Page 1 of 16

UKCS Game Connect Plugin: TF2 Servers - updated 16/03/13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:54 am
by TC
We've been busy updating both the game connect plugin and the installer and we're very pleased to finally release it to to general playerbase! As before, if there is an update that breaks the plugin, all you need to do is reinstall the plugin from the same location. This is because sometimes the TF2 updates overwrite a couple of the files and they need to be updated back to the UKCS custom ones. We've also made it so that you can easily remove all components of the UKCS GUI if there is an update that reinstalling the plugin doesn't fix. All you need to do is go "Start" -> "All Programs" -> "UKCS Connect Plugins" -> "Uninstall UKCS TF2 Connect Plugin". In the same location we've also included a link to get the latest plugin version if you do need to reinstall too!

As before, the plugin allows easy joining of the UKCS TF2 servers for everyone by clicking an in game menu option. Additionally, for sponsors, this allows access to the reserved slots to get in to the server even when full! We've added support for 3rd party HUDs such as PVHUD and Garm3n HUD with an in game scoreboard switcher that allows you to switch instantly between 32 player and 12 player scoreboards.

Note: If a TF2 update breaks your main menu, all you need to do to fix it is reinstall using the link below or go to "Start" -> "All Programs" -> "UKCS Connect Plugins" -> "Get latest UKCS TF2 Connect Plugin".

Download and run:
http://www.ukcs.net/plugins/TF2_UKCS_GUI_Setup.exe

(This file is UKCS approved and safe to use)

Installation on a Mac

To install the GUI on a Mac, all you need to do is to unzip either the Classic or Enhanced folders to your ..Steam/steamapps/common/Team Fortress 2/tf/custom/UKCS Connect Plugin folder:


Screen Image - Enhanced Plugin

The Enhanced Plugin is a brand new GUI that is streamlined for users wanting to play on UKCS, as well as including snazzy graphics! We recommend using this GUI if you only ever play on UKCS.

Image

Screen Image - Classic Plugin

The Classic Plugin is an updated version of the existing game connect plugin that allows you to easily connect to the UKCS servers. Due to a problem with whitelisting, if you want to play on servers with sv_pure enabled we recommend installing the Classic GUI rather than the Enhanced GUI. You can still use the enhanced GUI if you disable the "-condebug" launch option, however.

Image

Sponsors - Manual Connection without the UKCS Plugin

If you don't want the extra menu options and do things manually, you need to use the following console commands. You may like to bind them to keys to make it easier.

TF2#1
connect 78.129.244.230:27015

TF2#2
connect 78.129.244.230:27030

TF2#3
connect 78.129.244.231:27015

TF2#4
connect 78.129.244.232:27015

TF2#5
connect 83.142.230.55:27015

TF2#6
connect 83.142.230.55:27030

TF2#7
connect 78.129.244.236:27015

TF2#8
connect 78.129.244.236:27030

Note. If you are a sponsor, then the way our reserved slot system works you will always be able to get on before any non sponsors also waiting. If you try to connect as a sponsor and get "Server Full", that will only be because another sponsor has just got in before you.

Non Sponsors

You should use the 'auto join' method provided by steam which connects you when a public slot becomes available. If a slot is showing as free on the server, then its a public slot and you can join. Ie, you don't have to wait until 2 slots show as free. The sponsor slots are hidden from you so do not get in the way of using standard 'auto join' queuing method.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:06 am
by Flare
Does this mean non sponsors will not get the 31/32 slot status shown, only to get booted off with the sponsor reserved slot message when trying to join ?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:17 am
by TC
Flare wrote:Does this mean non sponsors will not get the 31/32 slot status shown, only to get booted off with the sponsor reserved slot message when trying to join ?


That is correct. You can use the normal autojoin method and will sit outside the game until a slot for you becomes available. This is the most convenient way for non sponsors without being kicked.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:41 pm
by Trev
very clever stuff, even i'm still boggled how it's done but accept it :)

a useful tip if people want to join quicker:-

go into the autoexec.cfg and add the following lines...

Code: Select all
alias UKCS1 "connect 213.228.232.173:27030"
alias UKCS2 "connect 213.228.232.26:27015"


so now, you will be able to go into theconsole in game and just type "ukcs1" or "ukcs2" to join that server respectively!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:54 pm
by Dancing Hippo
I really need to sponsor, I can't actually get on the UKCS TF2 servers 95% of the time. ><

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:11 pm
by nimby
Is there any way to put the console bind on another key without actually using the console? I can't get it open due to my azerty keyboard :(

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:26 pm
by TC
Hi nimby, i've rewritten my first post above. There is now an easy install that makes sponsor connections simple.

Thanks goes to nelsaidi2 for providing the UKCS TF2 GUI plugin. :D

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:29 pm
by Sc(x)ttish Duck Hunter
Nice program TC :)

Very handy.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:34 pm
by Nelsaidi
lol Thanks.

If anyone has any problem installing or using or whatever, just post here or pm me.

Oh and you guys, look for the icon, it looks cool doesnt it :O
Check the top right corner of the installing window, or the windows icon for it.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:36 pm
by - N e O -
Nice work again Nel, will get the UKCS GUI installed :)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:49 pm
by jihn
installed, good stuff :)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:31 pm
by nimby
TC wrote:Hi nimby, i've rewritten my first post above. There is now an easy install that makes sponsor connections simple.

Thanks goes to nelsaidi2 for providing the UKCS TF2 GUI plugin. :D


If I wasn't a guy I'd demand to have your and nelsaidi2's baby's.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:42 pm
by Nelsaidi
lol

Heres a diagram for those that dont understand what the logo is

Image

loool

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:22 pm
by batman
thanks nelsi it rocks

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:51 am
by Supashadow
Thanks nels, just installed comes in handy. :lol:

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:33 pm
by -=RoB=-
thanks tc, now ive got tf2 and css with ukcs skin :P

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:59 pm
by parker
quick qustion does the plugin work for non sponsors too like installing and having the ukcs server option on my TF2 main screen to join server (not using a sponsor slot for obvious reasons i dont have one yet lol), would save me a few mouse clicks thats all hehe or is there a plugin for us newbees to save us a bit of time

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:18 pm
by UK_sniper
should work altho if the servers are full u wont be able to connect :P

Well done to LG who makes another wicked GUI for UKCS :)

just outta wondering does this mean I wont get the seckzy TF2 music when i start up tf2?

kev

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:25 pm
by Trev
all it basically does it send a command to the console to connect to the server. so yeah, should work fine :)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:28 pm
by parker
cool nice one thanks installed an up and running might save me a few mouse clicks a day i can tell thee