DODS - need help!

Problems and solutions for CS, Steam and other Games.
USE MEANINGFUL SUBJECT NAMES ONLY

DODS - need help!

Postby SaintStrongbow on Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:28 pm

Hello all,

Encountered a problem recently where if I shoot someone there is a mini-lag spike where it jutters a second or so. Same when I get shot and die, I know I'm dead because it freezes for a second and then my body is dead on the floor.

Only thing that's changed my end between it working and this happening is windows updates and me putting -condebug into my launch options. Shouldn't be either of those should it?

It's really annoying though, so any help welcome.
Last edited by SaintStrongbow on Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sometimes you have to stand in the shadows; to see the light.

Image
User avatar
SaintStrongbow
Executive Admin
 
Player: SaintStrongbow
STEAM_0:1:19879963
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Location: Ipswich, England (But from Blackpool!)

Re: DODS - lag spike when shot/shooting

Postby SaintStrongbow on Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:35 pm

Ok so looking further into it, it seems I have fps drops not just when shooting or being shot. My fps is capped at 150, but it keeps dropping down to 80 and then cycling back up and then 20 secs later it'll drop again. Before I capped my fps it use to be at 300 but now it seems to be struggling with keeping up to 150...so something aint right! :( It's unplayable like this!
Sometimes you have to stand in the shadows; to see the light.

Image
User avatar
SaintStrongbow
Executive Admin
 
Player: SaintStrongbow
STEAM_0:1:19879963
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Location: Ipswich, England (But from Blackpool!)

Re: DODS - need help!

Postby SaintStrongbow on Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:26 pm

Further developments are my fps now even goes above 150 which it is capped at in my cfg. Never seen that before. Noticed I got a dods update at midday today, don't know if they've been applied to the UKCS servers and that's what's causing the problems though. Couldn't get on some other servers cos they weren't up to date or whatever. Have tried uninstalling and reinstalling dods, the problem persists.
Sometimes you have to stand in the shadows; to see the light.

Image
User avatar
SaintStrongbow
Executive Admin
 
Player: SaintStrongbow
STEAM_0:1:19879963
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Location: Ipswich, England (But from Blackpool!)

Re: DODS - need help!

Postby EWJ on Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:43 pm

why cap your fps?
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8025
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Re: DODS - need help!

Postby SaintStrongbow on Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:48 pm

So instead of it constantly trying to reach 300 it can be more stable at 150.
Sometimes you have to stand in the shadows; to see the light.

Image
User avatar
SaintStrongbow
Executive Admin
 
Player: SaintStrongbow
STEAM_0:1:19879963
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Location: Ipswich, England (But from Blackpool!)

Re: DODS - need help!

Postby Flawless on Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:22 pm

If you have condebug running and don't regularly delete/rename it the same file will be used and it will become huge, as it's wrote to it can cause mini lag spikes.

delete/rename/move your current console file and try the game again.
Image
F is for Flawesome
User avatar
Flawless
UKCS Life Sponsor
Moderator
 
Player: FLawless
STEAM_0:1:6217222
 
Posts: 9602
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Norn Iron



Image

Re: DODS - need help!

Postby SaintStrongbow on Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:14 pm

Already thought of that and tried it, still happens. Haven't tried removing the -condebug launch option entirely though...but if that was the cause it would be a pain.
Sometimes you have to stand in the shadows; to see the light.

Image
User avatar
SaintStrongbow
Executive Admin
 
Player: SaintStrongbow
STEAM_0:1:19879963
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Location: Ipswich, England (But from Blackpool!)

Re: DODS - need help!

Postby SaintStrongbow on Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:19 pm

Have removed the -condebug from my launch option and now the game is running perfectly as it can again :)

But now it begs the question why does -condebug make the game unplayable for me?
Sometimes you have to stand in the shadows; to see the light.

Image
User avatar
SaintStrongbow
Executive Admin
 
Player: SaintStrongbow
STEAM_0:1:19879963
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:50 pm
Location: Ipswich, England (But from Blackpool!)


Return to Games Help & Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests