Setting a website up.

If you need help with something which doesn't fit in to another forum section, then post here.

Setting a website up.

Postby gl0ckage on Sat Aug 01, 2015 6:55 pm

Hey all,

I am struggling to set my website up. I was using a built in website builder and i decided to pay for hosting and go to OS commerce to set my online store up.

Well that didn't last long because i cant remember my password for my FTP it seems to log into filezilla, I have no idea how to import the 5600 items I have into OS commerce without installing a addon that I can't upload because of the filezilla issue.

Anyone know a someone / company i can pay to set it up? I'm over my head here.
User avatar
gl0ckage
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: HolyCraniuM
STEAM_0:0:8277485
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: Huddersfield



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby hagz on Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:42 am

you can always reset your ftp Password or create a new FTP account in your control panel. what company do you have your hosting with?
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby gl0ckage on Sun Aug 02, 2015 8:54 am

I use go daddy, i ended up factory resetting the hosting. Lost a few hours work but at least it's back to standard
User avatar
gl0ckage
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: HolyCraniuM
STEAM_0:0:8277485
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: Huddersfield



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby hagz on Sun Aug 02, 2015 12:02 pm

thats a bit drastic really i use go daddy for some of my projects if you need a pointer then PM me i can give you a nudge in the right direction with the hosting side of it
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby gl0ckage on Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:37 pm

Thank you, I'm sure I'll be PMing you at some point :p

Hoping to have a good day progressing the business tomorrow, We will see where the cpanel takes me :)
User avatar
gl0ckage
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: HolyCraniuM
STEAM_0:0:8277485
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: Huddersfield



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby gl0ckage on Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:53 pm

I have contacted a company to mass add some items to the website and they keep saying it doesn't look as though my domain and FTP hosting is linked.

But if i go to my website it links me to Cpanel Login, with the generic Cpanel under construction message.
User avatar
gl0ckage
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: HolyCraniuM
STEAM_0:0:8277485
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: Huddersfield



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby hagz on Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:25 pm

do you have your domain and webspace both with Godaddy
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1431
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby gl0ckage on Sat Aug 22, 2015 12:28 pm

https://uk.godaddy.com/hosting/web-hosting.aspx

Is the ultimate package rubbish in terms of raw power?

Here is what someone told me who was trying to get me to buy their package:

They limit the usage of the physical hardware in the machine.

Our servers are un capped meaning you can use up more than 20% of our whole servers resources if you need to.

GoDaddy are a budget hosting, just cancel with them and come over.


Is this true? I use a stock manager module which updates my stock levels everyday. However the actual website only uses 800mb space at the moment.

I feel like my current hosting is pants.
User avatar
gl0ckage
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: HolyCraniuM
STEAM_0:0:8277485
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: Huddersfield



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby Fidget_me on Sat Aug 22, 2015 4:57 pm

tbh it really depends on "how" much power you really need? If you have quite a big website with lots of content (videos/images etc) and you have a large amount of traffic then you will need more physical (virtual) compute power from the server. If not then a basic shared web hosting package would be completely suitable. The other thing to take into consideration is whether you are using a database or not as this will require additional resources as well.

Drop me a PM if you have any problems, happy to have a look.
You are only remembered for what you succeed at, not for what you try
Fidget_me
UKCS Admin
 
Player: Fidget
STEAM_0:0:22398623
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:45 pm



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby gl0ckage on Sat Aug 22, 2015 5:46 pm

I cant access root Cpanel but theres something taking up space on my website that i cannot locate. FTP software wont connect. only through cpanel file manager.

Hoping to just move the public_html folder from my backup as thats where the corruption started.

Host doesnt work weekends and when problems like this happen.
User avatar
gl0ckage
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: HolyCraniuM
STEAM_0:0:8277485
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: Huddersfield



Image

Re: Setting a website up.

Postby gl0ckage on Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:51 pm

Should i be speaking to a solicitor? I bought a website package - It had 2 API's i wanted and the website template for cheaper than it would cost me to buy them + do it myself.

I bought this package, after i had bought the package they ten told me they couldn't upload the website to go daddys hosting and i needed to buy a different hosting with them.

Obviously having already bought a product I had to accept although i didn't want to as I needed my website up and running.

I can't find any terms & conditions on their website to do with their hosting.

Prior to me buying the website I phoned and spoke to a guy called Paul regarding I had my own hosting and would they be uploading all the data for me, he confirmed. Not once did he say that some hosts can't host their websites.
User avatar
gl0ckage
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: HolyCraniuM
STEAM_0:0:8277485
 
Posts: 874
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: Huddersfield



Image


Return to I need help with...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests