Page 17 of 22

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:52 am
by ListerofSMEG-2
https://www.dropbox.com/s/po98s7tmrqtl4 ... binds?dl=0

put it in

C:\Users\YOUR USER NAME\AppData\Local\Frontier Developments\Elite Dangerous\Options\Bindings

This is a hidden folder.

Some great keybinds as provided by Monk :D

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:03 pm
by Dauntless
Thanks, is that binds for the K&M?

All thanks to evil Hagz I decided to buy a Thrustmaster HOTAS X from Maplin because 1) I'm lazy and cant be arsed to wait for delivery and 2) because I had some money off at Maplin.

Anyone got a decent HOTAS bind(s) I could use as a starter? I want to get away from the keyboard as much as possible so I'm looking for as close to an all HOTAS bind as possible.

Cheers CMDR's!

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:58 pm
by hagz
without diverting you away from here best place is the frontier forums there are loads of options there. shout me on steam mate later if you see me on, I am using the name |DAS|Colonel

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:34 pm
by Dauntless
I've managed to sort it out with some binds from a player on the official game forums, its running amazingly now and flight controls are far easier. I just need to learn the docking controls now and i'll be good to go. Just messing around at the moment before I clear my save and start a fresh with my new binds.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:44 pm
by hagz
i still use the keyboard for thrust movements but i am sure you could map the top hat to do that. expect to make a few mistakes just do not get too wound up about it. if you crash and do not have enough cash to pay the insurance, just wipe and start again. you can be out of the sidey in no time once you get your head round it all. main thing is just have fun and like i said get away from eravate and the start systems especially in open play as there are some bad Cmdr's out there that like to prey on new players.

as for ship builds check out this site you can experiment with outfitting before you buy it can save you time and money.

http://coriolis.io/



finally whats your Cmdr Name? i will add you

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 5:52 pm
by Dauntless
Image

FYI - Image of binds I'm kinda using, modified it slightly and found a way to optimise the non Joystick keys used.

I couldn't get the UKCS uploader to work hence the stupid link.

Can you change your name when you start a new save? its currently DauntlessUKCS but think I might change it.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:41 pm
by hagz
if you wipe your save and start again then yes i think you can changeyour cmdr name
mine is Hagz funnily enough add me as i won't be changing mine

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:48 pm
by Dauntless
if anyone wants to add me in game my CMDR name is:
Scott Dauntless

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:16 pm
by Dauntless
At what point do I start considering leaving the start area, and how far is safe to go out to begin with?

I've just got a new Hauler and outfitted it, I've also got 60k in the bank. I'm primarily doing delivery missions atm but supplementing it with trading whilst I learn the trading well.. erm.. trade lol.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:25 pm
by Shuriken
Any point is "safe" as long as you know how to run away from a fight lol. You can double your money a few times doing a rare circuit in a hauler, it's how I started my trading expedition. The risk with this is that the rare routes are a LOT more popular for pirate interdictions. Good practice for running away though lol.

Here are a few routes I've used:



Image
Image
Image
Image



At certain times of day it's the same as playing in solo, but prime times the action gets hot and heavy fast.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:12 am
by hagz
having spoken with numerous cmdr's when I started the basic answer was get away from the start location as soon as you can. get some credits and buy a decent FSD and move away. where you go is entirely up to you. headed for parutis/wolf 562 as I know there is a decent little trade route there.

rares are a nice way fo killing a few hours and making some serious money when you start out.

I am interested in your hauler set up would you post up a screenshot of the outfitting please.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:45 pm
by Dauntless
http://images.ukcs.net/18591/2015-09-12_00001.jpg

Load out on the above link.
I'm just using this as a stepping stone to a bigger ship so didn't want to spend too much on the outfitting.

What causes a ship to overheat? Got to 6% hull damage earlier from over heating...

Also is it worth joining a group/private server?

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:51 pm
by EvolvedMonkey
A better rated power plant helps with overheating.

If you are wanting a decent group of people to play with I am part of a facebook group that's pretty good. Its a private group so you have to request to join. Its very active (7500 members atm) and any questions you have are answered pretty quickly. https://www.facebook.com/groups/eliteda ... community/

They have a private group ingame that you can join if you want. A lot of them play in open too and are always there to help in the game as well.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:27 pm
by Shuriken
Most common cause of heat damage outside of lasers tearing you a new one is activating the FSD too close to a star. It's a pain in the arse if you're doing lots of jumping so it's a good habit to learn exactly when the temperature drop from moving away from the sun is equal or greater than the heat generated by the FSD charging up. I believe it's slightly different for each ship too, been in my anaconda for a while now so can't quite remember lol.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 6:02 pm
by hagz
you could get rid of the discovery scanner and put in another cargo rack but it will only get you another 2 tons but could be worth it as the discovery scanner would be pretty useless for you when trading.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 10:24 pm
by Cap'n Neuro
It's not heat damage, it's character building!

Besides, if your ship doesn't look like

Image

then it's not really been christened!

They're not scorchmarks. They're story spots.

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:46 pm
by hagz
finally made it to Sag A on Tuesday now for the long haul back

https://forums.frontier.co.uk/showthrea ... ost2823013

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:58 pm
by Dauntless
Awesome, big grats. It must of taken some serious patience and dedication!

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:41 pm
by hagz
Dauntless wrote:Awesome, big grats. It must of taken some serious patience and dedication!



a lot more than i bargained for thats for sure

Re: [PC - SpaceSim] Elite: Dangerous

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:47 pm
by Shuriken
haha damn, congrats man.

I wouldn't have the patience to log on to essentially jump repeatedly until I logged off for a few weeks. Hope the journey back brings you incredible profit :D