How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Please use this area if you are creating or discussing the development of your own maps. Please keep one thread per map under development and put [WIP] at the beginning. [RELEASE] If you are posting about a map you have released.

How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby dmanextreme on Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:37 am

I've been in a UKCS server and saw that Dustbowl had custom textures and I was wondering how you do that. I've been trying to find out for a long time now and have decided to ask someone for help. So do you think you guys can help me?
I do things. http://dorianmaxwell.com/ Watch me do things.
User avatar
dmanextreme
Recruit Member
 
Player: {ViP} dmanextreme
STEAM_0:0:55540709
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:33 am

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby Ger-h on Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:09 am

What do you mean by custom textures?
User avatar
Ger-h
Executive Admin
Maptesting Head
UKCS iSeries Attendee
Official Executive Teaboyâ„¢
 
Player: Ger
STEAM_0:1:35307921
 
Posts: 2515
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:09 am
Location: Ireland



Image

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby Capn-m0nkeynutz on Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:09 am

Do you mean the posters that appear across the maps?

(And you don't have pyrovision on do you? :wink:)
Image

http://capn.m0nkeynutz.net - http://www.facebook.com/m0nkeynutz

Team Fortress 2 admin and maker of pretty things :)
User avatar
Capn-m0nkeynutz
UKCS Admin
Events Head
 
Player: Capn`m0nkeynutz
STEAM_0:1:16637417
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 10:16 pm
Location: England



Image

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby dmanextreme on Sun Feb 22, 2015 2:52 pm

I am talking about the UKCS posters you see on random walls that advertise the UKCS website. I would like to know how to do something like that with the default maps like Dustbowl or Upward. But my trouble is that when I put the decompiled Valve maps into Hammer and I try to compile them, then my Hammer either crashes or it doesn't compile at all.
I do things. http://dorianmaxwell.com/ Watch me do things.
User avatar
dmanextreme
Recruit Member
 
Player: {ViP} dmanextreme
STEAM_0:0:55540709
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:33 am

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby dmanextreme on Sat Mar 07, 2015 8:42 pm

bump
I do things. http://dorianmaxwell.com/ Watch me do things.
User avatar
dmanextreme
Recruit Member
 
Player: {ViP} dmanextreme
STEAM_0:0:55540709
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:33 am

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby sadist on Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:45 am

From what I've been told, the ukcs posters are inserted via the server, they aren't part of the map.

I use bspsource to decompile maps. Maybe your decompiled maps are crashing in hammer compile due to errors I don't know. Or the map itself is too complex for VIS to handle on full mode.
Image
User avatar
sadist
Map Tester
 
Player: Sadist
STEAM_0:0:3947729
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 2:18 pm

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby hagz on Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:29 am

i think they are upladed as vtf files and there are certain locations in the maps that they can show.
Image
Image
User avatar
hagz
Senior Admin
 
Player: Hagz/koalaty.ovh
STEAM_0:1:5480023
 
Posts: 1429
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:39 pm
Location: Wiltshire, Salisbury



Image

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby ApacheFlame on Sun Mar 08, 2015 2:14 pm

Sorry that i missed this.

Yes, the poster system does not decompile the map. Otherwise your client would be downloading a new map each time the posters changed! Also, if it wasnt given a custom map name, it would render our posters on other servers!

It is an additional system that we have in place. We manually define where we want posters to appear and then image files are put on those placeholder co-ordinates.

Hope this answers your questions.
The Programmers Mantra: Declare Variables, not War.

Image
Image
User avatar
ApacheFlame
Exec. Admin (Retired)
Moderator
UKCS iSeries Attendee
 
Player: Apache
STEAM_0:1:27288431
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:12 am
Location: over at the Frankenstein place



Image

Re: How do you compile default maps like dustbowl?

Postby dmanextreme on Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:03 pm

This answers it perfectly, thank you man.
I do things. http://dorianmaxwell.com/ Watch me do things.
User avatar
dmanextreme
Recruit Member
 
Player: {ViP} dmanextreme
STEAM_0:0:55540709
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:33 am


Return to Map Making, Your Releases & Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests