Firefox Freeze

If you need help with something which doesn't fit in to another forum section, then post here.

Firefox Freeze

Postby Odgor on Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:32 pm

Very often my Firefox freezes and all letters in Firefox disappear. This seems to happen randomly as I open new tabs. When this happens, my whole PC screws up. Almost all letters in Windows will disappear

So far, the only way to fix it is by restarting my PC
Image
Firefox when this happens.

Image
Microsoft Word. (The pop-up is infinite long)

Help!


Odgor
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Odgor
STEAM_0:1:17427693
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:26 pm
Location: Norway



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Deathtaker27 on Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:39 pm

virus? malware? did you scan?
Image
Thanks Podge, speccy and Tao
User avatar
Deathtaker27
Old Timer
 
Player: DT27
STEAM_0:1:22687060
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:40 pm



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Odgor on Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:51 pm

Yup, I have scanned. Nothing.


Odgor
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Odgor
STEAM_0:1:17427693
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:26 pm
Location: Norway



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Deathtaker27 on Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:23 pm

does it happen in safe mode? anything in task manager soaking up memory?
Image
Thanks Podge, speccy and Tao
User avatar
Deathtaker27
Old Timer
 
Player: DT27
STEAM_0:1:22687060
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:40 pm



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby EWJ on Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:30 pm

try clearing the cache and running disk cleanup.
God is a defect of the human genome.
Image
Earthwormjim hes such a groovy guy,
Earthwormjim he rockets thru the sky,
User avatar
EWJ
Old Timer
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Mr EWJ ®
STEAM_0:1:3498984
 
Posts: 8020
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:10 pm
Location: Ireland, The People's Republic of.



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Odgor on Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:22 pm

I dont use safe mode, and I have now cleared my cache. Did a disk cleanup a week or two ago. I'll let you know if it happens again.


Odgor
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Odgor
STEAM_0:1:17427693
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:26 pm
Location: Norway



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Influxion on Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:40 pm

Does it happen in any other browser? Because these errors look like it's being caused by your graphics driver.
Regards,

Inf.
User avatar
Influxion
Recruit Member
 
Player: MEEP
STEAM_0:1:21026714
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: UK, England

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Odgor on Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:04 pm

Influxtion wrote:Does it happen in any other browser? Because these errors look like it's being caused by your graphics driver.

I haven't used any other browsers yet. And it's always triggered with Firefox. I have experienced it 3-4 times by visiting this page: http://radio.ukcs.net/?mode=player, when I switch between the tabs there. I will try again in a while. (Not now as it may result in restarting my PC which takes forever (almost))


Odgor
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Odgor
STEAM_0:1:17427693
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:26 pm
Location: Norway



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Influxion on Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:44 pm

Sometimes the use of Flash and Java applets can cause an errors when switching out or to the applications running them and can cause browser malfunction. I know of no fix but it could be the cause.
Regards,

Inf.
User avatar
Influxion
Recruit Member
 
Player: MEEP
STEAM_0:1:21026714
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: UK, England

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Odgor on Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:26 pm

But would that affect the rest of the PC?


Odgor
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Odgor
STEAM_0:1:17427693
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:26 pm
Location: Norway



Image

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby Influxion on Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:16 am

No, however it could temporarily make your whole PC freeze or even maybe crash.
Regards,

Inf.
User avatar
Influxion
Recruit Member
 
Player: MEEP
STEAM_0:1:21026714
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: UK, England

Re: Firefox Freeze

Postby ListerofSMEG-2 on Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:38 am

64 bit Windoze?

Try Waterfox instead
i37 i40 i43 i45(Spec) i46 i49 i52(spec) i55
User avatar
ListerofSMEG-2
Home Member
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: ListerofSMEG
STEAM_0:1:5418592
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:25 am
Location: North Devon



Image


Return to I need help with...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests