sniper
UKCS Life Sponsor
Admin (Retired)
 
Player: UK_Sniper
STEAM_0:0:6007153
 
Posts: 9864
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:24 pm
Location: Witham



Image

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby um!!! on Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:16 am

uk_sniper, i have officially decided, i want children with u!
LOVE U! <3 thanks!!!! :D
the "/safemode" thing worked a treat!
ImageImage
User avatar
um!!!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Um!!!! [UKCS]
STEAM_0:1:10367893
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby LuckyNV on Sat Oct 09, 2010 11:54 am

How is the DLC btw, do any of you have it?

I like how they've allowed queuing of buildings now, that irritated me no end having to micromanage each engineer, the resource gathering change from the first SupCom/TA still annoys me. Also the tiny maps, they are like arenas more than anything else, Fields of Isis is like a quarter of the size.

I've gone back to playing SupCom Forged Alliance now that we got strong PCs to run it well, personally still a superior game to the sequel.
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9673
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby um!!! on Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:15 pm

Total Annihilation will always be in my personal option, one of the best games ever made, SC wouldn't be able to surpass what that game really was!
I haven't tried SC1 i will be honest, i went straight to SC2, i saw the screen shots and was like, holy fuck, a new TA lol
The queuing of buildings is a life savvveerrrrrr
i can now get a complete air defense around my area which before, i really wouldnt bother
Id like to see some more Island maps happening though, ones which made ship building more important, it feels very not needed!
Maybe a map maker would be nice?
I havnt yet tried the update, since i never knew that u had to tick the box at the front like a divvy lol, but will try it out today! :D
ImageImage
User avatar
um!!!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Um!!!! [UKCS]
STEAM_0:1:10367893
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby LuckyNV on Sat Oct 09, 2010 6:21 pm

The first Supreme Commander (but the expansion Forged Alliance is a MUST) is much closer to TA than SupCom2 will ever be. The resource gathering functions very similar, plus mass from salvage, dead units, trees and rocks are important for the initial phase of playing, you have none of that in SupCom2. The maps are much bigger too, the experimentals units are way better, much more epic and devastating, practically game enders if you are unprepared. Plus lots of other differences.

Only drawback is it is a serious resource hog, the game was released in 2007, but you need a high clocked Phenom quad+ or high clocked Intel quad in order to enjoy this game well hence why I've gone back to playing it.

Don't know what PC you have, but Supcom Gold Edition is peanuts these days, I think last I saw was £6-7 on Play.com
Image
User avatar
LuckyNV
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: LNV IS HE MAD?!
STEAM_0:1:4677295
 
Posts: 9673
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:15 pm
Location: UK



Image

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby um!!! on Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:17 pm

I have ordered the game off play :) i will tell u what i think when it arrives! :D
Expect a thread bump! lol
ImageImage
User avatar
um!!!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Um!!!! [UKCS]
STEAM_0:1:10367893
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 pm

Re: SC2 problem with launching on steam...

Postby um!!! on Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:26 pm

got the game and ill tell u what i think of it when i play it :D

*edit*
it actually does feel soooo much more like TA
what did they do to SC2 : (((((
ImageImage
User avatar
um!!!
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Um!!!! [UKCS]
STEAM_0:1:10367893
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 pm


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests