net_graph 1 "issue"

Forum discussion on Day of Defeat game

net_graph 1 "issue"

Postby Firebreath on Sun Oct 02, 2005 11:08 pm

I have done a little reasarch into this matter and found something rather odd?

When i turned on net _graph 1 i noticed that my FPS seemed to go down by about 10fps, however if i used net_graph 3 the fps stayed the same as if you have net_graph 0 (in other words turned off, if you didnt know :))

I checked with the steam fourums and a few other places and discoverd that the green line that you see at the bottom of the screen if you have net_graph 1 enabled, has to actualy be renderd in real time, this then has an effect upon your fps. However if you have net_graph 3 (which is pretty much the same) there is no green line, which means it does not have an affect upon your fps.

Just thought id let you peeps know and also was woundering if any of you ever noticed a difference? :)

P.S. I havent checked if this is the same within CSS?
Image
Add me on MSN messenger : firebreathukcs@hotmail.co.uk
User avatar
Firebreath
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Firebreath
STEAM_0:1:9039724
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:17 pm
Location: Kent, U.K.

Postby pzych0 on Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:23 am

With css I know it makes a difference but I didn't know it was as much as 10fps.
Image
User avatar
pzych0
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: dns
STEAM_0:0:4292787
 
Posts: 4078
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 6:49 pm
Location: Univ. Sheffield

Postby Firebreath on Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:24 am

Well it may not be 10fps for you, youd have to test it out because im only going on the spec of my machine?

As i say, I noticed a difference of bettwen 8 - 12fps so i just rounded it up :)

But this was only on my machine, it may make a smaller or larger difference depending on your spec?

Mines:

P4 3.2
Abit IC7-MAX3 (Motherboard)
512 RAM
Gainward 6800GT (Golden Sample)
Image
Add me on MSN messenger : firebreathukcs@hotmail.co.uk
User avatar
Firebreath
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Firebreath
STEAM_0:1:9039724
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:17 pm
Location: Kent, U.K.

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Oct 03, 2005 1:27 pm

Having net graph on at all will effect FPS. There are calculations done that effect fps when netgraph is running, and depending which one is selected this can change the fps too.

Rather than use netgraph, try using show_fps and see what difference you get then.

Of course this is all dependant on your cpu speed.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby Firebreath on Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:18 pm

Ahhh thank ye Lucky Devil, is there any way you can show both the ping and fps without using net_graph?
Image
Add me on MSN messenger : firebreathukcs@hotmail.co.uk
User avatar
Firebreath
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Firebreath
STEAM_0:1:9039724
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:17 pm
Location: Kent, U.K.

Postby Psychic Duck on Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:03 pm

Firebreath wrote:P4 3.2
Abit IC7-MAX3 (Motherboard)
512 RAM
Gainward 6800GT (Golden Sample)


you hear that?

thats the sound of a damn nice, non crappy amd motherboard at work. pld m8 :D

however, i dont see how one would affect it so much when the other doesnt at all
Image
User avatar
Psychic Duck
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: PD
STEAM_0:0:5473368
 
Posts: 3294
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Postby Little_Devil on Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:34 pm

Firebreath wrote:Ahhh thank ye Lucky Devil, is there any way you can show both the ping and fps without using net_graph?


I don't think so, but will check ne way.


Little_Devil
Exec. Admin (Retired)
 
Player: Aurora
STEAM_0:1:6431437
 
Posts: 18895
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:47 pm

Postby PinkFloyd on Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:59 pm

i never noticed any loss in fps with net_graph 3 and im not running a monster so it should be fine on most i think.
Image
User avatar
PinkFloyd
Home Member
 
STEAM_0:1:7555971
 
Posts: 828
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:44 pm

Postby Cloth on Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:00 pm

You can type 'ping' in the console, but there's nothing apart from net_graph that shows both.


User avatar
Cloth
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: WankCloth™
STEAM_0:0:4400101
 
Posts: 1991
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: London

Postby PinkFloyd on Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:04 pm

ping brings up a list of everyones real ping whether there hacking it to 3 or sumit neway, i dont think its tht gd for |UKCS| as theres always loads of peeps playing :P
Image
User avatar
PinkFloyd
Home Member
 
STEAM_0:1:7555971
 
Posts: 828
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:44 pm

Postby Firebreath on Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:41 pm

PinkFloyd wrote:i never noticed any loss in fps with net_graph 3 and im not running a monster so it should be fine on most i think.


As i said, net_graph 3 dosnt need to render the green line so it WONT effect your fps.

Net_graph 1 however does need to render the green line and WILL have an effect on the fps.
Image
Add me on MSN messenger : firebreathukcs@hotmail.co.uk
User avatar
Firebreath
UKCS Sponsor
 
Player: Firebreath
STEAM_0:1:9039724
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:17 pm
Location: Kent, U.K.

Postby Ace of Spades on Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:29 pm

I fort every1 knew this
Im like p00h Bear, i'll slurp your Honey Pot ;)
User avatar
Ace of Spades
UKCS Sponsor
 
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:27 pm


Return to UKCS : Day Of Defeat Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests