Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

If you need help with something which doesn't fit in to another forum section, then post here.

Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby Nish on Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:33 am

Having problems with my internet connection recently.

Right now it has to be on disabled for me to join the internet.

But when its disabled persons from around the block can just join and use up a lot of our speed.
So, We've thought that we can use WPA Personal for securing the internet. But the problem is that I can't connect to anything except disabled. (for now :roll: )

Any ideas or solutions?

I'm using Windows 7.
Service Manager for Skedsmo Red Cross, Norway. Also, I like pie.
Image Image
User avatar
Nish
Admin Cadet
UKCS iSeries Attendee
Moderator
 
Player: Nish
STEAM_0:1:17901503
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:15 pm
Location: Norway, The Sea



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby BelovedKiller on Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:12 pm

Are you using wireless, or wired? (try the other.)
Are you typing the password in correctly?
Is your router set to recognise your pc?
Are you willing to get a mac to fix all your problems?
Have you enabled the connection in windaz 7 control panel?

Answer those, and i can help more :P
Image
User avatar
BelovedKiller
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: 제트별 - 冻住,不许走!
STEAM_0:0:22867374
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:26 pm



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby coldandtired on Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:28 pm

What router do you have?
Image
User avatar
coldandtired
UKCS Admin
 
Player: coldandtired
STEAM_0:0:27915503
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: 18th Century Europe



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby Nish on Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:17 pm

cnt : Linksys

Are you using wireless, or wired? (try the other.) Wireless
Are you typing the password in correctly? Yes
Is your router set to recognise your pc? Hopefully.
Are you willing to get a mac to fix all your problems? PC owns mac's when it comes to games from steam.
Have you enabled the connection in windaz 7 control panel? The what?
Service Manager for Skedsmo Red Cross, Norway. Also, I like pie.
Image Image
User avatar
Nish
Admin Cadet
UKCS iSeries Attendee
Moderator
 
Player: Nish
STEAM_0:1:17901503
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:15 pm
Location: Norway, The Sea



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby coldandtired on Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:16 pm

What model of router? :) Linksys what?
Image
User avatar
coldandtired
UKCS Admin
 
Player: coldandtired
STEAM_0:0:27915503
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: 18th Century Europe



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby BelovedKiller on Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:39 am

hum...

Have you tried turning it off and on again?

On topic: Have you allowed windows 7 to connect to your router? / does the network centre tell you no?

And why not just use a cable and see if it works :P
Image
User avatar
BelovedKiller
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: 제트별 - 冻住,不许走!
STEAM_0:0:22867374
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:26 pm



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby Nish on Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:58 pm

BelovedKiller wrote:hum...

Have you tried turning it off and on again?

On topic: Have you allowed windows 7 to connect to your router? / does the network centre tell you no?

And why not just use a cable and see if it works :P


Cable works perfectly, Killer, but that would mean we will have to cut a hole trough the wall to let the cable come trough.

Turning on and off? Oh god, how many times have I done that o.o

cnt: Wireless-N Broadband Router
Service Manager for Skedsmo Red Cross, Norway. Also, I like pie.
Image Image
User avatar
Nish
Admin Cadet
UKCS iSeries Attendee
Moderator
 
Player: Nish
STEAM_0:1:17901503
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:15 pm
Location: Norway, The Sea



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby cowboyfromhell on Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:03 pm

Are you using the most recent router firmware? (Careful with this if you choose to update!)
Are you using the most recent wireless drivers for your network connection?
Senior Forum Moderator, CS:GO Admin, ex-TF2 & CSS Admin
Add me to Steam Friends if you need a hand. :)
Use the UKCS Uploader for your pictures, it's free for members!

ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD!
Xerxes wrote:Worst. Senior. Mod. Eva.
User avatar
cowboyfromhell
Senior Moderator
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Cowboy
STEAM_0:1:10068175
 
Posts: 6505
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Suffolk



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby Kaelan002 on Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:03 pm

Could you try switching to an older security protocol such as wep, or a newer one like wpa2?
There are 10 types of people in the world: those that know binary, those that don't, and those that didn't expect this joke to be in base 3.

[video =373,150]http://a.pomf.se/ixefrf.webm[/video] Now shhhh Kaelan... OOOOOOH
pomf.se is ded. :'(
User avatar
Kaelan002
UKCS Sponsor
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Kae
STEAM_0:1:29878923
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:28 pm
Location: The restaurant at the end of the universe



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby BelovedKiller on Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:44 pm

I say cut a hole in your wall.. it'll save time and probably decrease your ping if you get a higher speed cable :)
Image
User avatar
BelovedKiller
UKCS Life Sponsor
 
Player: 제트별 - 冻住,不许走!
STEAM_0:0:22867374
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:26 pm



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby Nish on Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:15 am

Could you try switching to an older security protocol such as wep, or a newer one like wpa2?
'

I've tried, but I just can't seem to join a locked network trough wireless.


Are you using the most recent router firmware? (Careful with this if you choose to update!)


I do not know, how do I check?

Are you using the most recent wireless drivers for your network connection?


Yes.
Service Manager for Skedsmo Red Cross, Norway. Also, I like pie.
Image Image
User avatar
Nish
Admin Cadet
UKCS iSeries Attendee
Moderator
 
Player: Nish
STEAM_0:1:17901503
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:15 pm
Location: Norway, The Sea



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby cowboyfromhell on Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:56 am

Nish wrote:
Are you using the most recent router firmware? (Careful with this if you choose to update!)


I do not know, how do I check?

Login into the router, it will display what firmware version you are using somewhere, then just compare this with the latest version on the manufacturer's website. :)
Senior Forum Moderator, CS:GO Admin, ex-TF2 & CSS Admin
Add me to Steam Friends if you need a hand. :)
Use the UKCS Uploader for your pictures, it's free for members!

ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD!
Xerxes wrote:Worst. Senior. Mod. Eva.
User avatar
cowboyfromhell
Senior Moderator
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Cowboy
STEAM_0:1:10068175
 
Posts: 6505
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Suffolk



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby Nish on Sun Aug 05, 2012 12:06 pm

This problem again!

It only happens on 64-bit, but not 32-bit.
Service Manager for Skedsmo Red Cross, Norway. Also, I like pie.
Image Image
User avatar
Nish
Admin Cadet
UKCS iSeries Attendee
Moderator
 
Player: Nish
STEAM_0:1:17901503
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:15 pm
Location: Norway, The Sea



Image

Re: Not able to connect to WPA on Windows 7?

Postby Deathtaker27 on Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:58 pm

I expect this to be your wireless drivers, my advice is to google for the latest x64 drivers for your device, you will probs find it then works (:
Image
Thanks Podge, speccy and Tao
User avatar
Deathtaker27
Old Timer
 
Player: DT27 ​
STEAM_0:1:22687060
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:40 pm



Image


Return to I need help with...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests